We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Devon!”
other travelers have booked this property
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
First floor vaulted kitchen, with window seat, views of the beach. 
First floor vaulted sitting room with smart tv and stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Yards from the beach and slipway in Hope Cove
First floor vaulted kitchen, with window seat, views of the beach.
First floor vaulted sitting room with smart tv and stove.
Snug, off sitting room, with toys and books for children
Glass balustrade view to the left of terrace to beach. All weather seating and dining table + chairs
Large master bedroom with shower room ensuite and double wardrobe
Master bedroom with hairdryer and straighteners
En-suite shower room to master bedroom
Double bedroom with en-suite bathroom and double wardrobe
Full size twin bedded room with en-suite shower room and double wardrobe
En-suite shower room to twin bedded room
The Moorings with it's discreet solar panels!
Large first floor decked terrace, glass balustrade,views to beaches, seating and dining furniture.
Terrace with views to beaches
Beautiful Hope Cove with two beaches.
The glass balustrade allows wonderful sea views
Kitchen dresser
Master bedroom
Kitchen
Back lobby
Top of stairs
Beach for sailing, paddle boarding
The gulls enjoying the fruits of the ebbing tide.
Sandy beach just yards from the door
Wonderful sunsetsover the beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hope Cove, Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thedents2...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Paradise in Devon!”
Reviewed June 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just spent another May half term in The Moorings and it's not our last! This house and the location is just brilliant for our family of 5. With 3 beds, all with en suite bathrooms, it gives us room to spread out and enjoy a week by the sea with no need to get in the car .. unless you haven't ordered enough food with Tesco delivery!
Caroline has tastefully decked the house beautifully, 'a little stool here and a tray table there', scattered cushions and woolen throws if you want to sit out late listening to the sea. The decking area is absolutely brilliant - an area to sit and chill and have a glass of something looking out to sea, an area for eating the perfect bbq or paella in our case, and an area to get the wetsuits dry and keep the kayak safe.
Nothing has been missed! And on a rainy day, the living accommodation has been well thought out - an area for the kids to sit, chill out and play a game and an adjoining sitting room for the adults to watch tv or read!

It is the nearest we will get to paradise I think for a holiday in the UK.

Offering 2 restaurants/pubs and another 'crab pot' opening soon, a local post office with pasties, ice-creams, newspapers and any other beach item you might have forgotten, I can't think of any reason why I wouldn't go back.... so I've booked a week in 2019 and one in 2020, happy days!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2018
Very happy to hear that you had yet another great holiday at The Moorings. It’s wonderful having guests such as you, and we are really delighted that you are booked in for the next 2 years! Thank you, Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShellyH12...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in perfect location”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We visited over the festive break with friends. The house is in a perfect position by the beach and looks are deceiving as it is very spacious. The house is beautifully decorated with very tasteful furnishings etc.
There is everything you need in the house with plenty of everything. We cooked a special meal whilst staying and couldn’t believe how well appointed the kitchen is
The beds are very comfortable with great pillows.
As it was the festive period the owners had added lovely Christmas decorations.
The house is next to the beach and meant great walks with the children & dog. There are two really nice pubs yards away both did good food, had entertainment and everyone was very friendly.
The local shop is open everyday and stocks all the basics as well as great bakery items.
Our friends rented next door which was also very lovely and very large for two people
Can not wait to return in the Summer so we can make use of the large terrace and go swimming etc
Would highly recommend this House

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2018
We are so glad that your festive break was succesful, and that the house suited you all. It’s great that you could all be together, using Sandy Nook as well as The Moorings.
Hope Cove seems to have everything necessary for a relaxing holiday - great pub/bar, shop, beach, gift shop, coastal path! We welcome you back at any time
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F
1 review
“Beautifully appointed, perfectly situated cottage with the beach and pub on your doorstep.”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautifully appointed, perfectly situated cottage only yards from the beach and the local pub restaurant. Who could want more? Comfortable and intelligently designed bedrooms, kitchen and sitting room allow for a wonderful family feel - a real 'home from home'. Thoroughly recommended and looking forward to our next stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Thanks Sean.
I appreciate the ‘intelligently’ designed bedrooms comment!
We sincerely hope that you will stay at The Moorings again
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dianesmyt...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend away”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We arrived at Hope Cove and I felt like I had walked on to the set of Doc Martin! It is a beautiful spot with the most gorgeous views and The Moorings is perfectly placed just across from the beach. We were extremely lucky with the weather and when we opened the door the house was just stunning, beautifully decorated throughout and the deck enabled us to sit in the sunshine with a glass of wine admiring the fabulous view .... perfect! The bedrooms were all extremely comfortable and bathrooms too, just like a 5* Hotel to be honest! The kitchen was great as there were 6 of us and we could gather round the large table and cook and chat but my favourite spot was to sit at the kitchen window just looking out to the beach and sea beyond!
The lounge too was stunningly decorated and lovely to relax in after dinner.
The 2 pubs were only a short distance away - we had a meal in The Hope and Anchor which was lovely and we went on some beautiful walks which were very accessible and nearby.
Salcombe is very close and worth a visit too .... we will return as it was just a perfect weekend away and we had such fun - The Moorings has everything .... location, style, comfort and star quality! Oh and we took our chocolate Labrador Cocoa and she just loved it too ... doggie heaven!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Thank you, Diane.
I also love the window seat in the kitchen, especially on a summers morning when the kayaks and boats are getting ready to head out. It’s a busy beach on those occasions.
We would love you to come back to The Moorings, as would Cocoa!
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy G
1 review
“Absolute perfection, a beautiful house in a stunning location”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I absolutely loved the week I spent at The Moorings with my Parents and their Chihuahua , Milly.
They say Location, Location, Location and this is certainly true here.
Lie in bed (which by the way is extremely comfortable) and listen to the sound of the waves on the shore (with the window open), walk out the door and you are on the beach, look out the windows and you see the sea and from the terrace you get far reaching views along the coast in two different directions!
It is only a hop, skip and a jump from the Post Office/Shop, which has all the essentials and does the best hot Pasties, the pub, where the service and food is excellent whether it is a small bite or full blown restaurant dinner and the cafe/bistro that did the best crab sandwich that I have ever had.
The house itself is beautifully furnished in a way that is a cross between a 5 star hotel and a home. The kitchen has all the gadgets you could possibly need to lavishly entertain and you really feel Caroline has gone out of her way to try an think of every little detail that will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
Perfection

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thank you Kate for a wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying in the house and appreciated the location so much. Hope Cove is a very self-contained village, with tge Post Office/shop and pub/bar. Not having to leave is a major feature that our guests feedback.
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyRobe...
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here in August with our parents and daughter and it was excellent. Perfect location for both beaches in Hope, nice and close (but not too close) to the pub, cafe and shop. Do a supermarket shop before you arrive and you don’t need to leave the village at all. Loved sitting out on the terrace watching the sea and people going by. House was really nice, all mod cons, would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2017
Thanks. The Moorings is a great place for multigenerational families. I am glad you found it worked for you.
The beach side location plus pubs and shops is handy, isnt it?
You are welcome to stay again
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaretb...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Costal Retreat”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Perfect Location for Beauiful Scenery and Costal walks. Well equipped Spacious light and airy Accommodation. Beds are so comfy, large well equipped kitchen and large living area. Nice Balcony which has views of the sea. Like home from home. Two Pub restauarants near by, although it is still peaceful and quiet. We ate in both which were lovely, but we preferred the Cove, food was amazing in the Cove and Staff were friendly. Nice Costal walks, we visited Dartmouth and Salcombe which were not too far to drive. The owner Caroline left a book with some very useful information regarding where to visit, eat and general information. All in all had a very lovely time in Devon and will definitely be visting the Moorings again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2017
Margaret, thank you for this review. We will welcome you back at any time.
I am glad that you got out and about, and enjoyed the beautiful coastal walks. Hope Cove is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty for good reason.
You are one of many who enjoyed The Cove - so handy as next door but one!
Hope to see you back soon,
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing