We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice but has limited hotel amenities,very pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
calgary,canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very nice but has limited hotel amenities,very pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

this is a small scale resort compared to the other mayan palaces,very limited restaurants,in fact the main was closed night,leaving you the only option to go to the snack bar by the pool,"RIDICULOUS",everybody goes into town at night for dinner which is across the street from the resort,some better deals are had there than spending your money at the resort,the pool area is very nice,nice beach,but not suitable for swimming due to unpredictable surf,very quiet resort if you just want to chill and kick back,the rooms are also very nice and deco comtemporary

Room Tip: ocean view or pool area facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack123156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    332
    104
    50
    74
See reviews for
315
470
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Got a deal through RCI for a week at the Grand Mayan in Los Cabos. Now we know why. The entire resort is in existence to sell time shares. The resort has a nice layout with the rooms facing the pools and the gulf but the only restaurant in the place is at the pool except for a breakfast buffet that caters primarily to time share sales. Two large spaces in the hotel which could be nice restaurants are devoted to time share sales. Luckily, the town of San Jose is a short walk or $5 cab ride away with great restaurants. We found the wait staff around the pool to be friendly and accomidating but inside the hotel was a time share feeding frenzy. I understand the outside pools not being heated but even the tubs in the spa were cold. As we were not owners we had a studio room with not even a coffee pot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BertnPatti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

In late April, we stayed at the Grand Mayan Los Cabos for the third time. Once again, we had a wonderful relaxing vacation at this location, the smallest of all the Mayan resorts. It is certainly our favorite among all of the Grand Mayan resort locations in Mexico. The staff couldnt be nicer and more helpful. The location, about a mile or so from the downtown square of Cabo San Jose is within walking distance (or a cheap taxi ride) of several really good restaurants for lunch or dinner. We ate out every day and only used the PeriQ restaurant (good) the day we were leaving. The pool area is very nice, and finding a place to lounge is much easier than the other larger Mayan locations. The happy hours around the pool are great and the pool service was excellent. We also always did the evening happy hour at the Lounge Bar and the views of the ocean at sunset are most enjoyable. The Lounge bartender (who also brought you your drinks) was outstanding with his friendly service. The grounds are always amazingly clean and our nicely furnished room had a great view of the pool and ocean area. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Upper floors have the better views and dont get a room anywhere close to where they hold the weekly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
378 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

They have addressed the complaints about the pool temp's and timeshare problems. The water in the pools is now heated. We only got one phone call about the timeshare offer,said no and we were never bothered again. There are two other issues that need attention that I will mention later.
The entry to the hotel is impressive with the darkened Mayan chamber with the lights and water. Then you enter the lobby which doesn't quite match the Mayan theme with chandeliers and oil lamp. Needs some updating.
We had a one bedroom which was nicely furnished and very larger,like a one bedroom apartment with full kitchen. Nice balcony with loungers and ocean view.
We didn't eat at the buffet,$20. plus dollars or try their a la cart menu at the breakfast restaurant because we thought their prices where high. We saw a lot of the Grand Mayan guest having breakfast across the road at the Mall where there are a couple of good inexpensive places for breakfast.
We did a few meals poolside and at the Peri Q restaurant next to the pool. They had some good lunch and dinner choices that where good and reasonable.
The best part of the Grand Mayan is their employees. We only had one bad experience at check in at the front desk. After that everyone was outstanding,from the bellhops,maids,waiters.
Two that stand out are Vincente V. at the pool towel stand. He went out of his way to help us when we were waiting to get into our room. The award for best Ambassador to the Grand Mayan goes to Edgar, the poolside waiter. Hardworking,friendly,funny. He remembered our names and room number after we were there just one day.
Things the Mayan need to improve...The Mexican Fiesta was more like a beach bar scene you find on Medano beach. Gringo's dancing on stage with flashlights between there legs...need I say more. Low turnout and people leaving early. Spend some money and get in some good traditional Mexican entertainment.
The Towel Game. Even thought it is slow season now it was sometimes hard to find a place around the pool. Many early riser putting out towels before 8 a.m. and many not returning until hours later. We watched one group of nine occupy nine loungers, and then put out nine more towels on other poolside loungers and three daybeds. Many people couldn't find places because of this problem. I know it's hard to enforce but there has to be a way to solve this problem...maybe towels cards where people get one towel and then they have to pay for the extras.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mogcambomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was our second stay at the Grand Mayan, the first was shortly after the resort opened. As some people have mentioned in other reviews the property is showing some signs of wear. The Grand Mayan used to have lounge chairs on the balcony, but this time most people had uncomfortable chairs, we asked for some lounge chairs after seeing that some people had them but we were told by the only rude person we came across at the Grand Mayan that they didn't have any. Funny because there was a bunch of lounge chairs on the sun-deck that no one ever used. The room was clean when we arrived and was nicely cleaned every time we had service, the only complaint was we never got any towel animals which is always fun to come back to. They don't drain the dipping pools nightly any more, we had our drained once because some of the adhesive from where the tiles came off broke off the pool surface and was floating in the dipping pool. The dipping pool was not a hit on this trip as it was the first. We also had an issues with the a/c turning on and off due to the balcony sensor, the room still stayed very cold. Oh well.......glass is half full..... we are on vacation....we made the best of it and decided not to focus on a few negative things and enjoy our time in San Jose del Cabo and the Grand Mayan. We were on the side of the Grand Mayan where the open lot is with the horses. We loved every morning walking out our room to see the horses and the cute little chihuahua named Coyote. I convinced my husband to book an hour long ride down the beach, he had never been on a horse before. We booked our hour with Manuel and he met us in front of the Grand Mayan. What an amazing time we had!!!! He takes you down the beach towards East Cape so you can see another view of the estuary. We had a blast and will go horseback riding every time we visit San Jose del Cabo again. The food at the Grand Mayan was delicious, especially the chicken fajitas. We also enjoyed Happy Hour, buy one get one free Coronas in an ice bucket. Everyone at the Grand Mayan, except one front desk person, was super friendly and welcoming. We were celebrating my birthday while at the Grand Mayan and the concierge had a piece of cheesecake delivered to the room with a special birthday note.....so thoughtful. He also made a few reservations for us and provided us with a print-out of the reservation information. During the check-in process and getting our wristbands were were asked to do the timeshare presentation (we were offered all kinds of discounts to attend), we declined and were never asked again. We paid for wi-fi for the week and only had connection issues if trying to use the wi-fi away from the windows, if we were sitting on the couches or in bed it worked just fine....worked great by the pool, but not by the beach. We had a wonderful trip to the Grand Mayan and San Jose del Cabo and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieInAZ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is the best resort we have stayed in (and we've been to many).
We pre-arranged the free shuttle, which avoided the timeshare salesmen at the airport, although I didn't find them too annoying once they knew you had a ride.
There is a definite wow factor when you arrive at the resort, from the impressive entry to the welcoming reception area.
The staff were very friendly and even though they tried to get us to attend a timeshare presentation, they were fine when we declined.
The unit was just beautiful. Very spacious with everything you could want. We had a great location. Even though it was on the ground floor, we had good access to everything.
The pool areas were just beautiful and very clean and well maintained.
The happy hours at the pool bar were great and it gave a good chance to meet other guests.
The food at the poolside cafe and Resort run Italian restaurant were also very good with reasonable prices.
We went on the sunset tour in Cabos San Lucas and would recommend it as a must during your stay. We suggest you book on line for the best deals. We loved this town and would have liked to spend more time there.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday at this Resort and would gladly return.
Forgot to mention the weather was perfect every day!

Room Tip: We don't think you could really get a bad room, although near the lifts might be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding, and are not part of the time share. We arrived and entered the building. The entrance really is awesome, something you just have to see to appreciate, and the lobby was well appointed. We began the check in procedure and immediately the front desk had issues because I had prepaid the room. It took a couple minutes for them to figure out how to deal with this, and I'm not really sure why. We went straight to our room after about 10 minutes at the front desk and luckily bypassed the sales pitch because we were in a hurry to get somewhere.
Our room was a standard King, and was situated on the fifth floor. We were lucky enough to be almost centered in the resort, so our room looked across the pools, straight out onto the ocean. The room was VERY clean, and everything was actually in great shape. The pool and courtyard area were beautiful and very well taken care of. A big problem with our room was the noise. There was a door that connected our room to the one next door. Apparently the door led to the other room's kitchen because you could hear every time they turned on the microwave, or got silverware. It was so bad that we could even hear the spoon hitting the sides of a mug when they were apparently stirring their coffee of tea. We could also hear every conversation like they were in the room with us. This was annoying to say the least. The cleaning staff really did a great job, and I was impressed with their work, and we did get one large bottle of water included in the room, but after that you must pay for it.
The prices of drinks at the hotel are pretty high unless you get them during happy hour. Now, this is understandable because you are being gouged as a tourist, but they mix the drinks unbelievably weak..... I don't even drink much, but 3 margaritas did nothing to me. I don't mind paying for drinks, but when I'm paying that much, I expect more. The prices at the resort are pretty high for food, and your bill will include a 15% tip, with an option for more.
I was actually disappointed with the service. It took a long time to get our food and drinks every time, and if you did not specifically ask for your bill, you won't get it.
We used the fitness center, and it was one of the nicer ones I've used. I was impressed with this.
The check out process, which I was told would take 5 minutes, took almost 40 minutes. They tried to charge me for the room again, which as I had stated before was prepaid. I had the receipt for the payment, and it was still confusing to them. I had to wait for what appeared to be a manager to bring their copy of the receipt. After that was settled, I was informed that my prepaid rate did not include taxes, which was not previously explained to me. So, beware..... if you prepay, you are still going to owe room taxes at the end of your stay. By the end of the check out, I was completely over the hotel in general. It just left a bad taste in my mouth.
I cannot say that I would stay here again. First off, I will not buy into a time share. Especially one that would charge so much for food and drinks when you are already paying your time share fees. Secondly, I would expect much better service for a resort of this type. Third, the noise in the room was just too much. I've never been able to hear the room next door so clearly. Finally, the check in and check out procedures were a nightmare. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AA7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#19 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing