We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Habanero's Gastro Grill

Habanero's Gastro Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in October of 2004 by celebrity Chef F. Tadd Chapman, Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila bar has developed into one of San Jose del Cabo's most recognized restaurants among locals and tourists alike. Nestled behind a wall of eureka palms between San Jose's hotel zone and historic downtown, Habaneros blends the European style bistro with an eclectic "Mexican Fusion" menu all the while keeping things "Baja" Casual. In the fall of 2006 Tadd was joined by his mother, Christine Chapman to create a family operated restaurant with over 50 years of joint restaurant experience. After 4 years of satisfied clients the opportunity to expand to the adjoining local arose, and thus was born Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila Bar.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Five min from Cabo Azul were we stayed the food was excellent. Excellent Key Lime Pie if you like it on the more Lime side (which I do) The only draw back here is that the outside dining is right in the parking lot basically. They try to spruce it up with some plants around you. But the car lights kind of wreck the mood. If you dont want that go inside for a little more atmosphere,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveandGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    300
    69
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Tasty Margarita's, dinner for 2 had steak, lobster tails and shrimp, Catch of the day was great. The service was great, patio dining, it got pretty busy later in the evening, when we went at about 7pm walked in no reservation on a friday night.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank amjdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
189 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A nice break from the all-inclusive buffet routine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited Habanero as a break from the buffet at our all-inclusive nearby. We were very pleased to find this place on Tripadvisor, only a few hundred yards north of our hotel. We chose to eat outside on a beautiful, warm mexican evening. I had the chicken fajitas, which were very good. My daughter liked the tortillas so much that she finished them before dessert. One child had spaghetti and another, voodoo chicken, whose filling he found a bit rich. Service was friendly and bilingual.The meal probably cost us $20 per person with minimal alcohol, which didn't strike me as cheap, but nor was it expensive. We would certainly return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank selmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found this lovely restaurant by chance. We have been coming here for years but have always been told don't go anywhere it is too dangerous. Well folks this place is magnificent. The food was sooooo much better than our hotel and very well priced. We met the owner and she was very kind and gave us a lot of info. Unfortunately we visited at the end of our trip. When we come back in Nov we will go to Habanero's also visited Don Sanchez's also her restaurant. Excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chickennana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Victor is one of the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This restaurant was a great find after a long day of travel. The staff was welcoming and engaging, Victor provides a table side magic show! Mexican fusion and outdoor seating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Gastro Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Habanero's Gastro Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing