We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Cottage Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Cottage Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have been reluctant to write a review about this hotel, because I am selfish and did not want to share my secret with the world! My secret is now out ! The Cottage Hotel my favourite hotel and restaurant. However it is so good that I feel that I must share my experiences of this hotel with you all! The hotel is situated high above the beautiful Hope Cove in the South Hams in Glorious Devon with outstanding panoramic views of the cove, including views of Burgh Island a famous resting place of Agatha Christie. Although we own a holiday home only 2 miles away we do stay in this superbly run and welcoming hotel on occasions, when our own cottage is let and annually for the now famous "Murder Mystery weekends" and many Sunday lunches and some special dinners. Since being introduced to a lunch some 11 years ago by a friendly neighbour, we have kept this gem to ourselves and family. The Hotel is unique in the way it has expanded from a "Cottage" to a very popular modernish hotel with great charm, real log fires in Autumn and Winter, in which to take coffee in these lounges after partaking of a superb and well cooked superb dinner with great personal silver service. In the Summer a cream tea served outside on the terrace is something to behold and enjoy. Back to the biannual Murder mystery weekends which I cannot reccomend too highly, the "murder" is enacted by a local cast who actually write as well as perform the play, it starts on a Friday night for dinner and usually has a theme which enables guests if they wish to dress according to the theme, after the performance and after dinner a 5 course marathon session, guests most of whom come year after year so the whole feeli is something like a house party. Guests then quiz the cast with questions to try guess the murderer, this goes on until late, next morning at breakfast quizing continues, then a break with some fun usually dancing on theme in a large room, free time on the Saturday afternoon then return to another 5 course superb dinner followed by the epilogue and the disclosure of the murderer and a winner who not only has to chose the right character but the motive wins a weekend holiday at the cottage. If you really want to try great food great hospitality and perhaps the murder mystery, then go on book yourselves in you wont regret it!

Room Tip: One with a balcony overlooking the sea in Summer is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johng59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    79
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
89
186
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Another great stay at this lovely hotel, helped by glorious weather for the time of year. Terrific food and fantastic views over the harbour and bay from our room with a balcony.. Didn't want to leave and want to return already. Only downsides are no/little mobile phone signal and I wish WiFi could be in the bedrooms. Otherwise, we were looked after really really well, thank you to all staff. See you next time.......

Room Tip: Sea View is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icegoldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I am in severe danger of running out of superlatives to describe the Cottage Hotel and everyone that works there! My wife and I returned for a weekend trip in late February 2014 and enjoyed a simply fantastic stay once again. We had a great room with a simply wonderful view out over Hope Cover and the surrounding area, all of the meals we enjoyed were excellent, the service was fantastic and every member of staff we encountered could not have been more helpful. This hotel really is something special and represents a great opportunity to enjoy wonderful service in a wonderful location with an atmosphere that is fast disappearing amongst the deluge of hotels and pubs in the south West that change hands every five minutes and steadily lose whatever heart and appeal they might have had. I fervently hope that the Cottage never changes and I know now that my wife and I have found a hotel which we will return to, year after year.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are sublime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

A really wet and windy weekend in February, the 1st weekend the hotel was open this year, but a pleasant welcome from all the staff, a superb eveing meal, all round good value for money.
We chose a balcony room with exquisite views, at least on the Sunday when the gale departed and the sun shone.
My only gripe, limited choice of beer and over-priced bottles of Peroni, but don't let that detract from an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Prices vary but worth paying the little extra for views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henspeckled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visited during a chilly weekend in November. We had one of the balcony rooms with the amazing view over the cove.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and there was plenty of space even though the bed is massive. The bathroom is fairly small but there is a bath with a powerful shower.

We had cream tea and scones - the scones are massive so be warned!

The service was good too, attentive but not too intrusive and everyone seemed well organised.

As others have said if you want a modern boutique hotel this is not for you, but if you want a friendly, well run, traditional hotel then this is your place! Hopefully we will come back in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PotentialVorticity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to The Cottage since I was a child. Now I am married and equally enjoy the hotel with my new family.

Every time we come we fine the rooms well kept with exceptional views toward Hope Cove, the food suburb and the staff friendly and attentive.

The hotel will not suit anyone looking for a modern boutique but if you are looking to find somewhere to have a traditional get away, then The Cottage is certainly for you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loddiswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yet again Will, Sarah & staff have done it again. We had a lovely evening meal with bed & breakfast. It's such a great place, with tea & cake on the terrace, followed by a short walk around the headland. The room had fantastic views towards Plymouth & Cornwall. All I can say is 'come on all you locals & visitor's, come & try this great hotel if not for a holiday just come for the locals night & sample the great food & friendly service.

Room Tip: We had room 218 & our friends had 223, both had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Venessa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Property: The Cottage Hotel
Address: Grand View Road | Nr Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 bedroomed family-run hotel in a spectacular coastal location.Relaxing holiday atmosphere with excellent cusine and an established reputation for hospitality and service.Comfortable en-suite rooms, many have superb sea-views and some have balconies. Sun terraces, garden descends down to Hope Cove beach.Free parking, free wi-fi interent access in hotel lounge, Open all year, including Christmas and New Year, short breaks available, (special breaks available including Murder Mystery week-end, Painting and Mosaic breaks, Guided Walking Breaks). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Kingsbridge
The Cottage Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing