We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A&W”
Review of Lantern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lantern Lodge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Reviewed June 2, 2013

we visited at the end of may,it was our 6th visit.nothing changes.all very nice,just as it should be. very nice food,freshly prepared and cooked. pleasently served, in a nice dining room,the wine menu was quite varied. rooms are comfortable.location first class.we will make more visits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 168 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for two nights 18-20th may.the staff were very nice they were welcoming and very friendly.the menu for the evening meal is very limited but the meals we had were freshly cooked and very tasty.the evening meal has 4 courses so you leave the dinning room stuffed.the breakfast again is great,you can have anything from yogurt to a full english or both if you so want.
my only criticism (who am i to criticise something that works very well)is that it did feel like an old peoples home rather than a hotel.most of the guests are the young at heart rather than young.there are no quilts on the beds,there are crisp white cotton sheets and a blanket. again it was very comfortable,clean and nice.its a little old fashioned for our taste but was fully booked.so to sum up if you want purple quilts on the bed,fast food,chips and sitting in the hotel bar getting hammered this is not the hotel for you.if you want quiet, quaint, cloth napkins, silver cutlery and afternoon tea then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: a room at the front a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

if a "pick me up" is needed there is no better place. Rooms ,food and views excellent with friendly and efficient service in a relaxed atmosphere. There is a delightful indoor pool which opens onto a well equipped patio area on sunny days. If walking is your pleasure this is the place to be.
Ray and Maureen.
Bristol

Room Tip: The sea view is well worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a return visit after 7 years. We had forgotten how good the food was.
The portions were very good and the quality excellent.
Staff were very friendly and attentive.
Well sited for getting around and walking.
The only crticism we had was that there were cellular blankets on the bed and no Duvets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

we enjoyed a 2 night stay - such a fabulous position - excellent breakfasts and great service. a pity that it's anachronistic in terms of decor, it is unlikely to attract younger people who are looking for something slicker and less old fashioned. It majors on peach and magnolia with swirly carpets and plastic baths! and our bed needed a stepladder. the pool is good, would benefit from loungers inside. the staff are truly charming and helpful. if you want to stay in Hope Cove itself then this is a very good place.

Room Tip: a room at the front is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewknor100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

In the forty plus years we have stayed in and around Hope Cove, we have eaten at The Lantern Lodge but never stayed there - if only we could wind back the clock!! For those who like good food, good service, friendly and helpful staff and a hotel with some of the best sea views in the South of England, this is for you, not to mention exceptional value for money. If you are a golfer the chef, John, will give you tips on how to course manage the holes at Thurlestone and Bigbury, two golf clubs situated on the cliffs nearby.

Room Tip: The sea views are well worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrianrossini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. The location is wonderful it is a shame that I cannot say the same for the hotel. It has not moved with the times. The hosts were wonderful and I can say the same for the lovely breakfasts all home cooked. The evening menu does leave a lot to be desired along with the tiredness of the hotel. As there were not many guests dining in the evenings was restricted time wise. Dinner seven to eight! The menu was like something out of the eighties, along with boring side dishes. A little more thought will go a long way. The decoration needs to be addressed the sitting room where coffee is served feels like one is in an old people's home chairs dotted around the room and not too comfortable. The pool is lovely but in the winter a couple of loungers would add to the experience. Our room was lovely and comfortable. This is not a negative review a bit of tweaking and you will have a busy and lovely hotel. Do I want busy not so sure. The
staff are wonderful and accommodating they can only work with the tools they are given. I will return

Room Tip: Our bed in a good room was not king size request one if you need one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Cove
4.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Lodge

Address: Grand View Road, Hope Cove, Salcombe TQ7 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Hope Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hope Cove
Price Range: $92 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lantern Lodge, Hope Cove, Kingsbridge. The Lantern Lodge is a small privately run B&B situated on the cliff top right next to the South Devon Coastal path and overlooking the secluded fishing village of Hope Cove with its Devon thatch cottages, clean, sandy and safe beaches. Nearby are the old traditional towns of Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Dartmouth all offering their own individual character and all offering that little extra to make your stay in the South Hams that extra special and unique. Also close by are Thurlestone, Bigbury and Dartmouth golf courses all with stunning views of the area and fantastic and challenging courses. The Lantern Lodge has its own special extras to offer including an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, double, twin and four poster rooms all with en-suite facilities and some with sea views. 9 hole putting green and plenty of car parking. There is a dining room where breakfast is served. The Lantern Lodge is so named after its attractive leafily-clad 'Lantern window.' Local folklore would have us believe that this type of window was specially designed to hold and display an illuminated lantern which could be seen from all three aspects far out to sea, acting as a beacon to safely guide home all their boats. Nowadays, our Lantern window serves very much the same purpose in welcoming back our contented guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Lantern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hotel Hope Cove
Lantern Lodge Hope Cove, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing