We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, well-priced, and fun!”

Habanero's Gastro Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Opened in October of 2004 by celebrity Chef F. Tadd Chapman, Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila bar has developed into one of San Jose del Cabo's most recognized restaurants among locals and tourists alike. Nestled behind a wall of eureka palms between San Jose's hotel zone and historic downtown, Habaneros blends the European style bistro with an eclectic "Mexican Fusion" menu all the while keeping things "Baja" Casual. In the fall of 2006 Tadd was joined by his mother, Christine Chapman to create a family operated restaurant with over 50 years of joint restaurant experience. After 4 years of satisfied clients the opportunity to expand to the adjoining local arose, and thus was born Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila Bar.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious, well-priced, and fun!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we ended up at Habanero's and had a meal that would be the culinary highlight of our entire trip. The food was amazing and very reasonably priced considering the quality. The location was right off of the resort strip, so it was a comfortable walk there. And to end the night, the staff did magic tricks at our table! The only con would be that we had to flag down the waiter after we had stopped eating and drinking for about an hour. They were cleaning up around us, but were still surprised we were ready to leave. The food, entertainment, and friendliness of the staff made up for the wait for the check.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AGal_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    307
    71
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, CA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“surf and turf orgasm”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was our splurge and we were not disappointed. We shared a large platter of fresh veggies and two large lobster tails with an eight ounce filet mignon and couldn't finish it. Well prepared and as tasty as it looked. We highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Another Favorite Place"”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We discovered this restaurant three years ago on our trip with another couple. The food is some of the best we've ever had. This trip we ate breakfast there almost every morning and went back for dinner. The ultimate dinner was the "Surf & Turf" special! They knock it out of the park with this one. The staff is friendly and they remember you from one visit to the next. They can't do enough to make your dining experience perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Even Better People”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I feel guilty... we are headed back to San Jose and never wrote a review from last time. We have been going to San Jose / Cabo for over ten years. This is clearly one of the best places around. What makes it unique? Outstanding food and the waiters were wonderful. Not only did they make great salsa table side, they llet my 3 year old and 11 year old help them for the next batch. They had them mix everything, grind it, taste, season... you name it. It's funny because as we are packing they both said, "Can we go back to Habanero's?".

Back to the food... so authentic, fresh, and always take the waiters recommendation. We had a few appetizers and they said, "If you like this, let me make you this..." Not to mention their "drinks of the day." Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“under rated”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

cannot believe this resturant is rated only # 12 in San Jose. We have been there twice in one week and each time the food was over the top. The memu is limited but the dishes are exceptional. Thier coconut shrimp, key lime pie, tuna cerviche were the best we ever had.definitely a must go t o place,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoefSuccasunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Gastro Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Habanero's Gastro Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing