We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Sand Pebbles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hope Cove B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We can thoroughly recommend this lovely guesthouse in Hope Cove. My wife and I spent 4 nights at the end of May and stayed in Room 8 - a good sized en suite room with a super king sized double bed and a small balcony from where you can see the sea. It is just a short walk to the cove where there is a restaurant and pub, a tea shop and general store.

The welcome we had from the owners was warm, and we were very pleased with our choice. There is ample parking and we enjoyed a wholesome Full English breakfast each morning. The guesthouse is clean, tidy and just what we wanted for our break in South Devon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stagman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    46
    20
    5
    14
See reviews for
35
93
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights while walking in the area. we stayed in Room 11 on the second floor with beautiful views over the bay. It was a last minute deal on their website with 20% reduction.
Room and view were great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 11 at the top if you don't mind the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We spent three nights at Sand Pebbles in August this year. We stayed in Room 8 with balcony; a very good sized room with comfortable bed and ensuite bathroom. The shower over bath was disappointing as it was attached to bath taps and not a separate unit which made it difficult to adjust the temperature. Due to extremely windy weather we were unable to use the balcony until the last evening. Unfortunately our enjoyment was spoilt by a group of extremely noisy and nosey children using the Sand Pebbles Goody Rock Grill. We only used the restaurant on the first evening as we understood there was a discount for residents but when we paid the bill were informed this only applied if you had two courses.We would add the food was very good and only didnt eat there again out of principle. Breakfast was good and the poached eggs were cooked perfectly, however we were not offered more tea or toast as is normal in most establishments. We probably would have refused but it would have been nice to have been asked. Although the rooom was clean, on the first morning the bed had been hastily tided while we were at breakfast, the bathroom had not been touched and the cups on the tea/coffee tray were not washed or biscuits replaced after the first night. Toiletries and hairdryer were supplied but the addition of some tissues and a clock radio alarm would have been most welcome. The benefit of on site parking was good but on the last evening my husband had to wait for the waiting staff in the restaurant to leave before he could park in a bay. We enjoyed our stay in Hope Cove but for the money we paid for the accommodation we were quite disappointed by what was on offer, especially as we noted that Room 8 was reduced by £30 for the Saturday and Sunday as it had not been booked. Perhaps we expected too much, but having stayed at many establishments in the West Country and also having worked within the Hospitality Industry, we had much to compare this with and decided although it was very clean and comfortable and a family run guest house it was very much a business and we did not feel that we were made as welcome as we could have been.Perhaps it would be better to change the name from Guest House to Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We originally booked one nights stay at Sand Pebbles & could only fit us in a Twin Room as when I rang only a few days before arriving they were fully booked. When we arrived we had been upgraded to the best room with a balcony view stretching over Hope Cove with 2 small chairs & a table sat outside.

We then enquired & managed to get the Room for a further 3 nights, what can I say. Stunning location beautiful Cove, blue flag beach, quintessential English with all the trimmings!

The owners are superb helping with luggage, free phone, any questions answered. Excellent service and Breakfast is fab, unfortunately we never dined in their restaurant 'The Goody Rock Grill' although that is where breakfast is served every morning, but next time we will.

If you just want a nice peaceful relaxing away from the crowds type break with 'The Hope & Anchor' pub 400yards away from you & the most amazing Restaraunt 'Harbour Light' which I shall be writing another review about, oh & not forgetting the small beach shop with all you need including Cornish Pasties home baked then this ticks all the boxes.

The 8 mile Coastal Walk around to Salcombe is a must with breathtaking scenery.

This truly is still a hidden gem & I'm glad we found 'Sand Pebbles' WE WILL BE BACK.

PS 'Room 8' is the Room you must have!

Room Tip: Room 8 with balcony seats & table outside with the sun facing at you most of the day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilCadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had a very pleasant weeks stay at Sand Pebbles with the bonus of great weather. Comfortable room with balcony with views down to the sea. Excellent breakfast and very good evening meals served in Sand Pebbles Goody Rock Grill. Mel was very helpful and friendly. Too many signs, adverts and notices in the garden spoilt the kerb appeal (ice cream flags and lager banner) in our opinion however this in itself would not stop us recommending Sand Pebbles to our friends. Thank you for a nice stay we look forward to coming back sometime.

Room Tip: Balcony room was lovely, would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Sand Pebbles in March and an added bonus was the glorious weather we enjoyed. Some of the house has been recently renovated which has given it a clean, fresh appeal. Our room (balcony room) was excellent with a very pleasent view from the balcony. The family were very helpful and friendly, and presented us with an excellent breakfast. Local pub is warm and friendly with a nice atmosphere and good food. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock Bath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were caught by the hotel's policy of no check-in between 5 & 7pm. Actually caught short as well. There are no public Loos in Hope Cove that we could find. Otherwise the whole experience at the hotel was very positive.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank circuitbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandPebblesHopeCove, Owner at Sand Pebbles Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Hi, Many thanks for your review, we are glad you had a lovely time. The check in policy for the B&B is clearly stated on your confirmation letter as 3pm-5pm and 7pm-10pm, this enables us to have diner with our young family, not sure this is really a strict rule, had someone been at the premises when you arrived they would of gladly let you in, on this occasion however it appears that no one was present. Once again thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
3.9 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
165 reviews
3.5 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
414 reviews
2.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Hotel

Property: Sand Pebbles Hotel
Address: Hope Bypass, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hope Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Pebbles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully situated in its own grounds only 250 metres from the safe, sandy beaches and village centre of Hope Cove. Sand Pebbles overlooks the sea and countryside and some of the most delightful coastal walks are just around the corner or, for guests simply wishing to take life a little easier, the hotel patio is ideal for relaxing and soaking up the sunshine and fresh Devon air.Our accommodation consists of 11 en-suite bedrooms comprising kings/doubles and a twin all comfortably furnished most with sea or country views and one with its own balcony and a family suite. All guest rooms have a Freeview LCD TV, beverage tray, toiletries and hairdryer. Newly refurbished for 2012 guest bar and restaurant with views over the village and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sand Pebbles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing