We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to all expectation--and more”
Review of Lantern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lantern Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I have recently enjoyed a wonderful stay at the lantern lodge.We had not visited this part of Devon for very many years and chose the hotel on the basis of comments from previous guests.These very favourable comments mirrored our own experience and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing break with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 168 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been staying at Lantern Lodge for many years and it always surpasses expectations.The old saying that you should never go back is proved wrong by this welcoming, comfortable and superbly run hotel.We were there when the person responsible for the one poor feedback here was staying. Suffice it to say that he was in the wrong place for his age and attitude and very unfair in his remarks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful location in an unspoiled corner of Devon then look no further than The Lantern Lodge Hotel. As well as being situated in a perfect setting this hotel offers comfortable and welcoming, yet slick, service with pleasant staff in attendance. The accommodation and food is consistently excellent and the hotel is exceptionally well run and spotlessly clean. A stay at this hotel would suit the more discerning and sophiscated patron who relishes being waited on and looked after. A big plus is to have breakfast served rather than grapple with a buffet style meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovesweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A relaxing 3 night stay. Ideal position right on cliffs yet very close to village centre. Food was excellent and good value. Rooms could do with a coat of paint but overall a very enjoyable stay. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is in a marvellous location with views to rival anything. What a change to have a hotel without "white duvets and formica topped units" and to have interesting furniture and colour in the room. Our room had 4 easy chairs, unlike loads of hotels where there is one chair and the other person has to sit on the bed to watch TV. The room was really big and comfortable and so clean and you didn't see loads of housekeepers around, they seemed to do everything out of sight. The food was excellent, enormous portions with speedy service and friendly staff. All the staff seem to mix and match jobs and were all friendly and helpful. The pool is a very good size for a hotel and well decorated, and also has a patio outside with loungers if the weather is suitable. Couldn't ask for more. The atmosphere is very relaxed, and we will certainly return, and most of the other visitors we spoke to had all been several times before.

Room Tip: Several sea view rooms have patio doors onto a balcony with amazing views, but even sitting inside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday night and had a room with a nice view over Hope Cove. Staff were very friendly and helpfull the room was big and clean.

The breakfast had lots of choice and was cooked fresh to order. You can walk to hope cove in minutes which has a fish restaurant and a pub which we ate at twice and was good although Lantern Lodge do evening meals which looked good too.

We would recommend this hotel if you intend to stay in Hope Cove.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

True to form the Lantern lodge did not dissapoint very clean beautiful location and exceptional homely comfort.The style is somewhat laid back rather than stiff and unwelcoming and that infact adds to its charm.The staff are perfectionist as are the owners and the little touches do make for extremely comfortable stay.Sea view rooms are obviously great but the rear rooms are well appointed and are still ideal for your stay.the swimming pool is also a bonus and ideal should the weather be a little rough.A good centre to stay and very good value,As the people we met had returned over and over again.

Room Tip: sea view if available but if not any room is good no noise except seagulls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiderjivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
419 reviews
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Lodge

Address: Grand View Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range: $104 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lantern Lodge, Hope Cove, Kingsbridge. The Lantern Lodge is a small privately run B&B situated on the cliff top right next to the South Devon Coastal path and overlooking the secluded fishing village of Hope Cove with its Devon thatch cottages, clean, sandy and safe beaches. Nearby are the old traditional towns of Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Dartmouth all offering their own individual character and all offering that little extra to make your stay in the South Hams that extra special and unique. Also close by are Thurlestone, Bigbury and Dartmouth golf courses all with stunning views of the area and fantastic and challenging courses. The Lantern Lodge has its own special extras to offer including an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, double, twin and four poster rooms all with en-suite facilities and some with sea views. 9 hole putting green and plenty of car parking. There is a dining room where breakfast is served. The Lantern Lodge is so named after its attractive leafily-clad 'Lantern window.' Local folklore would have us believe that this type of window was specially designed to hold and display an illuminated lantern which could be seen from all three aspects far out to sea, acting as a beacon to safely guide home all their boats. Nowadays, our Lantern window serves very much the same purpose in welcoming back our contented guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lantern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hotel Hope Cove
Lantern Lodge Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing