We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
South America
Level Contributor
733 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, feels like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

I travel quite alot, over 200 cities, many hotels in five continents, from sheraton, to le meridien, hilton, shangri la , the best hotels int he world chain, but not time to write about each one of them
in fact I had to open this new account in tripadvisor to write again about hotels
FIRST , is los cabos a place for you? must be sure if you know what kind of tourist go to los cabos
san jose is a more town, more mexican style, the hotel is real nice, i will post you some pictures to let you have an idea what it looks like
when you arrive the staff is very friendly, and I must say staff overall is more friendly to americans and canadians than to latinos like me,
even though they were nice with me
in a week nobody from the pool bar ever approached me to offer me a drink, only to northamericans
the concierge people are very friendly and helping daniela, jorge, henry , they tell you your name , and are always helping you out
there are timeshare presentations going on all day, and most sellers are from United States, so you feel like you are really in your country, so I am surprised to read some people were dissapointed
the pool is true, is cold, but the is hot in some areas
pool activites could be improved, but they have volleyball, bartending classes, in fact only few people joined, the others are trying to get tanned
you could find nice beds around all property , some with shades and others without shades, so you choose your options, some close to the pool , others in the second floor looking the property
in the night they set up fire so it is a romantic place
breakfast is good, also dinner, they have fajitas on fridays, moonlight dinner, also wine tasting on tuesday i believe, all around 240 to 280 pesos
on fridays during fajitas dinner you can have all you can eat and drink and also some mexican music
you can go walking on fridays and saturday to tropicana , or in a taxi, they have mexican music and flamenco music very nice, between 830 to 11 pm
the beach is true, ALL HOTELS BEACHES ARE EMPTY, not just mayan
in fact other tourists told me good hotels around had constructions going on , like the one next door or the barcelo , well that is what they said
when you arrive they have 2 nice mayan GODS , with music, and then a nice lobby
I had a little room , just for me, other had bigger rooms, my room was nice, with a jacuzzi inside, the room next door had ev en a jacuzzi in the balcony
in my room they put SHAMPOO , SOAP everyday and around 7 to 9 pm they go to undress your bed and place 2 chocolates, I would suggest more chocolates ha ha
you can rent Cars there at the hotel, I did not rent a car
in fact I took the bus , taxis to san lucas are 350 pesos a bus is only 25 pesos
the mega store is 15 minutes waling or take the bus fro 7 pesos , also 2 minutes walking is a little store across the street from the hotel and then to your left , very nice but also inside the hotel you have an store that opens until 9 pm some days and 7 pm on weekends I believe
I am not sure if you want to take the timeshare invitation, most people do it so you get discount on tours and free breakfast valued in 240 pesos , IS UP TO YOU , then you decide if you want to buy or not
the sauna BIO SPA has gym, hair cut place , and free acces to jacuzzi, hot and cold pools , so you stay some minutes in the cold one and then some other minutes in the hot one
in the room, you have plenty of towels, hair dryer, magnification mirrors, shower, jacuzzi, a sofa bead, tv , air conditioner or heat
Most tourist in cabos are retired people
Lets review san lucas, is 35 minutes or 45 in the bus, maybe less in car,
more shops , maybe cheaper in all ways, less exclusive than san jose, more night life, more activities, more discos, and places to party . San Jose overall is mostly to rest, stay on the pool, enjoy good dinners, more privacy
anyway you can go from one city to the other
a taxi to san jose from the airport is 200 pesos, and in san lucas is between 600 to 900 pesos ., so back and forth is from san lucas around 1200 to 1800 pesos only in taxi cab
in mayan if you mail them before arriving they can have a cortesy with you and send a voucher , but have to book and let them know in advance, los cabos hava HUGE FIGHT AMONG shuttle and taxis, is like a battle force never seen before , many interest in the middle, everybody wants to have the right to take the tourist
TAXIS feel the tourist have to take their services instead of those shuttles, so ONLY ALLOW those cortesy if the hotel send a list with the names of the people coming and mail to you a voucher
now is up to you to decide, Also a good thing about mayan is that some mexican hotels are all inclusive, here you do not have to keep on that, food in mexico is cheap ,
and here you can eat at the hotel or not
also the rooms manager noe, is very friendly and the hotel manager, I think he is german is always walking around the hotel, checking the floors, doors, never said hi but he is there ha ha
I am just surprised how a mexican hotel, have a sales department with few mexicans
but well they must know why they do it
If you have problems mail to them and ask for daniela, jorge, henry o noe
and in reception you have angelica, she is very friendly, and will try to help you
I must recognize some people are not that friendly, but well, everybody is different is this world, at least they are not rude ha ha ha

by the way some people stay there many weeks, you will feel like home, of course if your home is as good as this hotel, otherwise not

internet? yes you buy for a whole week 130 pesos per day or 650 per week
you can rent it , and also rent the computers
no free internet
so you can rest some days, the hour is like 50 pesos, so I think is not worthy one hour, better to rent for a day , and the week is too much , you can use your laptop in all areas, I used in the pool, in my bed in the pool, in the lobby, in my room, and in many areas

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VENEZUELANMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    332
    104
    50
    74
See reviews for
315
470
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

The resort is beautiful. We were in a Grand Master Suite (2 bedroom) and is was lovely. The issues were: no coffee (charged fee), no refills of shampoo or lotion, bath supplies, it our kitchen until, there were no paper towels or napkins- so we had to rely on dishtowels. The pool and outdoor jacuzzi's are freezing! The gave us a newsletter, detailing daily activities and resturants however on two different occasions, the resturants were closed and when we brought the printed copy that they provided us to the front desk they pushed us over to the concierge desk who still couldn't do anything - there response was "go to the lobby bar". It can only be happy hour for so long - we were not impressed and before you book or exchange your timeshare vacation into this property, I would read a few different travel sights before your confirm your vacation. The location in horrible, to do any sort of activity you have to take a taxi ride into Cabo San Lucas ($35 USD). For use of the WiFI, is is a weekly charge of $60 USD. At the Grand Mayan, they nickle and dime you until you have NO more. The last comment is, upon check in the push you into listening to a timeshare - DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME! I would not recommed this hotel to any family or friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

The pool is kept at freezing temperature. Not even the jacuzzi style areas are tollerable. The rooms are very nice and include a jacuzzi and a semi-private kids pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBMexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

The property is quite nice but the pools arent heated. The 2 'hot tubs' are warm.
No place for children to swim. You cant swim in he ocean!!!!
Swarming with time share tours. Water activities listed on the 'activity board did not happen because of cold pools.
The food was okay at best. Only 1 resturant was open most days. Thankfully there are family resturants in town (20 min walk or 5 min ride).

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank likeheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at The Grand Mayan, the rooms were the cleanest we've ever been in. The food is a bit of of a rip off in the Hotel but within a 5 minute walk from the Hotel there is a Mega Mart and great restaurants which we frequented.

The rooms also have full kitchens (no oven), if you get a suite. The beach and pools were empty and quiet. The staff was good at times, during the Hurricane, they were a bit pushy and but understandable since they are liable for guests.

All in all the rooms were amazing, up to a North American standard for sure, the pools were very nice (the swim up bar is a big bonus), the beaches were clean and empty (no swimming in the ocean though) but the pool made up for it.

The Spa was a first class facility and definetly worth a visit. Cabo San Lucas about a 20 minute drive away, with a Mall and Deep Sea Fishing there.

Would return, but not during Hurricane Season.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowtown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

We have been to almost all Grand Mayan locations and this is our favourite. The resort is small compared to other locations and is conveniently located within walking distance of town. ( or short $5 taxi ride)
Our suite was a 2 bedroom which was quite lovely. Great view and large balcony. The kitchen seemed well equipped, however, we only ate breakfasts in. We went into town for all other meals so we cannot coment on the quality of food/prices at the resort. Drinks at the resort were a tad pricy averaging 85 pesos .
The suite was very clean with daily maid and turn-down service. Our housekeeper, Lidia, was the best. Although Lidia did not speak much English, she managed to look after all of our needs.

As mentioned in other reviews, we found the pool to be quite cool most days, but went in anyhow then jumped into the large "hot tubs" which are connected to and located in various locations around the pool. One bothersome item - because the pool was cool, the hot tub areas became the " swimming pool" for children and their pool toys.There are numerous hot tub areas and the resort should really designate certain ones as adults only.

There is a long wide beach for walking. There are vendors, but they are not aggessive. On the beach, a few hotels down, there are independent massage tents. At the pink and white one you can get an hour massage for $30. I highly recommend Antonio if you like a strong hard massage.
Best massage I have ever had... actually had 6 in two weeks !

The first week the surf was quite violent and totally too dangerous for swimming. The next week the waves calmed down enough that we were able to swim and body surf in the warm waters. However, the steep slopes and undertow would make it unsafe for children or weak swimmers anytime.

Both the resort and the area are quiet... which we liked. San Jose del Cabo is a charming safe town with numerous excellent restaurants and nice shops. If you like to drink, party or go dancing and like cheap souvenirs, you are better off staying in Los Cabos.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterandJane357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

We own at the Grand Mayan and had not been to the Cabo Grand Mayan before. It is definitely a smaller and more intimate resort than Puerto Vallarta, which we like best so far. We went ahead and did the "tour de victimas" as we call it for the owner update. It is a good way to get the discounts and see what is new with Grand Mayan. We really liked Barbara at the Concierge desk, who was most helpful. Everyone there is very helpful.

The views from the rooms are all spectacular. We discovered that with a lock-off or studio room, the tub is a spa tub with jets. The regular rooms do not have the jets. There is no coffee pot in the lock off or studio so, if coffee is a must in the mornings, you will need to bring something to heat water or do room service. We tried to find a small hot water pot to no avail at the Mega store. We did find an immersion coil at the Mega store, which we don't recommend trying. There is a reason these things are probably banned in the US. The plug melted and the wires started to show. My husband the fixit guy says, "no problem" and reshapes the white molten plastic into a plug. He then wraps a wet wash cloth around it so that it wouldn't get so hot. The plug didn't get so hot but the actual stem to the coil decided to crack right in half, spill a silicate sand substance all over and have arcing exposed wires again. Bottom line, no coffee in the room in a lock off...

We did buy a coupon book for 6 breakfasts which we were able to use for the Sunday Champagne brunch as well as their regular breakfasts. We like to eat a bigger breakfast later in the morning, then skip lunch and eat dinner later. Their buffet breakfast was good with a european style cold cuts/cheese/pastries display, a fresh fruit display that had my favorite, red papaya. They had several unexpected squeezed juices such as watermelon juice which was very good.

Now, to the serious stuff. Despite having been warned by a prior trip advisor posting that the entry way back from the pool into the dark base of the Mayan gods was very dark, I still managed to walk in and right off the walk way into the water, falling on the stones, and twisting my ankle pretty good and scraping up my arm and wrenching my shoulder. SO BE WARNED AGAIN. If you are coming in from the bright day light to the central entry back to the building from the pool area wait until your eyes have fully adjusted and come in single file. My husband was to the right of me and we needed to go to the right to get to our room, so he effectively blocked my view of the one set of lights that I knew lined one side of the walkway. I saw the other set of lights and figured that row of lights was the edge of the walkway and the water was the walkway and stepped right on in. It really was a matter of dark and darker between the black marble walkway and the black water and dark stones and very dim lighting. After the initial embarrassment and figuring I put on a good show for anyone watching, I tried to get up and kept stumbling back in. I had sprained my ankle pretty good but managed to get up. My husband's eyes hadn't adjusted yet to even really make out where I was or how I had landed at first. I couldn't see yet either. I mentioned the whole incident to Barbara at the Concierge desk and she immediately was on the phone to maintenance who moved one of the lights directly to the center of the end of the pathway so that you could see it when you walk in. After that we took the two side entrances back to our rooms. The stairs down from the main lobby to this area at night are also extremely dark.

We never actually made it out to the pools the entire time we were there. It was definitely a little cooler and breezy and the water didn't seem that warm from what we were hearing from people. Some brave souls were gingerly walking along the front pool that has the recessed beds you can lie in and be in the water and look at the ocean and would say, "hey, its warmer here."

They don't recommend that you go in the ocean. The surf was very rough and water was spraying up on the sand. There seems to be a magic line that the craft sales people cannot cross on the beach, so no one approached us to closely to sell us stuff.

Our room had little tiny ants that maintenance couldn't seem to control. I used my bug spray and that seemed to stop them.

The one thing we liked about the ceiling fans in the rooms at Cabo was that they had a reostat switch such that you could have a slow speed or a tornado speed. They don't have this switch at the Grand Mayan in PV.

There is a nice little seating area with a fire pit down near the beach that others had mentioned. We went out there at night when they had the fire started, but soon discovered that they had taken up the seat cushions and pillows. It was very hard sitting to enjoy the fire. They cover this fire pit for the Fiesta that they did on Wednesday night. Others have complained about the music at this resort as being too loud and that was definitely NOT our experience. We could hear the music from the Fiesta one night, which we enjoyed.

At night the pool snack bar is transformed into Berretta's, an upscale dinner restaurant. Hang out in the lobby bar on your first night there and chances are you will get a coupon for a free glass of wine with dinner. The sea bass was delicious and could be prepared a number of different ways. The first night we arrived on Friday was their BBQ theme night in the main dinning area. My husband and I didn't want to spend that kind of money so we opted for the happy hour 2 for 1 drinks in the lobby bar and an hor's d''oeuvre platter for $16. That was very expensive for what we actually got. We were still hungry but still determined to not spend big money for the BBQ. After wandering around and finding nothing else open to eat (Berrettas is not open on theme nights) we ended up back in the lobby bar for a hamburger and nachos. We spent more on two drinks, a snack and the burger and nachos than if we had just gone ahead and gone to the BBQ Buffet theme night. We were exhausted from traveling and didn't want to navigate walking to town for dinner on our first night.

It is definitely a little cooler at night at this resort. Take some long pants and a light jacket. We liked being able to walk most places in town from the resort. The Mega as others have mentioned is about a 20 minute walk. We were able to get a whole broiled chicken, tortillas and guacamole for dinner for under $8. A bargain. The suicide immersion coil was $5. They had other prepared food that was reasonably priced, as well as a bakery for fresh pastry and rolls. You can get a complete meal there for not much money if you like the walk.

We ate one night at Habaneros that others had recommended and were not that impressed. I had a mojito and it was very tasty. We opted for the seafood platter for two for $59 US. It was overpriced and not that much food for two hungry people. Our Victima tour guide had recommended the Chocolate Ice Cream Cake there, and that was really good. Our dinner for two with two drinks, dinner and one dessert and tip was almost $100US. Not cheap by US or Mexico standards.

We took the Collectivo from a nearby resort to Cabo San Lucas for one day and the price was $15 US per person round trip. It runs every two hours each direction. It stops right at the Dolphin adventure if you are planning to do that.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,313 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing