We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful pool, but UGLY lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I went to Cabo last year and stayed at the Grand Mayan in San Jose de Cabo for one week (the other week at the Grand Solmar in Cabo San Lucas). What stuck me when I first walked in was how gaudy the place was. The lobby is just horrible and they tout it as luxurious, come on, who ever decorated the lobby sure hit the mark. But I must say that once we checked in and got to our rooms I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were nice, the pool area spectacular and the rest of the hotel very nice. So don't be apprehensive when you walk into the Lobby, while they missed on the lobby, the rest of the hotel is quite nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Allison H :

We are always grateful that our guests take time to share their vacation experiences at The Grand Mayan. We are happy you enjoyed our accommodations and our spectacular pools.

On the other hand, we are surprised to learn we were unable to meet all your expectations. We will take note of your observation.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We are timeshare holders for another resort in Cabo San Lucas and truly appreciate it after our stay at the Grand Mayan. First time we ever got a room without a refrigerator or microwave. We did ask management for a refrigerator and it was delivered within 2 hours. Breakfast buffet is great and expensive. The rest of the meals are served outside by the pool. The food and service is very good but pricey. A burger will cost $15 USD and drinks are $10 USD. The staff are very helpful. We were asked to attend the timeshare presentation and we advise we have one in Cabo San Lucas and are not interested in a change. Advised we have limited time, lots to do during our visit and did not plan for a long presentation on a resort we only want to visit. The bus stops in front of the resort and for 10 pesos per trip you can go to the Art
District. We took it to the Mega several times. Free wi-fi at Starbucks in the Mega shopping center and several fast food locations. Do not bother to take trip to Walmart -- Mega is so much nicer. Beware of any one asking to help you find something in the Mega -- if they speak English / they are most likely timeshare representatives. Gloria Jeans offers free wi-fi. Restaurants across the street are good and reasonable in price. Take advantage of the bus and you will be rewarded with great places to eat away from the resort. NOTE - bus stops running at 8:30 pm. It is a nice resort. We realize our timeshare in San Lucas has much more amenities and many more restaurants to choose from at the resort with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMontange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear DMontange:

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan. We are happy you enjoyed our food options and really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets.

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide you everything that you need to make the most of your vacation.We would like to point out as well that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

We are grateful for your feedback.

Warmest regards,
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I are Grand Mayan owners and this is our 5th visit using the Grand Mayan but our first time at the San Jose del Cabo location. As with all the Grand Mayan hotels, they are quite lovely and make a statement with their grand entrance to the hotel. Us, like most everyone else, got hit up for a timeshare presentation just before exiting the airport. Seasoned travelers to Mexico, we typically would not bite but the offer to go to Bonita Sunset with the perks was pretty good and we did want to see a 5 DIAMOND resort just to compare to the Grand Mayan. It took a good bit of time for our complimentary transfer to leave and get us to TGMP, but we eventually arrived. It is Mexico, so you do get used to the "waiting."

Previous to arriving, I had requested a room on the 5th floor or above on the east wing. Our rooms were ready prior to the stated check in time and we were excited to get to the pool and beach area after a long trip from Washington, D.C. After checking in, we were sent over to get our wrist bands and the gal there tried to get us to go to the breakfast to "see the grounds and improvements" but we weren't biting. After my husband was firm that we were not interested, she backed off and no one at the resort ever attempted to get us to go a presentation again. We did however, get hit on at the Mega 3xx and once on the walk there from the hotel. They were polite though and not pushy.

We loved the hotel and the size of our master suite but we did encounter some issues with the room. Initially, we were assigned to room(s) 524/525. Once in there, I noticed that there was no A/C in one of the bedrooms and 2 of the 3 phones not working. We called the reception area and they immediately sent up a maintenance man (no English) to attempt to open up the vent. After a 1/2 hour, it appeared that the A/C unit in this room just didn't work....but then I went into the bathroom and found the toilet seat broken and and worst of all, obvious mold on the ceiling in the bathroom that they tried to cover up. I called up the concierge's desk, discussed the issues and requested we be moved to a different room. They sent up Jesus (who is a great guy) to move us. No sincere apology for the inconvenience of having to re-pack our clothes, etc. If it was a hotel I managed, I would have sent up a complimentary bottle of wine or a voucher for a round of drinks or something. Mexico, especially San Jose del Cabo is no longer the inexpensive place to travel that it once was. So, if you are going to play with the "big boys," you need to do what is right for people when you make mistakes and cause people to be inconvenienced from no fault of theirs. Inexpensive gestures go a long way to "erase" the problem and turn things around.

Aside from VERY expensive drinks ranging from $6.00/single to $12.00/double (and that's half price on happy hour) and VERY slow service from the waiters, we really enjoyed ourselves. Yes, it was disappointing that we couldn't go into the ocean but that is generally the case at most of resorts in the Cabo area and they are only trying to protect you from the severe under toe. We did spend a lot of time in the luscious pool though....but why wasn't the pool bar open at all during the week?

What I was very disturbed about though was finding out that another couple was placed in same room that we initially given....the one with no A/C, phones not working and mold just about 2 hours after we were moved from there. People meet at the pool and they talk. Those folks were upset too and asked for a new room but were told the hotel was full. That had to be a bold faced lie since it was obvious the hotel was slow due to it being off season. To upper management - why would you do this....do you want people to return?

Overall though, after the room change out, we truly enjoyed our week at The Grand Mayan. We loved the location and much prefer the smaller village of San Jose to Cabo San Lucas. We do love Mexico (that's why we purchased the Grand Mayan) and the wonderfully gracious Mexican people and we will return back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank MissBelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear MissBelle1:

We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments about your vacation at The Grand Mayan. We always like to hear about our guests’ experiences since it is the only way to truly know we are doing a great job to making your stay pleasant and we are happy to learn you did enjoy your stay.

Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us improve our facilities. We would like to point out as well, that our prices are competitive compared to other resorts.

Your comments and suggestions are always welcomed. It will be our honor to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We traded into the Grand Mayan Los Cabos on a timeshare. Sometimes when you trade into another place sometimes they are a little cool to you. On the contrary, we were treated like owners. Everyone was great from the first person we spoke to all the way to the pool attendants and housekeeping. It was a beautiful resort with gorgeous pools. We loved the built in pool loungers and the excellent service of Edgar for beverages and food at the pool. Their associated restaurant Il Forno was not on site, but they have a shuttle take you there. We happened to go on the night they had 1/2 price pizza and it was really good. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and well-cared for. The entrance is "different".....dark, but interesting. Loved it and would definitely go back there again. Also, loved that we were in San Jose del Cabo, where things are more laid back and not as touristy as Cabo San Lucas.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor near the pool and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Vicki4664 :

Thank you so much for choosing The Grand Mayan for your vacation and for sharing your review with us. We really thank you for your kind comment about our staff, as we consider them one of our biggest assets, and we are happy you enjoyed our beautiful grounds.

Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. We are pleased to learn we successfully made that possible for you and your loved ones.

We appreciate your feedback and we truly look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Happily,
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Once again another September trip to Baja California Sur (south). This means visiting during the hurricane season. But it also means visiting when the crowds have thinned out quite a bit. So if you're planning on scuba diving or snorkeling, the water visibility probably won't be the best because of thunderstorms. If you do dive, it is best in the morning as the water's have not churned up much...get's worse in the afternoon. We dove with Dive Cabo and the Manta dive shops. The big difference between the dive shops, Manta tries to group you with others with similar air usage. Which means you'll get more dive time....if someone runs short on air, they send that person up and the rest of you stay down. With Dive Cabo, the dive ends when the first person hits 700 lbs of air left. You'll pay a few dollars more with Manta, but you'll get your money's worth. We also fished with GordoBanks Pangas on a 28ft cruiser...caught a few yellow fin tuna and a couple dorado. We took the fish down to the El Herradero restaurant where they cooked it up for us several different ways and served it to us on a variety platter.

We used a 2 bd/2 ba unit that is just under 1900 sq ft! The unit is big and spacious for a resort. Sleeps 8 but you could easily sleep a few more if you so inclined and you'd all still have plenty of space. The rooms have safes and a partial kitchen. Both rooms have large flat screen TVs and a normal TV in the living room. All 3 rooms had their own thermostat. It would have been nice to have a full size refrigerator, but the 2/3 size unit did the trick. We stocked it up with drinks & food from the local Mega (grocery) store just down the road. If you're going to buy beer, get it in cans so you can take it to the pool...no glass allowed, but if you do have a bottle, they'll pour your drink into a cup for you. Like other reviews say, the WiFi (not free) is per unit. Unlike other reviews, our WiFi worked well and we had a strong signal (in unit 1248/49). Local calls from your room cost $1.00 (US) per call. We also used the gym equipment which was in excellent condition. You can't use cash in the resort...you must charge to your room. Gratuity is automatically added on your restaurant/bar charges...so it's not necessary to tip when signing your bar bill. There is a $8.00/day valet charge if you have your own vehicle. Occasionally, we'd tip on top of that. Housekeeping staff was nice and did an excellent job (twice daily)...we tipped them every day, but it was not required at this resort. The pool area is beautiful, however, upon a close look at the tiling, you can see that the workmanship isn't as good as it should be. They'll probably need to resurface the pool in the next few years. You're not suppose to swim on the beach, but we did see a couple daring individuals get out there. We took the advice of another review that mentioned getting a room on the east wing as the hotel next door is getting some remodeling construction. We never heard the noise. They did try to get us to come to a time-share presentation, but we never went and they only called a couple times and then stopped after that. Because it was the off season, the resort was quiet and uncrowded. A very short walk across the street is a new strip mall with a few shops and restaurants. We went to Rock and Brews (owned by Gene Simmons of KISS) for some good live music (Fridays and Saturdays only) and a couple cold cervezas at night!

I recommend getting a rental car in Cabo/San Jose del Cabo as cab fares are up these days. For the price of a single cab trip per day, you can have a rental car for the added freedom...besides, you're on vacation, explore Mexico!...like a drive to Todo Santos or Buena Vista, go zip lining, swim with dolphins, or just go shopping!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view...at least that is what the other reviews say. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found the resort beautiful,not crowed, clean,quite but we did go in September the staff was friendly,the beach was nice no swimming,the pool made up for it ,very nice no one bugged us about a time share. The town is 20 minutes walk away or 6 to 8 dollar taxi ride,we would love to visit the grand Mayan again

Room Tip: At the grand Mayan all the rooms face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Texan602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved the peaceful quietness of the resort, not a lot of craziness trying to get us "involved". The suites are gorgeous. Housekeeping impeccable. One restaurant on site, but who wants to eat at the resort all week? Fridge was not cooling well, and it was attended to immediately. Pool is beautiful, never crowded. Location is fabulous for enjoying town of San Jose. Great restaurants and shopping within walking, short taxi or bus ride distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Grand Velas Los Cabos
Grand Velas Los Cabos
#1 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
188 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,435 reviews
6.9 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#2 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing