We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent holiday accommodation”
other travelers have booked this property
sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sitting room
Sitting room Large flat screen TV.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
sitting room
Sitting room
Large flat screen TV.
kitchen
Kitchen area with hob and oven
dining area
It's the little touches
Time for the beach!
View from the front door
The beautiful coastline of Hope Cove.
Yards from the sandy beach in Hope Cove.
The gulls fishing at low tide.
Front lobby
Yards from Sandy Nook
Fisherman's good luck talisman.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hope Cove, Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joycelon
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent holiday accommodation”
Reviewed February 10, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Beautiful holiday home,lovely decor,gorgeous beaches and views all around,3lovely places to eat and drink steps away.relaxing holiday and we were there for special anniversary and Caroline left a bottle of bubbly and card,lovely touch,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
Joyce, we were delighted that you chose Sandy Nook for your anniversary. So glad that the week was good for you, it definitely helps having the bars and pubs so close! Thank you for your compliments re the decor, we are happy that it was comfortable and cozy for you. Glad the bubbly was enjoyed! We hope to have you stay another time
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat c
1 review
“Sandy Nook”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Lovely comfortable well furnished cottage great location lovely atmosphere and huge comfortable bed. Would definitely be on my list for future visits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Thanks Pat. Glad you were comfortable in the cottage. We welcome you back any time.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mucnud
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This cottage is just metres away from the picturesque beach.
The cottage is dog friendly and there are plenty of walks in the area with fantastic views.
The cottage itself is well equipped and tastefully decorated.
The bed, duvet and bed linen are top quality.
The owner is friendly and helpful.
We will return!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2017
Thanks, Gwen. So pleased you loved Sandy Nook, and we would be delighted to have you stay again. I am glad that you enjoyed the walks, as an Area if Outstanding Natural Beauty we do have fabulous views.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy hideaway”
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A great base for walking, or beaching , this cosy cottage is an ideal location for either. 20 steps up the road are 2 very good pubs, with a takeaway service.
For us, we took our 2dogs , and had 3 wonderful coastal walks .
Parking is an issue , when you need £ 4.00 a day in the local car park , but you can
park further out on the road if you don't mind a short walk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Thanks Leslie. I am glad that you and the dogs enjoyed your coastal walks. Sounds as though you enjoyed the nearby pubs and their food too.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin c
Hermitage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy apartment near two lovely sandy beaches !!”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This apartment has everything two people need for a relaxing break,plus it is dog friendly.
From the outside it doesn't look very big, but when you open the door and step inside you have a very comfortable apartment.
The kitchen has everything you need to cook a simple breakfast to an evening meal.
The bedroom has a large comfortable bed and plenty of wardrobe space.
The bathroom is off the bedroom and has a lovely shower.
The lounge is comfortable and there is wifi in the apartment as well.
The location is right in the centre of the village. Everything you need is within a short walk, shop, post office, bar,restaurant and two lovely sandy beaches.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Sandy Nook.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Sandy Nook, and have booked for next year too!
You are right - from the outside it looks small - but once inside it's like a Tardis!
We welcome dogs, and bring ours down too! They love sniffing around the beach here.
Thanks Colin, looking forward to having you stay next year.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisgood...
Northwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic for couples get away”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous place to stay, whatever the time of year. Beautifully and tastefully decorated and well equipped. The owners could not be more helpful. Nice places to eat and places to visit. Would not hesitate to recommend this little gem and especially loved the walks around the bay, stunning views.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Thanks, glad that it lived up to your expectations!
With the South West Coastal Path going by the front door, we do have some amazing walks. As you say - they can be enjoyed at any time of the year.
Thanks,
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlynRB
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, perfect location, great landlady”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In between booking this trip and actually arriving our world was turned upside down by a medical issue that could have been seriously life changing. So when we finally got to the apartment we were fearful of our future, stressed and tired. We very nearly cancelled. We are so glad we went through with the trip.

The apartment is perfect for two people who just want to get away from the world for a week. It's quirky (I still can't figure out the wall hanging with the shells), welcoming and very comfortable!

Outside the front door is a green, to the left is the tiny harbour, and to the right is a small sandy beach.

The bedroom is amply large enough, and the bed was very comfortable indeed.

When holidaying in the UK we carry a heater with us, because we often find that rooms are cold. We didn't need the heater - The whole apartment was as warm as we could have wished (even on some seriously cold days). The kitchen facilities and utensils have everything you need to cook a 3 course meal if you feel so inclined. If like me you are a coffee snob, bring your own ground coffee, but leave the cafetiere behind - There are at least two of them in the kitchen drawers.

The bathroom has a bath with a "rainfall" shower that is perfect after a long walk along the coast. The WiFi worked well in most areas of the apartment.

The location really could not have been better. Hope Cove is divided into Inner and Outer. The apartment is in Outer Hope Cove. There were plenty of people around when we were there, but neither the harbour area or the beach were crowded. The local pub, the Hope and Anchor, served good food in large portions and some excellent local Ales, but the best thing about the Hope and Anchor is that it is about 20 seconds walk away from the apartment, so I could wander down to the pub, grab a pint, take it back to the apartment and return the glass the next day - Civilised or what?

I must mention the post office, which is opposite the pub. If you like croissants and/or pain au chocolat, get up early in the morning and go to the post office for 8:00am. You'll need to leave the apartment at 7:59:40 to get there on the dot (OCD?). At the post office you will find beautifully fresh and warm croissants and pains au chocolat that really do melt in the mouth. If you can't manage an early start every day, you can order the night before. The loaves, although pre-sliced, were also surprisingly good.

Make sure you take walking clothes with you as there are many lovely walks in the area. Note to kilt wearers: From personal experience, high on the cliffs where the wind can blow quite hard you may find you have some "Marilyn Monroe" moments!

Note to drivers: If you have a choice, a small car is better than a large one in this part of Devon. Our little convertible was about as wide as you would want on the local roads. You'll be doing plenty of reversing when you meet traffic coming the other way.

Parking: There is a pay and display car park about 40 seconds walk from the apartment. The £4 daily charge is reasonable, but if you leave your car there overnight, you will have to get there at 9:00 to get a new daily ticket. If you are even a few minutes late, you risk a hefty PCN. The owner recognises that this is unreasonable and she tells me that she is arranging to install ANPR, which should result in a more flexible regime. If you don't want to get up early every day, there is plenty of on-street parking just outside Outer Hope Cove. If you park on the road to Inner Hope Cove, just above the Cottage Hotel (quite old fashioned hotel with excellent food and service), you can walk down the steep hill past the hotel to the apartment - The walk back up the hill next day will give your heart plenty of exercise...

At a rotten time in our life, this was truly a haven. You'll love it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Glyn, thank you very much for such a comprehensive review! It's wonderful that you have taken the time to specifically highlight all of the benefits of Hope Cove, of which there are many! I loved the fact that you got your beer each night from The Hope and Anchor, and returned the glass the next day!!! We had to have a 'doggy bag meal' from there once when a grandchild was ill - great service always.
You were very considerate guests, who we would welcome back at any time. It's gratifying to hear that you felt Sandy Nook to be a little haven at a stressful time. Thank you,
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing