We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cottage hotel for just 1 night on our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, a lot of it! The views from the balcony were amazing, we had one of the sea view rooms. I would defiantly recommend it. Yes it's a little old fashioned,but this just adds to it's charm.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mayor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    79
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
189
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location looking over the roofs of the old houses to the sea. Our room had a balcony which was a wonderful place to enjoy the view. The rooms are clean but a little tired and old-fashioned.

The restaurant also has great views and the food and service were excellent. However, the food presentation could be better. Breakfast was OK but I'm not keen on hot food being kept warm in self-service containers. Also the choice of fruit and yoghurts could be improved.

All in all good value, if a little quirky and a bit old fashioned. However the view is compelling.

Room Tip: If staying here you really need a Sea View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

There cannot be many places on the Devon coast better for a crab sandwich,a cold beer and a view of the cove below. Delicious crab, overflowing from the sandwich, dog friendly on the terrace and in the hotel.
A little old fashioned but with families returning year by year they must have got the recipe right, can 't wait to return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I know the hotel well. We used to choose to go there for the menus and the view. Although they still source the best local ingredients, the service and menus are not what they were. Dress code is not adhered to and waiters are amateur. Sadly not as good as it was and some would find aspects unacceptably poor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Oguh_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Popped down to the Hope Cove a couple of weeks ago for some sea air and a long stroll. Decided to have lunch at the Cottage as I hadn't had the chance to stay there for a while. It was lovely to see Sarah and William are still running this lovely hotel with the same friendly enthusiasm my wife and I have always encountered during past visits. My lunch was very enjoyable with a tasty mushroom starter followed by a nice rib eye steak and great value at just £11.50. I can't wait for the opportunity to book another long weekend there in the fairly near future.

Room Tip: If you're planning to stay here choose a balcony room as the views out to sea are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

A fabulous hotel in a beautiful location. We had a premier room with a balcony which overlooked the sea (as do most of the rooms I think) with a huge, very comfortable bed (very important for us). We were able to take our dog and usually you end up in the worst room in the hotel when you have a dog but not at the Cottage Hotel, so thumbs up for that! We only stayed on B & B basis (only because this suits us better) but the breakfast was absolutely lovely - plentiful buffet and other stuff to order if you wanted it - service excellent - nothing too much trouble. Really nice touches of hot cross buns at breakfast on Good Friday and a chocolate Easter bunny for all on Easter Sunday - lovely thought :) Overall, a wonderful few days at the coast made all the better by staying at this great hotel. If you want to visit this part of the country and are trying to chose accommodation - look no further - this is definitely the place to stay - can't fault it :))

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend here at the end of March. The views are beautiful.
we had lovely food and the standard of service was excellent. would thoroughly recommend this hotel. we had a really nice room that was spotless and serviced promptly each day. well done to the management abd the staff for what they are achieving here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evesham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Property: The Cottage Hotel
Address: Grand View Road | Nr Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 bedroomed family-run hotel in a spectacular coastal location.Relaxing holiday atmosphere with excellent cusine and an established reputation for hospitality and service.Comfortable en-suite rooms, many have superb sea-views and some have balconies. Sun terraces, garden descends down to Hope Cove beach.Free parking, free wi-fi interent access in hotel lounge, Open all year, including Christmas and New Year, short breaks available, (special breaks available including Murder Mystery week-end, Painting and Mosaic breaks, Guided Walking Breaks). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Kingsbridge
The Cottage Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing