We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just completed a one week stay in this resort. Resort is just in front of the beach. Resort is extremely neat with cleaning crews around the clock cleaning the surroundings. Two time maid service. High pressure for timeshare presentation. Daily activities to keep you busy over the summer. Kitchen has enough utensils to cook a meal. There is no dishwasher and there is no washer/dryer in the unit. They have a breakfast buffet which is good and not excellent.. the standard stuff. They have a Peri Q restaurant where they serve a special lunch from 11am to 5.45 where you can choose two items from an appetizer, a main dish or a 3 sampler cakes just for only 201 pesos. I had that at 3 times during the stay. They have an happy hour almost every hour at different places where drinks are half price.
There is a store nearby - Mega. If you exit the resort, take left,walk may be around 10 minutes and then take a right.. walk may be around 5 minutes and you will see Mega(letters in green) to your left.
They give you a free shuttle service from airport to the resort. On your way back you need to pay $25 for the taxi service. All the places take USD but they return the change in pesos, thus resulting in a little loss. An example is the ice cream store next to the Mega store don't take credit card but only cash.
The only thing that I didn't like about the resort is the lady that checked us in. After a delayed flight you would expect some one to greet you with a smile. I always felt that she looked at her guests as if she was doing a favor. All other staff is excellent - the bell boy, the pool guys, the maids.. When you check in they also put a hold of about 470 USD on your credit card. Other than the attitude of the lady who checked us in, everything else was great.
Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmbikaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear AmbikaRaj:

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan.

Your comments are always welcomed. Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation.

We truly appreciate your preference and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    301
    97
    47
    69
See reviews for
292
422
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came here with 2 other families who also have small children. There are 7 adults and 5 children (age 2 to 8) in our group and everyone had a blast here. Each family had an one bedroom suite with full size kitchen, living room, bedroom, and balcony. All the rooms in this resort are ocean view. We are Grand Mayan owners and this would be our 6th time staying at Grand Mayan, I have nothing but good things to say about this resort. Out of all the Grand Mayans, the Los Cabos one is the smallest one and the quietest one. Maybe July is slow season, I never had problems finding empty beds and lounge chairs by the pool. The ground and the pool were kept spotless everyday. Workers were in the pool every morning cleaning. Waiters were so friendly and always asking us if we needed anything. We came here with 2 young children to relax and we got exactly what we wished for. The activities were limited to water aerobics, beach volleyball and some card games during the day. We spent most of our time swimming in the pool and relaxing. If you want to stay at a noisy resort with kids running around and splashing water everywhere, or loud music blasting the entire day, this is not the resort for you.

There were 2 restaurants in the resort, Grand Cafe which serves breakfast till 12:30 and Peri Q that serves lunch and dinner. Food were delicious and pricy. I'm not bothered by that because we saved money by having breakfast and lunch in our room everyday. We splurged on dinner and drinks. There were happy hour from 12-4 everyday but at different locations.

I had massage in the spa and the experience was incredible. Their manicure and pedicure price was reasonable also.

We booked several excursions through the hotel travel agents. We later found cheaper ones that were sold in the Mega supermarket. Next time, we will book the excursions outside of the resort.

Once again we were very pleased with our stay at Grand Mayan Los Cabos. We have attended their timeshare presentation in the past and said No to the presentation many times also. To respond to some reviewers negative reviews based on the timeshare presentation: If you are not interested in buying timeshare, just say no to the presentation. If you want their perks but don't want to buy, expect to sit through the presentation for at least 2 hours. Don't walk away with hundreds of dollars of gifts and perks and complain about how the sales won't let you go at the end of the 90 mins. Just think to yourself, is an entire morning of your vacation time worth a few hundred dollars? If yes, then don't attend the presentation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chrizNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear chrizNYC :

Thank you very much for providing your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We are pleased to learn you had a wonderful vacation, that you enjoyed our food options, the pools and grounds.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are always happy to find out we have achieved this. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

First let me say that you have to know you're going to a resort that makes its money by selling shares of its property. I don't own a Grand Mayan timeshare, but I do own one and exchanged time to stay here. We were asked to participate in the "welcoming breakfast" at check-in and two more times through phone calls later in the week. It was not a huge inconvenience. I just said no politely and they were polite back. I appreciated that. The lobby staff were super welcoming, always with smiles and greetings. Shoutout to Mayra, Gerardo, and Humberto in the lobby. Also, we appreciate the kindness of Julio the bellman and Araceli at Jade/Punta Sur.

Now to the resort:
We stayed in the 2bd unit. It was very comfortable. Couches, beds, bathrooms, dining table, TVs, and kitchen were great. The balcony was especially nice. Great view of the resort grounds and the ocean. The private cooling pool on the balcony was a luxury and a great way to relax after being in the pools. We had lounge chairs, chairs, and small tables to enjoy eating out there as well.

The pools and grounds were beautiful. Everyday the grounds were being manicured. Every morning and throughout the day staff were cleaning the pools; scooping up debris from the foliage, scrubbing the tiles, and cleaning up after guests that couldn't take the time to pick up after themselves. The many cabanas and loungers were plentiful and provided sufficient shade from the summer sun.

The restaurants were excellent. Really great food, lots of variety, decent sized portions, great service. All food at and around the pool was from the PeriQ kitchen including eating at the swim up bar. The bartenders and pool servers were friendly and fun. Shoutout to Gilberto! Il Forno di Gio was wonderful. A pleasant surprise offsite from the resort. The free shuttle to and from allowed for a scenic drive through the local neighborhood. The Grand Buffet was amazing. So much variety. So tasty.

The pool activities were simple, but fun. Daily water aerobics, water volleyball, blackjack, bingo, and other activities were made especially fun by Adriana and Tony. Great heart for the kids.

We went off site for a few restaurants within walking distance. All were at least 4/5: Habaneros, Ten TuTaco, Spicy Tuna, Rock & Brews, Gelateria, and Gloria Jeans Coffee (free wifi). We walked to Mega (like Walmart), and caught a taxi back to the resort, $7. There was a McDonalds and a Starbucks (free wifi).

So with all this love for the resort, why only 4/5 stars? Little things that could definitely be improved. Paint in the units shows that it was rushed and not very carefully done. Cooking supplies in the kitchen were good but not great. The pools were too warm. In the height of summer heat, the pool temp often felt like a bathtub, however, some
of the side pools were cooler. The Brio spa was nice, but the daily fee to use the gym equipment was unnecessary.

Lastly, no DVD players. A week in Mexico with limited English-language channels is rough for kids and parents. They said they were removed because it was too costly to maintain them. So, we bought one at Mega for $23. It was multi-regional, so playing the DVDs we brought from home worked great.

Like I stated, best rest ever. Sleeping in. Late night DVDs. Eating great food. Daily maid service and turndown service. Awesome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank Spaek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Spaek68 :

We are grateful for your taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at The Grand Mayan. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets. It will be our privilege to share it with them, specifically the staff mentioned; we are certain they will be happy to receive it. We are glad to learn as well that you liked our food options, grounds, pools and spa services.

Our primary goal is to ensure you are able to relax during your much deserved vacation, and we are pleased to learn we achieved this goal by reading your comment.

We will be delighted to welcome you back!

Happily,


The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The resort is beautiful and the staff are very nice. We had a 2 bedroom room that was one of the largest rooms we have had compared to other resorts. The restaurant near the pool was very good and went into town almost every night. San Jose is very nice and offers several good dining options! Only complaint was the time share presentation. We have sat through these in the past, the incentives offered have been the reason for us to attend. However this presentation was horrible. Very high pressure sales tactics and forget the 90 minutes, its more like 2 1/2 hours of telling them no and trying to get out! Its not worth it! Pay full price for the activities, you will be much happier!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After a pleasant cab ride from Cabo Sam Lucas, we arrived at the GM on May 23 in the early afternoon. Check in went smoothly. Through tour stay we stopped at the front desk for change or area information. Lucia always took great care of us and we.

Do yourself a favor, don't sign up for the TS breakfast. Rudest salesperson I ever had anywhere!

We got a 3rd floor 1br suite in the West wing which provided our balcony with afternoon shade. Great room as all the GM's are. Their 1br suite had a dual sink vanity plus a bar sink in the hall between the bath & kitchen. I get the hall sink! During check in we purchased a meal plan of 6 breakfast & 6 lunch or dinners. Being our first time to SJDC we didn't want to spend all week figuring out the local restaurant scene. That would have cut into the much wanted relaxing by the pool time. We did enjoy the breakfast buffet, but it was pricy. We could have eaten just as well at restaurants within easy walking distance. Next time we won't get the meal plan.

The first evening we had dinner at the poolside restaurant then walked to the Mega store, 20 min away but we r casual walkers. Got snacks & some breakfast items & took the $60 Peso cab back to the GM. We ate dinner poolside another time. Ordered the surf & turf. Lobster was just barely cooked, almost undercooked, & tough. Steak was a very small portion even for MX. Bad dinner experience. The food only, wait staff was very nice.

Poolside during the day was different. All the wait staff were pleasant, but Eric is the best! 4 stars for Eric. Eric is a soft spoken, very mannerly, and learns what you like. Soon I only had to raise up my hand to get my first order of the day, 2 Modelo Especials w 2 limos ea. and a lemonada for the wife. His service area changes daily so be sure to ask him where he will be the next day!

We learned that the historic town center is a 20 walk away. There is a several block area around the plaza full of shops, eateries, & art galleries. But I digress! This is a report on the GM.

The beach is 2 miles long and of course the resort has it's don't swim sign up. We walked the beach every day. If you watch the surface of the water as each wave recedes, you will figure out where the rip tides are located. That changes everyday. While we were there the waves broke at 3' high and I was able to easily wade it to waist high. Other travelers braved deeper water with great success & fun on their boogie boards. So go get in, but be smart about where you get in at. Larger waves would have produced stronger rip tides.

And the beach venders! They were not out in force. They were respectful when you waved them off, and fun to bargain with when you wanted to buy. I bought a pair of those parachute men for my grandsons. Price? You'll have to bargain for yourself!

Overall this is a great resort. Great rooms, all with views, higher floors are our preference, great housekeeping and wait staff. And they work hard for your tips. Within walking distance to many shops & restaurants.

The wifi here is terrible. I would not get it again unless they have upgraded their equipment or you absolutely must have it. Signal strength is generally weak. Uploading pictures to an online e-mail account it impossible. Connecting to e-mail just to read text was very time consuming!
Hope this helps you in making your travel decision. Happy to reply to any questions you send me via PM.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room in the center or west wings to have a shady balcony in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOldSalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed with a friend who has a timeshare. They want everyone to waste their vacation on the timeshare pitch. There is nothing to do at the resort. Only 2 restaurants on property, one which closes at 12:30. They have an offsite restaurant and golf course. One person in our party was eaten by mosquitos at the offsite restaurant. The slowest bartenders I've ever seen. It takes a good 30 minutes to get 1 drink. Don't know what the maids do but we ran out of toilet paper and had to call for some in the middle of the night. The little pools outside our room were mosquito breading grounds. The activities schedule is worthless. Don't believe what is printed on it or the fliers. Two papers said the same event was at different times. One said you get a discount if you pay in advance but there is no such discount according to the front desk. Don't get your hopes up about an event because it will be something else in the time slot. The tequila and wine tasting is only tequila tasting. Don't count on anyone knowing the answers as everyone passes the buck to someone else and no one knows the answer to your question. For example, asking the concierge if there is a voucher for the return ride to the airport gets you passed to reception who passes you to the travel agency, who tells you vouchers are only for those who attend the sales presentation. And, like another reviewer, our maid also left our door open such that it alerted security who tracked us down to ask if we knew if someone was in our room. The maid also left the sliding glass doors open, which we kept closed to deter mosquitos, which even the bell hop warned us were really bad and to not leave the doors open. We were told numerous times the resort was overbooked, yet it looked like a ghost town the entire week with no more than a couple dozen people at the pool at any given time. The hotel sits on a non swimmable beach with treacherous undertow. And the only weekly event is a poorly done fiesta with less than stellar food, the only peek being an open bar for $40USD. I would not stay here again and am leery to stay at any of their resorts. The location is also poor as there are limited options close.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Grand Mayan is a beautiful hotel! The staff were incredible, food delicious and pools amazing. The Mixology, Yoga and Black Jack classes were great fun too around the pool. Don't get the terrible hotel internet, the cafe and organic restaurant have free internet across the street. The city bus goes to San Jose for $1 directly from the hotel or to Cabos San Lucas for $3 from the Mega store though both ways is a nice walk. The only thing I didn't like at the hotel was the Fiesta buffet dinner ($40 where the food wasn't the quality of their menu food and drinks were watered down though they were delicious poolside).
The location is in San Jose which has an older, more relaxed crowd. The shopping in San Jose was much better without so many people yelling to get you in their business. All the big fun is in Cabo San Lucas and worth the trips into town, but it felt much safer to stay in San Jose.

Room Tip: We were in a first floor suite with a dipping pool. The room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,403 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
#17 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,959 reviews
3.1 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#2 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing