We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to see why they made Conde Nast mention”
Review of Acre

Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $65
Description: Breakfast 8am-12 pm, Lunch 12-3pm Mon-Friday, Dinner Daily 5-10pm, Brunch 10am-3pm Saturday & Sunday. Happy Hour 5-7pm Daily. Acre is a 25 acre piece of farmland situated 7 minutes from the quaint, scenic, "old town" of San Jose del Cabo. The first phase of the development is a restaurant and bar set within a natural palm grove. Five acres of organic crops will provide fresh produce and ingredients for the restaurant and bar. The grounds are lush, with pathways and other points of interest such as mango and citrus orchards. Parking for 80 vehicles will be provided at the southern entrance to the property. A separate event space for behind the restaurant will accommodate and cater to larger groups of up to 250.
Restaurant details
Description: Breakfast 8am-12 pm, Lunch 12-3pm Mon-Friday, Dinner Daily 5-10pm, Brunch 10am-3pm Saturday & Sunday. Happy Hour 5-7pm Daily. Acre is a 25 acre piece of farmland situated 7 minutes from the quaint, scenic, "old town" of San Jose del Cabo. The first phase of the development is a restaurant and bar set within a natural palm grove. Five acres of organic crops will provide fresh produce and ingredients for the restaurant and bar. The grounds are lush, with pathways and other points of interest such as mango and citrus orchards. Parking for 80 vehicles will be provided at the southern entrance to the property. A separate event space for behind the restaurant will accommodate and cater to larger groups of up to 250.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

That is a well deserved endorsement for an extraordinary place. I'm not a real "earthy" kinda gal but there is something about this place that brings about a connection with nature.
Rodrique happened to catch us in the parking lot and took the time to give us the tour. The treehouses are so cute and what a special occasion treat. The grounds are meticulously kept. It is a ways off the beaten path (yes, some bumpy dirt roads to get there) but so worth the journey.
We went back for dinner and enjoyed a meal to reach all the foodie senses!
Artisan breads.
Incredible drinks unique to Acre.
Food that was off-the-hook.
And a chocolate cake dessert with homemade ice cream and liquid chocolate poured over the entire dessert at the table. 5 spoons please!
This is a Do-NOT-Miss when in San Jose Del Cabo.
Oh, and peacocks wonder about. This one thinks he is a dog and follows people after he greets them.
Pets are welcome too of they don't pester the baby goats and peacocks.

1  Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kate,

thank you so much for your visit and for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit greatly; to have seen the treehouses, met our animals, connected with nature, and enjoyed the exquisite dishes and drinks prepared by our culinary team.

It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
With warm regards,
Romana & the entire Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 649 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2018

Okay, so folks are correct when they say this is place is "off the road". We had rented a car and I was aware that it would be an unpaved road but...that's putting it mildly. Lots of bumps, lots of twists and turns--especially the last part of the trip when you go down a somewhat sharp incline to get into the parking lot (dirt, of course) for the restaurant/lodge. But it was all worth--even though it had been raining which added an extra bit of white-knuckled driving as there were washed-away areas on the way. This place is like an oasis in the middle of nowhere. It is more or less an outdoor restaurant--with a roof over it but no walls so don't expect air conditioning or anything like that. The menu was well-inspired and I loved the fish tacos and my mother loved the Vietnamese noodle bowl she ordered. What made the place so great, besides the food and the "adventure" getting there was the great people. We had Edgar as our server who was so kind, and so well-informed about both the menu and the property. We were delighted to see a resident peacock come strolling in and eyeball us for some food. (Yes, I'm sure some people wouldn't like that but we thought it was cute as we love animals--most of them, anyway.) Then Edgar gave us a tour around the property to see their farm and meet some of their animals especially their goats, along with showing us the various features of the property. He then arranged for a manager to show us one of the lovely "treehouse lodges" which was very, very interesting. (Not necessarily my style though, but still was tempting.) All in all this place was a fabulous excursion and an experience unlike I have ever had at any other restaurant in my life. I'd love to go back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Matthew,

thank you so much for daring to go on a Baja adventure and visiting us in our tropical oasis! I'm happy to hear you loved the entire Acre experience, from the property setting, food, the peacock and animals, as well as our fantastic team.

It will be a pleasure having you with us again,
With our best regards,
Romana & Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

We were so pleasantly surprised by the chic ambience at Acre. We have visited the other restaurants nearby and have very much enjoyed them but had no idea what we were walking in to. It was all beautifully designed, there was a DJ with great music playing, the cocktails were extraordinary, and the staff was friendly.

Thank Rachele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Rachele,

thank you so much for your visit and your lovely review! I'm so happy you were pleasantly surprised upon your visit, and we're thrilled to hear you loved our cocktails, friendly staff, the DJ, and the chic ambiance.

We look forward to your return!
Warm regards from Acre,
Romana & Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

My friend and I decided to go to Acre, and set out to find it using our GPS. After a very short drive from San Jose we found ourselves on a dirt road, going up a hill. We kept on going, past construction sites, past tumble down shacks, past trees, a great sunset, and finally to a sign that pointed to Acre. We found a parking lot. We did not see a restaurant. We asked some people where it was. They pointed to what appeared to be a trail through the palms. We walked along, up a gravel path, lighted by lanterns, and found ourselves in,,. an oasis of Contemporary art and architecture, plants, trees, landscaping, a pool that is purple at night, a beautiful European style restaurant and bar. Fabulous wine, amazing food. We were surprised and impressed. Then the bill came. It was about $250 for the two of us. Whoo hoo! 5 star prices too, but we felt the experience was definitely worth it. It was the wine that was expensive. though the food was not inexpensive. Altogether it was a really memorable experience, and so I have to say it was completely worth the high price. Anyhow, what are vacations for? I think to enjoy ourselves, and open wide our pockets for novel experiences. We loved it.

Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear Janet,

thank you so much for your visit! We're happy to hear you loved our Acre experience, from the dirt road trip all the way to the beautiful contemporary architecture and lush landscapes.

We look forward to your return!
Warm regards from Los Cabos,
Romana & the entire Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

As we were driving up, we got a little nervous as we turned down the pot hole filled dirt road to get here. There had been a large rainstorm earlier so we had to cross a deep moat-like puddle to make it into the parking lot to the restaurant/hotel building. We weren’t sure what to expect. But this is truly a hidden gem! I can’t believe this place exists!

We walked through what felt like a secret forest pathway into a beautiful restaurant, explored the grounds to meet the animals before dinner, and experienced a sensational meal. So much of their food is sourced from the organic farm that surrounds the restaurant, and you can really taste how fresh the food is.

The fried tomatoes were amazing, and I loved my octopus especially! There was a lamb special that a friend got, as well as the 30 oz steak, and oh my goodness their meat dishes are incredible. So much flavor in each bite through the meal. Definitely worth the 40 minute drive out of the downtown Cabo area, if you’re up for a bit of an adventure. I’d love to be able to stay at their hotel someday, we were all so blown away by Acre!

Thank Hanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romali7, Public Relations Manager at Acre, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2018

Dear Hanna,

thank you so much for your visit and your wonderful review! I'm so happy to hear about your fantastic experience with us, and we look forward to your return already. Perhaps next time you will be able to enjoy a stay in our treehouses - it would be our pleasure!

With our warmest regards,
Romana & Acre team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acre also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Acre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing