We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant”

Habanero's Gastro Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Opened in October of 2004 by celebrity Chef F. Tadd Chapman, Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila bar has developed into one of San Jose del Cabo's most recognized restaurants among locals and tourists alike. Nestled behind a wall of eureka palms between San Jose's hotel zone and historic downtown, Habaneros blends the European style bistro with an eclectic "Mexican Fusion" menu all the while keeping things "Baja" Casual. In the fall of 2006 Tadd was joined by his mother, Christine Chapman to create a family operated restaurant with over 50 years of joint restaurant experience. After 4 years of satisfied clients the opportunity to expand to the adjoining local arose, and thus was born Habaneros Gastro Grill and Tequila Bar.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Elegant”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was suprised by the level of service and food quality at Habaneros. It postitions itself as "Tequila Bar" on the sign, but Gastro Grill defiantely fits as well. Granted, they do have a stellar selection of tequila, but the food is excellent with some great choices that range from Mexican to Italian and a few other countries in between. Not a cheap palce to eat, but defiantely worthe the splurge!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TGDebalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    307
    71
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always good food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been to Habaneros quit a few times through the years. They always have great food and the selection is always deep so you can almost eat here every night!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howietom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and Waitstaff...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

During our last trip to Cabo, we did most of our dinners at the resorts, but wanted to venture out and try some of the local restuarants. We were greeted immediately and had a nice two-top table out on the patio for some drinks and appetizers. We had the lobster tostadas and Ginger Ceviche (my wife like the ceviche better and i really like the tostadas). For dinner my wife had the Blackened Ahi Tuna and I had the Cajun FIlet Mignon with Creole Butter. As you might expect from Cabo, the Tuna (and seafood is very fresh), but my steak was so so. Not complaining, but did enjoy the prickly pear ratatouille. So, the staff was friendly, attentive and got us everything we needed, the food was better than expected (even though my wife did like a few of the items and I wasn't a big fan of the steak). So, all around, it was worth the trip and we will try it again on next trip to tray some different food choices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjpooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A little pricy, but your on vacation so ENJOY!! The grilled lobster was GREAT!! Excellent guacamole. Everything was very fresh and seasoned well

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It was fun watching everyone taste their food and then having to share it with everyone else at the table. Everything looked and tasted amazing. One of the best meals ever

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CamCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Gastro Grill also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Habanero's Gastro Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing