We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - good service”
Review of B & B Tanfield

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B & B Tanfield
Ranked #3 of 4 Hope Cove B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2011

When I booked it was made clear that the key should be picked up from The Cottage Hotel. The hotel is a cliff top hotel, therefore it is at the top of a cliff and above sea level. It is not at the top of a mountain as the previous idiot reviewer stated, easily accessible on foot and by car. Staff couldn't have been nicer, we arrived early and went to the hotel to check on the location to park the car, but they called across to the housekeeper at the Tanfield to check if the rooms were ready and as they were we were given the keys hours earlier than normal access time. Rooms were clean and tidy, beds comfortable - no complaints. Yes the carpets are a bit old fashioned, buy hey, who cares. Great location for cliff top walks and the Hope and Anchor pub, and it's nice to have a key to come and go as you want. Nice breakfast. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this good value accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baskmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Having read some reviews I had to write, my wife and i stayed this bank holiday weekend may 29th to 1st june (room 8 ) the room was clean, the shower worked fine, the service at breakfast was great as was the breakfast. Making own toast was a bonus as you got hot toast when wanted. Collecting the key from the cottage no problem and the front door lock worked fine.
We will be back next year as at £35 a night what value!!
Well worth the trip from Cambridge , as for dislikes none really as after all you are only sleeping there.. B&S (Cambridge..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

as your arrive in hope cove you see a fantastic sight of the rolling hills leading down to a small sandy beach. when you go check into the tanfield b&b you have to go to the sister hotel which is up the biggest hill / mountain.( i reckomend mountainering materials to walk up it!! once you have got your keys and hiked all the way down the devilish hill / mountain and get to the tanfield everything looks alright for the price UNTIL you struggle to open the front door. When you walk into to what seems to be a scene from your great aunt bethals front room with her flowery carpets and high backed chairs not to mention the cheap & tacky orniments in the disply cabinets. there is no staff on sight so you have to play hide and seek with all your bags trying to find your room. we went with a party of 14 and booked the whole bb so i know ALL the rooms have had their problems i stayed in room one and TBH the only thing wrong was the amount of dust on the serfaces and the chipped dated furniture plus hearing nelly big nose and mazza at it ALL NIGHT (GOOD EFFORT NEIL). the rest of the complaints where smelly shower curtains - showers not working - bathroom areas too small and hairs in the bed. at the tanfield there is a nice patio area where you all can sit. we sat round and was having a couple of cheeky drinks saying the only thing that can save this b&b is the breakest. Breakfest is served between 08:30 - 09:30 so dont sleep in will you!! where to start - my mate trigga (call him that cos he is just like trigga off OFAH went to get a yougurt from the fridge to find it was GREEN with mould. (yummy) my best mate watts has got himself a wife (mug) and she had some toast which --- you guessed it was mouldy. i ordered a full english , now i can eat let me tell you but when it came my god it was awful i ending up eating the sausages and muchrooms. as a plus if you like your sleep i was out like a light - the missus wasnt, she said she couldnt sleep but that so due to me having a probba mad sesh and snoring "like a train". hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did, love from mc_gavyd

Room Tip: room number one cos i slept there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mc_gavyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for nor night while walking the south west coast path and so wanted somewhere to sleep and leave early the next morning. We found the reception at the cottage hotel really pleasant and willing to help us sort out an early breakfast.

All in all a great place for the money and lovely service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoodyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Pick up your key from the Cottage Hotel as the B and B is unserviced (as instructed)book your evening meal ,a Fab 5 courses at a superb discount.The room is simple but after a super English breakfast ,we had a short drive with the beach kit or a walk if not carrying to the lovely Hope Cove...We had three great days with friends and we will go back again

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We chose this B&B because of its association with the Cottage Hotel and because it accepted dogs. The rooms are basic but very clean. It is less than 10 minutes walk or 2 minutes in the car to the Cottage Hotel where you get a discounted price [£17,95] for the 5 course dinner - good quality English cooking, nothing sophisticated. Bearing in mind the high prices of the other restaurants in the village or the poor choice at the local pub, this is a big plus. The accommodation prices are similar to other B&B's and small hotels in Hope Cove. Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked.

Due to the basic nature of the accommodation, it is probably a place to stay for a long weekend or a mid-week break rather than a 1-2 week stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HexhamDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

What a brilliant scam this B&B is. I've rarely stayed anywhere that was so clearly designed to extract every last penny from the visitor, with a total absence of any pride or care from the owners.

It's incredibly, ominously grim and run-down from the outside - think Bates Motel. When you arrive, there's no receptionist - just a sign saying that keys must be obtained from the B&B's sister hotel, a steep 10-minute walk away.

Once you've schlepped there and back with your luggage, another treat awaits. You have to fiddle with the awkward outer door key while a large, cold drip lands on your neck from a broken drainpipe above. It's apparently been artfully positioned so you cannot avoid the icy water trickling down your spine.

The loving welcome and attention to detail continues once inside. Institutional furnishings and paisley carpet appear to have been replaced in 1952. The overall air is of a seedy King's Cross 'hotel' crossed with a state-run old people's home.

The bedrooms are equally grim. The bathrooms are spartan. The owners are so cheap that you get a tiny sachet of shampoo WITH NO BRANDING - that's right, they've found a type of shampoo where they don't even have the expense of a name or logo! That must actually take some effort.

I'm now looking at the website and laughing - http://www.hopecove.com/tanfield-bed-breakfast.php - it looks quite appealing there. Let's just say the camera angles are *very* artful - it's clearly the only thing they've spent any money on.

Breakfast was basic. The only good thing about the whole experience was the waitress, who was sweet and efficient.

I can genuinely say that this is the most soulless, run-down B&B I've ever stayed in! It's not cheap, either, at £80/night.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonLoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
0.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
413 reviews
4.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Tanfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Tanfield

Address: Hope Cove, Salcombe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hope Cove
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
B & B Tanfield Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing