We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Habanero's Gastro Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in October of 2004 by celebrity Chef F. Tadd Chapman, Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila bar has developed into one of San Jose del Cabo's most recognized restaurants among locals and tourists alike. Nestled behind a wall of eureka palms between San Jose's hotel zone and historic downtown, Habaneros blends the European style bistro with an eclectic "Mexican Fusion" menu all the while keeping things "Baja" Casual. In the fall of 2006 Tadd was joined by his mother, Christine Chapman to create a family operated restaurant with over 50 years of joint restaurant experience. After 4 years of satisfied clients the opportunity to expand to the adjoining local arose, and thus was born Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila Bar.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dinner here and enjoyed every bite! The key lime pie is to die for! It's a lil bit pricey but would definitely eat here again and again and again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kershann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    306
    69
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I saw this place while strolling the streets. I had seen some of the reviews so thought I would give it a try and they didn't disappoint. We ended up ordering an entree, main and dessert each which is unusual for us but the food was simply delicious! The tequila shrimp was the highlight for me. We definitely recommend this restaurant and may even have to try it again before we leave.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, MT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

You need to go there and try the Shrimp Tacos, the best! The restaurant is clean a really nice staff, and all the food is just plain delicious!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cbratvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“One of the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

For lunch you have to order the Fish Tacos. They are the best I had in Baja. Dinner is aways good. Everytime we go to San Jose Del Cabo Habanero's is our first stop. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
287 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Another very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I never fail to like this place a lot. The food is very well prepared and presented (and bounteous). It's a nice quiet spot off the Centro area in San Jose del Cabo. The wait staff is friendly and attentive. Key dishes to try are the Tequila Shrimp, the Mexican Sampler and the Key Lime Pie. They have a very nice selection of artisinal Tequila and Mezcal for those who appreciate the better stuff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesottl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Gastro Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Habanero's Gastro Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing