We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cottage Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Have just spent two nights with my 80 year old mother at the Cottage Hotel+ bulldog. We had a thoroughly enjoyable time and cant wait to return. The location of the hotel was such that my mother was able to get down to the beach and have a little walk around, the views from the terrace and sea facing rooms was amazing. Breakfast was great, evening meal was outstanding (we could not manage all the courses) and the sweet trolley was too die for. Staff were all very friendly. Cleanliness of the hotel was also very good, our rooms were a little dated but that was fine and added to the ambiance as the hotel has a lot of history behind it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treetops41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    79
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
92
188
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have just spent several days at the Cottage Hotel with a friend. The last time I stayed there was over 10 years ago. The hotel is just as good now as then.The rooms are very good and the food -both breakfast and dinner cannot be faulted.
The staff very friendly and pleasant and importantly very efficient.
The outlook is glorious overlooking Hope Cove and the costal path. Salcombe within easy reach, Altogether an excellent choice for a restful break.
W.Davies.Shropshire

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altea245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The weather was exceptional so the Hotel needed to be at it's best. It was. The food still good, no not good, near perfect. The staff still well trained and good at their jobs. This includes the House Keeping as well as the restaurant staff.
Cannot fault it on any aspect apart from the fact that the terrace seating was very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views but some are slightly larger than others. There is also a wall thickness i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hombre74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband was ill while we were staying here (nothing to do with their food!) The staff and especially the manageress, were really excellent - nothing was too much trouble. In addition to this I would confirm all the previous comments about the situation and food of this great hotel - really good and just as we had hoped. Yes the furnishings are slightly tired but we found this homely and comfortable. It was all immaculately clean. I had spent a long time looking at many hotels in the area and it proved a good decision. We were so relieved we had not booked a hotel in Salcombe which, on our visit there, proved crowded, expensive and very over-rated in many respects. We loved our trip to Agatha Christie's house nearby.

Room Tip: You have to have the sea view with balcony - it's not expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolSymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on thames United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a delightfully quaint seaside hotel with bags of character and the friendliest staff who genuinely want to help you enjoy your stay. The breakfast is epic, the view fantastic across the bay and it is an ideal base for touring the Bigbury bay area with Salcombe but 10 minutes away.
The rooms are clean and cosy and as a first time visitor I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a treat this hotel is, it is a bit off old England. The staff are very friendly, the food is excellent. The view from the hotel is beautiful. Most people we spoke to have been using the hotel for years, and I certainly understand why they keep coming back. Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is a step back in time, and once you accept that this place is a joy! The staff know your name, they are attentive and polite. Our room, a deluxe sea view, was fantastic - immaculately clean, the bed huge and very comfy. The location is idyllic with the beaches a mere minute from the front door. In this hotel you can truly relax, enjoy the magnificent views and hospitality without the pretensions of modern try-hard hotels. Yes, it caters well for retired folk but when we stayed there were also many middle aged couples and families who were clearly enjoying every minute of their stay. I strongly suspect my husband and I, both in our early 30s, are to become one of the numerous couples who return to this hotel time and again over the years. We didn't want to leave and will be back later this year.

Room Tip: Sea view room with a balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curatorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Hotel

Property: The Cottage Hotel
Address: Grand View Road | Nr Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 bedroomed family-run hotel in a spectacular coastal location.Relaxing holiday atmosphere with excellent cusine and an established reputation for hospitality and service.Comfortable en-suite rooms, many have superb sea-views and some have balconies. Sun terraces, garden descends down to Hope Cove beach.Free parking, free wi-fi interent access in hotel lounge, Open all year, including Christmas and New Year, short breaks available, (special breaks available including Murder Mystery week-end, Painting and Mosaic breaks, Guided Walking Breaks). We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Kingsbridge
The Cottage Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing