We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of The Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have been coming to The Cottage since I was a child. Now I am married and equally enjoy the hotel with my new family.

Every time we come we fine the rooms well kept with exceptional views toward Hope Cove, the food suburb and the staff friendly and attentive.

The hotel will not suit anyone looking for a modern boutique but if you are looking to find somewhere to have a traditional get away, then The Cottage is certainly for you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 423 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yet again Will, Sarah & staff have done it again. We had a lovely evening meal with bed & breakfast. It's such a great place, with tea & cake on the terrace, followed by a short walk around the headland. The room had fantastic views towards Plymouth & Cornwall. All I can say is 'come on all you locals & visitor's, come & try this great hotel if not for a holiday just come for the locals night & sample the great food & friendly service.

Room Tip: We had room 218 & our friends had 223, both had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venessa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

As a child we stayed several times at the cottage hotel with my family and grandparents. My memories were fairly vague but came flying back to me this summer! I took my husband and month old baby there on our way to Cornwall. It was fabulous! Quite a bit of nostalgia, maybe, but the staff made our stay perfect especially when they kindly moved us to a separate area for dinner, whilst our daughter bawled her eyes out, because we were terrified of bothering the other guests. So kind and nothing was too much of a bother for them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PINBEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What can we say...... As always a total delight to come back to such a freindly and well run family hotel. William and Sarah as ever welcoming and ever present. We came back this weekend to celebrate my birthday and there is no where I would rather have been. It is my second time but my fiancé has been coming here for the last 30ish years. Food is always fantastic, service exceptional . A truly beautiful location for a truly special occasion. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A few weeks ago my husband surprised me with a night away, babysitter booked and room waiting!
We don't live far away from Hope Cove but I had never been so when we ended up at the hotel, it took my breath away. Our room was stunning and the view amazing!
We sat drinking champagne on the balcony in the afternoon watching the world go by. The food is incredible value and the staff are all very friendly and welcoming.

We have booked again for a night in Dec but this time with the girls who will love it just as much as we did I'm sure!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with a balcony, newly decorated and very stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Staying at he Cottage Hotel for a couple of nights. The pros:
- Great views from the front of the hotel (worth the extra fiver)
- Great location
- Open in November (not all places are)
- Staff welcoming and fairly friendly feel (if a bit formal)

Cons:
- Rooms and general feel a bit tired and in need of a revamp

All in all, having stayed at plenty of B&B's and small hotels, for the price it's better than many and not as good as plenty - hence average overall. One of the best views almost earned a score of very good - in fact on balance it deserves 3.5 stars but that's not possible!

Room Tip: Best at the front but you pay a bit more (worth it though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gholpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Thank you for a superb Murder Mystery weekend.
Delicious menu, always excellent service, amazing views and a sweet trolley to die for....
Looking forward to 2014 March & a Halloween Murder Mysteries.
Fab u lous darling!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
903 reviews
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Address: Hope Cove | Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range: $146 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 bedroomed family-run hotel in a spectacular coastal location.Relaxing holiday atmosphere with excellent cusine and an established reputation for hospitality and service.Comfortable en-suite rooms, many have superb sea-views and some have balconies. Sun terraces, garden descends down to Hope Cove beach.Free parking, free wi-fi interent access in hotel lounge, Open all year, including Christmas and New Year, short breaks available, (special breaks available including Murder Mystery week-end, Painting and Mosaic breaks, Guided Walking Breaks). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Kingsbridge
The Cottage Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing