We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average in every way, and the very low end of 4-star category”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Average in every way, and the very low end of 4-star category”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

1stly, we are very familiar with Cabo (this was our 4th trip) and have stayed at timeshare accommodations before


overall, i would say that there are better options & this hotel is very, very average


Pros:
- hotel is on the beach
- staff is pleasant and seems to try hard
- despite what others say, the timeshare salespeople do not harass you ... they called, i said NO and that was that (those who complain must be susceptible to jedi mind tricks)


Cons:
- hotel has a relatively small amount of beach front, and built in a "U" formation with a massive swimming pool in the middle ... rooms in the middle are far from the beach & low floors have obstructed views ... which brings me to my next point
- they do not honor rooms assignments ... i called twice in advance to request a room on a higher floor & near to the water & though i called after rooms assignments were made & told i would be accommodated, this was not the case (front desk guys told me they gave my room away to accommodate another guest)
- wifi is terrible ... if you need to do some work while on vaca, it is a challenge



Final thing i'd say is that this was our 1st time staying on San Jose side, and we loved it ... art district in San Jose is phenomenal, as well as restaurant options

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DQC_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    335
    109
    52
    75
See reviews for
321
474
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during his birthday trip to Cabo. The staff is wonderful - we especially enjoyed our bellman Senan and Dulce at the pool restaurant. The reviews are right about the food. It's very good, but expensive, Thankfully, there is a small shopping strip within walking distance across the street with other food options (and great fish tacos). The drinks at the Grand Mayan are also expensive (and weak!). There is a happy hour - but note that it's only available when you order from the swim-up pool bar (not the restaurant). I highly suggest paying the $40 for the all-inclusive Mexican night. It's an all-inclusive buffet, a great show with music and dancnig and a good chance to meet more people on the resort. If you get a room with a kitchen be sure to go to the Mega (again, in walking distance) to stock up on food - you'll save a lot of $ this way, plus it's just plain fun shopping at the Mega, which has everything you can need while on vacation, including liquor (and paper plates/cups, etc) if you wind up in a room without a full kitchen. We enjoyed the water aerobics but didn't do many of the other activities. The gym is very nice/modern and clean with TVs and internet in the equipment. The pool and grounds are GORG so leave time for a "pool day" or two. They are currently doing construction IN FRONT of the resort (widening the street?) but we did not hear any noise. This particular resort is also a great choice because it is the last resort on the "block", placing you closer on the intersecting street that leads to Old Town San Jose that has art galleries, small restaurants and shops. Thursdays are the ArtWalk in San Jose del Cabo. You can literally walk from the hotel to the shops, grab dinner and make a night of it. Regarding getting around from San Jose del Cabo to Cabo San Lucas, there are 3 options: take the shuttle (which I suggest!), get a cab (more expensive than the shuttle), or take the bus (the cheapest option) The only catch with the bus is that it takes a long time to get from the resort to Cabo because it stops so frequently and you'll never find the bus stop if you don't know what you're looking for. (TIP: the bus stop is directly across from the Mega at the mouth of a gated dirt road - there is NO sign!) We found that the locals are very helpful and friendly and most speak good English to help you find your way. We only ran into the contrary when we went to see the Hunger Games at the movies at the mall at Cabo - the girl behind the counter did not speak ANY English. The Grand Mayan does have the timeshare folks who try to get you to come to their "free breakfast". We declined, they later called us in the morning to invite us again to the breakfast - and after being very clear that we did not want to be called or asked about it further, we were left alone. Overall, we had a truly great time here. Cabo is definitely a slower pace and we noticed that most of the people there were mid-late in age - no young families or teens running around - so it was very quiet and relaxing. We were told when we checked in that the resort was booked 100% but we doubted it. There was hardly anyone at the pool. regarding November weather - it was perfect! No storms, just cloudy one day - but we still enjoyed the pool. This was a great choice - and we plan to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchen and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank See_Chris_jetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

First of all, the resort is beautiful. Definitely one of the fanciest looking places I've ever stayed Very clean and visually stunning. The units are very high-end. That wasn't the issue. First, the pool was really cold. Why they don't heat it, I don't know. We weren't the only disappointed ones in this regard. Food was only okay, not up to snuff for such a fancy looking place. Service was very slow. Also, just didn't feel welcoming and inviting, seemed a little elitist overall. Not a terrible walk to town.

I should add that we've decided we're more "Cabo" folks than San Jose del Cabo. But my review is relating only to the resort experience itself.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank_wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Mayan over Thanksgiving. My sister had booked it through a vacation club she belongs to. There were 7 of us and we had a great time. We never got asked once to see their time share presentation. We swam in the ocean every day. We had to walk down the beach a ways because the resort had black flags out all the time but there were red flags down at the other resorts. We played in the waves and made sure we could always touch bottom to keep from being pulled out by the undertow. Other times we laid by and swam in the pool. Edgar was our pool guy and he got us sandwiches, drinks, chairs, whatever we needed. He was great. Prices are a little high but the food was great. Service was top notch. Only small issue with the poolside entertainment guy. He kept making bets with my college age nephew and his friend and when they would win he would change the deal and not give them what they had won. Mainly cervezas. This was my first time to Mexico and though had a great time at the resort, did not like the "Mexican" experience. But would stay here again if I ever come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floyd E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is an awesome resort located within a 20 minute walking distance to San Jose Del Cabo where you can experience the old world ambience, with quaint restaurants, boutiques, and a great art district. Don't miss the Thursday night art walk where artist's display their art, share wine and appetizers while viewing wonderful art galleries. The hotel ambience is beautiful, with large luxurious rooms, we enjoyed the Honeymoon suite. We had a nice private wading pool on our deck, and the view from our room was stunning. Also, walks on the beach are a must. The beach is beautiful, and very clean. You can walk for miles with very few people. The hotel staff is very accommodating, everyone is extremely friendly, truly interested in making your stay as pleasurable as they can. Romel the concierge hooked us up with some great restaurants, a great tennis match with the tennis pro. Humberto and Marco at the front desk talked with us daily about our travels in Cabo. The restaurants in the resort are excellent, fish tacos are very good, and the breakfast buffet is also delicious. The recreation pool staff Tony and Kevin are really fun guys. We made only one mistake on our trip, and that was the Grand Mayan timeshare presentation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tennispro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about this resort exchange having read some of the negative reviews, but were more than pleasantly surprised. When reading reviews, I guess one has to wonder about the expectations of the reviewers, their personalities, and how they treated the staff. We found that being friendly and polite had a wonderfully positive response. Most of the staff knew us by our names within the first 2 days, and we had a great time trying out our limited Spanish with them. They were always very helpful.

There was no real pressure to do the time-share presentation. We simply told them we were not interested. The resort is lovely and quiet; I would say most of the guests were over 50 so it was not a "party" setting and there were few children. Our room was clean and spacious and all rooms have ocean views and balconies. It took 2 requests to get a refrigerator, but we did get one.

Grand Mayan really knows how to do pools! If you are a swimmer you will love them -- 50 yards wide and hardly anyone in them. It was convenient to be so close to the airport. We have been in Cabo san Lucas twice, and the time saved driving was really a plus. The town is close by and if you're there on a Thursday, enjoy the Art Walk when all galleries are open. There are great restaurants as well -- such fresh produce and seafood! The proprietors of the stores are not as pushy as in many other towns.

Normally we like to try out different resorts, but we will probably return to this Grand Mayan.

Room Tip: Try to be on the north side of the pools; there is a restaurant on the south side and it can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanLafayette_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Cabo San Lucas 5 times, but this is our first time staying in San Jose Del Cabo. The Grand Mayan is an awesome property. The room was great with a small plunge pool on our balcony which was huge. Nice view from our room. The resort was very quiet. Service at the hotel was outstanding. Loved staying in San Jose too which was a much slower pace. Hope to return next year.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VTHOKIEFAN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing