We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The check-in was flawless and our room was perfect! We had a one bedroom with kitchen & sitting room. It was very large, spotless, modern & comfortable. Our balcony was huge and had an inground spa!! The grounds were gorgeous, the pool inviting, but a bit on the cool side. The activity director made it fun for everyone by the pool in the afternoon.
The beach area is so clean and we took LONG walks everyday...the beach goes on forever! We walked into San Jose everyday, about a 20 minute walk. San Jose is a charming town, clean & very safe! We walked home many times around 9:30pm and never felt unsafe at any time.
There are MANY restaurants in San Jose, and everyone we tried was fantastic! Our favorite was Habanero!!
I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone. We can not wait to retunr!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Luvem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2010

We spent the month of February at this resort. We have been owners since 1999 and have also traveled to their other locations. What was unique about San Jose was size. They only have 86 two bedroom units. Therefore, you do not have some of the amenities that you find at their other locations. We had done our homework and knew this going there. Sure we missed the lazy river but we also appreciated the convenience of the small size. It was easy to get a chair close to the beach and pool. They do not have the kids programs due to the size of the resort. However, Presidents week when there were more kids and teens the activities desk adjusted their programs to accommodate the extra youth down there. We enjoyed the cooking classes, barternder classes, black jack, etc. Everyone was very attentive, and contrary to the other reviews, the service was very good. What we did miss was an all day drink special that their other locations offer. Also, there are no palapas or chairs on the beach. The water is also too rough for swimming. Again, we knew this going down. There are a couple of tents down the beach where you can get massages for $30 per hour. This was a bargain! There is also horseback riding on the beach, and yes, they do keep the beach clean of droppings. Why I am not giving the resort the five stars is because of the cool pool water. We even contacted the manager. The first two weeks of February we were not able to use the pools. This was very disappointing as we go on vacation to enjoy the sunshine and water. The last two weeks the weather warmed up and the pools were fine for swimming.
As for the construction, the resort was building a Grand Luxxe model for viewing. This is now done. It in no way impaired our vacation. They were very considerate. Only one day did they haul some trees for the landscaping around this unit. Sometimes they worked all night, but the noise was only during the day.
We liked the convenience of being able to walk into San Jose and the restaurants of which there are many. You have many choices whether it be gourmet or more casual. Some recommendations: Habaneros, Mi Ensalada (great breakfasts and lunch), Tropicana (nightly entertainment), Dirty Sanchez, Shooters for $1 beer, Baja Brewery for their beer and fish and chips. Mi Casa just opened in San Jose. Just ask the concierege. Everyone is very helpful. Take adavantage of the Thursday night art tour. On Saturdays they have an Organic Market with all kinds of interesting vendors.
Yes, San Jose is very quiet. You do not go here for night life. People come here for the peace and quiet and great restaurants. The nightlife is in Cabo San Lucas.
We did rent a car for part of our stay so we could see the area. It is easy to get around. Yes, there is a charge for valet parking but you do not have to use this service. There is ample parking on the street and it is safe to park there.
I get so tired of the complaints about the timeshare presentations. This is a timeshare resort. If you don't like it, don't go. The presentations will always be longer than they say and also stressful. This is not unique this resort.
Contrary to other reviews, this resort was over 90% filled while we were there. Their two bedroom and one bedroom units go first. What they have left in availability are the hotel units. It is quiet here due to the size and people are out and about golfing, sight seeing, etc.
Also, the cleanliness was impeccable. This is why we enjoy these resorts so much. Both inside the units and all of the grounds are extremely well maintained. They even have covers for the beach chairs that are washed and you can see them restuff the cushions in the morning. The resort is elegant.
As you read these reviews and you hear complaints, just keep in mind this is a very small percentage compaired to the number of people actually staying here. Everyone went above and beyond to please. Due the the size, by the end of the month everyone was like family.
Do your homework. Find out about the amenities such as kids programs before you go. If you want kids programs go to their resort in Nuevo Vallarta. People come here to get away from kids. People also do not come her for the night life. They come to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LakeWashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Just got back from a 2 week stay. The resort was beautiful and immaculate. The entire staff was friendly, with the exception of the time-share closer after we said no! We are already Grand Luxxe owners and saw no need to upgrade at the time. We had our 3 1/2 year-old grandaughter with us who really luved it. The first week the pool was too cold to go in, but the second week it felt better(maybe because of the sun-burn!) We couldn't get our grandaughter out of the hot tub! The first week there were many kids and she made many friends. The second week there were only a few kids, but it didn't bother her. The staff treated her like a princess. We had no problems with the service around the pool. The servers were very friendly.
We had a 1 bedroom unit which was very spacious. Enjoyed the twice a day maid service. The kitchen was adequate except for the lack of a dishwasher.
We do like Acapulco and Puerto Vallarta better though. It was too "American" here. Even the restaurants were too "American" We finally asked a local for a good Mexican restaurant and were directed to "Taqueria Mexico" which was awesome. It was off the beaten path and wouldn't have found it on our own. We cooked in the room most nites. The Mega was a great store with some good food and good prices.
Our only real complaint was not being able to go in the ocean and no chairs on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcbme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I booked through RCI which only allows you to stay at a Grand Mayan resort every 5 years if you don't own at the Mayan. Based on this I thought it would be top notch. Now I see you can get a week there for 199 if you have access to "Burn Weeks" through HSI. We checked in late and had a room 1 floor up about 2 or 3 units from the end of the wing toward the beach. The room was beautifully furnished however our 1st impression was mixed since there was a worker in the bedroom repairing the tub. Not a small fix either...tiles were removed, lots of tools etc and he was there for an hour!! This was after travelling all day to get there and checking in at 11:00 pm. We asked for another room but they said they were at full capacity. This was obviously NOT TRUE since the place was virtually empty for the next 7 days. So no problem..he was out by midnight and left the dirty tub for someone else to clean the next day. So the next evening, my wife decides to have a relaxing bath around 10:00 (the tub is in the bedroom which was nice) and realizes the hot water does not work. So we called the front desk and had a repairman up for close to 2 hours on our second evening. I was not impressed and still said nothing since I figured it would not make a difference anyway. It was repaired and cleaned up again on the 3rd day and ready to use.
Now for the pool experience.... The service was brutal! We werent waited on until happy hour and even then it took 20 minutes for him to bring the 130 peso drink. On a good note there were very few people using the facilities and the day beds were aways available and clean. The pool water was very cold and only the odd kid was courageous enough to go into the water. We had stayed 2 doors down at the Royal Solaris before checking into the Grand Mayan and the pool there must have been heated. Good thing I had my ipod to drown out the constant noise of the on site construction going on at the end of the wing. The grinders started early in the morning and continued well into the night. They certainly got alot done in 1 week !!
I had a rental car and the valet parking was great even though they charge you 30 for the week. When we checked out, the concierge (who was also the desk clerk) asked how the stay was and I mentioned the inconvenience regarding the tub for the first 2 nights and he replied by saying "just fill out the comment card".
In summary, this is not a place for the under 40 crowd and kids. We are 35 and 40 and we were the youngest people there. If you don't want to mingle, want to be left alone to sleep by the pool all day in a daybed, have nobody wait on you, dont mind construction noise and cold water, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonewallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Staff is friendly and helpful (not including sales persons). The water is cold. There are hardly any children's activities. Kitchens are poorly equipped for cooking. Spa is wonderful, as well as spa staff. Location is okay -- quiet and walking distance to San Jose (smaller town). Rooms, although not old, are not well scrubbed (showers). Good place to relax by the pool and sit in the sun, but you MUST AVOID THE TIMESHARE TORTURERS. We were lied to, detained too long for a tour that was supposed to be 90 minutes, lied to, made to feel foolish for having no interest in purchasing, lied to.... After this tour and EXTREMELY AGGRESSIVE SALES PITCH, I needed to relax for many hours to relieve the stress of the experience. Our sales person was JD or Dean (if that was his real name) as there were many, many falsehoods told to us. I would not return because of the parade of sales men all week long. ALSO, AND OF EQUAL IMPORTANCE, THE RESORT IS UNDER CONSTRUCION. Contractors are hauling full size palm trees througout the area, drilling and hammering until 9pm in the evening and starting at 8am every morning (including the weekends). We were not informed about thhe construction prior to our arrival. There are much nicer places to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCTraveler052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The place is amazingly clean with constant maintenance going on. I don't often give a 5 star rating but this one deserves only because of the cleanliness of the resort. The resort is all in white including chairs. None of the grunge or spots that we are used to seeing on out door furniture. They have spotless out-door "beds" with pretty white canopies which again are spotless with white sheets and pillows to lounge on. I never once saw a piece of litter or an out of place stone in the week that we were there. The gardens are lovely and well cared for. The "Urbano" bus for about $.80 goes to San Jose or to the Mega for grocery shopping. The Mega shopping center (located the opposite direction of San Jose) is dirt cheap and the grocery store there is sort of like a Walmart. Loads of fresh fruit and veggies. Next time I would bring along spanish translations of fish names. We bought fillet of soleto cook at the villa for only $2 per lb. If I had known other names, I'd have gotten different fish.The return taxi which you probably need with groceries is $5. We cooked frequently in our villa and it was adequate but no dishwasher so that is the only questionablely cleanliness issue. No teflon pans so eggs etc. stick and are hard to clean. We ended up buying a $8 fry pan at the Mega. It is an easy walk about 5k to San Jose and loads of restaurants on the way to town. Mi Ensalada is the first one as you walk to town and it was okay and was probably best for breakfast. Ponga Antigua down town was also okay and for about $20 usd we got a 4 course lunch. Molly's was okay too. none were special. The worst was the gym with plenty of equipment but the treadmills were all broken in one way or another i.e. the belts were noisey and worn, the fans did not work or the selected programs did not work. There is a very clean onsite laundry which is extra at $4 per load but they give you soap to go along with it. The rooms are very spacious but a bit dated. The showers are certainly not water savers and come out like a fire hose. The staff is plenty friendly and accomodating. They were very prompt when wereported an issue. The grounds are spectacularly clean, spacious and comfortable. No fighting to get a good lounge chair as there are plenty. We were ground floor so our view wasof the pool area and not the Pacific. Maid service is daily which I love. Internet in the room for $. They allowed both my husband and I access with each of our computers on the same tab. If I were to commend this place,it would be on cleanliness. The area is low key and restful rather than noisy and busy like Cabo.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sissy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Things we like about the GM: ambience, staff, deluxe look of pools and poolside furniture, outside landscaping, lobby, units for modern "look". Small amenities, like enough coffee filters, tea towels, dish soap and sponge, disposable razors and toothbrushes, if needed. Wine tasting evening. King size beds and flat screen TV’s (altho’ there is nothing to watch and no TV guide channel.) Cook top functional (already rusting tho’), dishes ok, microwave and toaster. Everyday maid service. Lots of towels to use. Good wireless service. Close to downtown old San Jose del Cabo (walkable) and also the Mega and good restaurants. Fun to watch Mexicans fish right off the shore with their rods (and also one net). Tons of fish.

Things we do not like about the GM: Units are nice to look at but many things are impractical. Furniture uncomfortable to sit at or on. No oven, no dishwasher, no in room (or even same floor) laundry facilities, sinks look good but taps are hard to use and splash everywhere. No plugs for sinks except kitchen. This includes large soaker tub in master br! Shiny black surfaces on counters and tables show all dirt and are hard to keep clean. Granite floor tiles are wearing quickly for new facility. Poor lighting for reading . Balcony is small for sitting because of huge soaker tub – that is probably something people will like or dislike. Gym is small and equipment noisy.
This particular GM is building another building that will block much of the sea view of this resort. Beach is hard to walk and rated too dangerous to swim. Also, the area allows horses to ride on the beach and so there is always the danger of walking in horse[--]. Expensive drinks and food. Laundry service stuck in the basement @ $100 pesos per load!

We appreciated that we did not get time “sharked”. Asked us at the beginning, we declined and did not get any more messages in that regard. Their "viewing" units were on our floor, so we did a little tour on our own. No one bothered us.

Staff are very accommodating. Don't miss the wine tasting evening. Very reasonably priced. We tested 2 whites and 3 reds with accompanying cheeses. The night we went it was Chilean wines, but they do a variety so that if you stay more than a week, you will not repeat the same wines. We didn't use the restaurants there, found many up the street that we enjoyed very much and prices seemed more reasonable than GM.

Overall we enjoyed our one week stay. The GM is about ambience and they have created a nice one here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mile0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Grand Velas Los Cabos
Grand Velas Los Cabos
#1 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
188 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,433 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#2 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing