We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Jose del Cabo/September Diving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Once again another September trip to Baja California Sur (south). This means visiting during the hurricane season. But it also means visiting when the crowds have thinned out quite a bit. So if you're planning on scuba diving or snorkeling, the water visibility probably won't be the best because of thunderstorms. If you do dive, it is best in the morning as the water's have not churned up much...get's worse in the afternoon. We dove with Dive Cabo and the Manta dive shops. The big difference between the dive shops, Manta tries to group you with others with similar air usage. Which means you'll get more dive time....if someone runs short on air, they send that person up and the rest of you stay down. With Dive Cabo, the dive ends when the first person hits 700 lbs of air left. You'll pay a few dollars more with Manta, but you'll get your money's worth. We also fished with GordoBanks Pangas on a 28ft cruiser...caught a few yellow fin tuna and a couple dorado. We took the fish down to the El Herradero restaurant where they cooked it up for us several different ways and served it to us on a variety platter.

We used a 2 bd/2 ba unit that is just under 1900 sq ft! The unit is big and spacious for a resort. Sleeps 8 but you could easily sleep a few more if you so inclined and you'd all still have plenty of space. The rooms have safes and a partial kitchen. Both rooms have large flat screen TVs and a normal TV in the living room. All 3 rooms had their own thermostat. It would have been nice to have a full size refrigerator, but the 2/3 size unit did the trick. We stocked it up with drinks & food from the local Mega (grocery) store just down the road. If you're going to buy beer, get it in cans so you can take it to the pool...no glass allowed, but if you do have a bottle, they'll pour your drink into a cup for you. Like other reviews say, the WiFi (not free) is per unit. Unlike other reviews, our WiFi worked well and we had a strong signal (in unit 1248/49). Local calls from your room cost $1.00 (US) per call. We also used the gym equipment which was in excellent condition. You can't use cash in the resort...you must charge to your room. Gratuity is automatically added on your restaurant/bar charges...so it's not necessary to tip when signing your bar bill. There is a $8.00/day valet charge if you have your own vehicle. Occasionally, we'd tip on top of that. Housekeeping staff was nice and did an excellent job (twice daily)...we tipped them every day, but it was not required at this resort. The pool area is beautiful, however, upon a close look at the tiling, you can see that the workmanship isn't as good as it should be. They'll probably need to resurface the pool in the next few years. You're not suppose to swim on the beach, but we did see a couple daring individuals get out there. We took the advice of another review that mentioned getting a room on the east wing as the hotel next door is getting some remodeling construction. We never heard the noise. They did try to get us to come to a time-share presentation, but we never went and they only called a couple times and then stopped after that. Because it was the off season, the resort was quiet and uncrowded. A very short walk across the street is a new strip mall with a few shops and restaurants. We went to Rock and Brews (owned by Gene Simmons of KISS) for some good live music (Fridays and Saturdays only) and a couple cold cervezas at night!

I recommend getting a rental car in Cabo/San Jose del Cabo as cab fares are up these days. For the price of a single cab trip per day, you can have a rental car for the added freedom...besides, you're on vacation, explore Mexico!...like a drive to Todo Santos or Buena Vista, go zip lining, swim with dolphins, or just go shopping!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view...at least that is what the other reviews say. I think th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We found the resort beautiful,not crowed, clean,quite but we did go in September the staff was friendly,the beach was nice no swimming,the pool made up for it ,very nice no one bugged us about a time share. The town is 20 minutes walk away or 6 to 8 dollar taxi ride,we would love to visit the grand Mayan again

Room Tip: At the grand Mayan all the rooms face the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Texan602013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved the peaceful quietness of the resort, not a lot of craziness trying to get us "involved". The suites are gorgeous. Housekeeping impeccable. One restaurant on site, but who wants to eat at the resort all week? Fridge was not cooling well, and it was attended to immediately. Pool is beautiful, never crowded. Location is fabulous for enjoying town of San Jose. Great restaurants and shopping within walking, short taxi or bus ride distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

So the resort and the rooms are phenomenal. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms humongeous. each 2 bedroom unit i reserved could have easily accomodated 8 people. everything you could need is at this resort including an on call doctor and mini clinic,

the reson i gave it a 3 is because there is no swimming beach at this resort. there are no longer any resorts that have a safe swimming beach. I go to Mexico because the water is warmer, but Cabo is no longer safe for anyone.

The only safe beach I have been to in the area is Cerritos.

Room Tip: they will not move your room so dont bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bolnditraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Bolnditraveler :

We are always grateful that our guests take time to share their vacation experiences at The Grand Mayan. We are happy you enjoyed our pools, the accommodations and we are glad you liked our beautiful grounds. It is always nice to learn our guests found everythingthey needed while staying with us.

We are grateful for your feedback and hope you allow us to host your vacations again.

With all good wishes,
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My daughter and I spent the last week of August here. Resort was quiet, the town even quieter. (Some restaurants closing at 7 and 8pm? What the...?) We had a master suite, which meant two huge bedrooms with private bathrooms plus a big living room and kitchen, plus balconies and water views from each room. The rooms were lovely, the beds comfortable, and had everything we needed. (Grab the better pillows from your closet!) Staff were all pleasant as well.

The grounds were pretty, with plenty of chairs and towels, etc, and very easy to get from your room to the pools. Nice and quick elevators. Prices in their pleasant convenience store surprisingly reasonable.

I could quibble over several things about the resort if I tried, but my main complaints were A) Why were there no chairs and umbrellas set up on the beach? All the neighboring resorts had them. (I meant to ask them, but forgot). This seems such an obvious and desirable thing to have... B) The otherwise nice fountain in the pool was left on all night, meaning its sound interfered some with the sounds of the crashing surf I would have rather heard exclusively. C) A sign says the pool closes at 7pm, which I thought was a joke, but some security guard actually kicked me out of the water when I tried to take a dip near midnight. (Wasn't crazy about the Rihanna and techno music blasting poolside at various times of the day either.)

All in all a lovely vacation and never wanted to leave, and I would be more than happy to stay there again. Oh, and those time share people everyone warns about? Literally never saw one of them at the resort, nor did any staffer ever mention anything related to that. (Maybe they were on vacation?)

Any questions, feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Avoid a room in the east wing (right side) if possible. The noise from neighboring construction was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 123457NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Five family members (all adults) recently visited here. My husband and I have visited several other Mayan resorts and, thus far, have enjoyed each and every one of them. The Los Cabos resort was all that we expected. It was clean, the staff was very helpful and courteous and the food was very good. The only thing we did not enjoy was the beach and being harassed by peddlers. Other than this, we would highly recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Mssblue58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Grand Mayan is a stunning property with a world class professional and friendly staff. At first glimpse, from curbside ,one is easily fooled into thinking the resort might be average however once you step into the imposing entry you are pleasantly surprised. The bell captain and valet staff were amazing! The rooms are well appointed , immaculate and modern in décor. There are several dining options to please all but the best was the Italian restaurant off the main property, great prices and free shuttle. Ramon, the concierge was so very kind and helpful ,and was attentive beyond measure. The pool was perfect with lots of seating, including cabana beds. The infinity pool overlook the ocean and we parked ourselves there for a good part of the week. Wait staff deliver refreshing tropical drinks and lunch to you. The water bar was in the process of being renovated but I am sure it will not disappoint,
The Spa is peaceful , as was the Swedish Massage. My husband loved all the other aspects of the spa, especially the cold plunge pool. There is not a lot of entertainment per se but the activity coordinator engages interested guests with pool side trivia, water games and yoga.
The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to shopping and dining but a cab is required if you want to go grocery shopping. Travel services were available and my daughter and her friend took the Cabo trip to club hop. It was a great deal for $30 or $35 pp, which provided them with transportation to and from Cabo San Lucas, entry into four clubs, welcome drink in each club and drinks along the way. It was comforting to know our 21 yr old was safely transported back and forth.
It is very easy to make plans to travel around the area so don't hesitate to see the beautiful sights of Cabo but if you need to be pampered the Grand Mayan Los Cabos is a perfect place to do it!

Room Tip: Every room has a beautiful view overlooking complex with ocean views but I did notice floors above 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kan919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,886 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
456 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#23 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Grand Velas Los Cabos
Grand Velas Los Cabos
#1 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#15 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing