We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this location at least eight times and we are always impressed. The staff is friendly and the common areas and rooms are always immaculately clean. We have traveled throughout Mexico and the cleanliness of The Grand Mayan properties is something to be noticed. The resort sits right on the ocean so you can relax at the pool (which has lounge chairs strategically spaced so you are not sitting on top of the people next to you) or walk along the beach. The ocean is not swimmable here but you will find this to be the case in most of Los Cabos. Try the breakfast buffet at least once while there. It is pricey but delicious, and you will not need to eat for the rest of the day.

We have stayed here as a couple but also with our family (including young children). It was a great experience either way, but know that this is a quieter, more relaxed resort than other places we have stayed. There is music playing and they have daily pool activities, but if you are looking for jello shots and a "spring break" experience this might not be the place for you. The resort is located in San Jose del Cabo, which is much more relaxed and slower paced than the wildly infamous Cabo San Lucas, so make sure you select the town that suites what you are looking for in your vacation. It is a 20-30 minute cab ride to get from one town to the other, so you can always get a taste of what the other town has to offer.

The Grand Mayan is within walking distance of historic downtown San Jose del Cabo where you will find the old church, charming restaurants and shops. The Art District is especially charming and is a good place to go on Thursday nights. Try the organic farmer's market on Saturday morning.

Room Tip: The resort is U-shaped, so every room has an ocean view. Rooms on higher floors might have better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    301
    97
    47
    69
See reviews for
292
422
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Reading the reviews on trip advisor we were prepared for the worst. So happy to listen to our friends and not trip advisor. This resort is amazing. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, stayed in the honeymoon suite on the 5th floor with a great view of the ocean and all the whales. Breakfast buffet was delicious and the outdoor grill had great sandwiches and burgers. Town was a 10 minute walk with great restaraunts I recommend caisanos and mi ensalada. We took the timeshare presentation and didn't purchase but our salesman was very classy and treated us with respect even though we couldn't afford to purchase. We will definitely come back and tell all our friends about the grand luxxe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

There is nothing good about this place!!! It looks nice - but that is where it all ends.
You cannot swim at the beach - the pools are too cold - everything is extremely over priced.
The nice rooms are never available- I think they are only used for their time share rip off presentation.
The staff are rude - the time share sales staff are complete charlatons.

There are dozens of other properties in this area that truly want your business and will treat you well.
These people only want your money!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robspicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear ShannonW952 :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan.

We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case. This will be addressed by the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests.

Warm regards,
The Grand Mayan Cabos Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really enjoyed the relaxed pace of this hotel after a week at an all inclusive. Very clean, nice staff, especially the "bell boys" at entrance. The pool is cold and very large, so too expensive (they say) to heat but gets more tolerable with the heat of the day. The pillows and beds are quite hard, good for people who prefer that. Would go again, but only for a week. Food was good at the restaurants and enjoyed the 2 for 1's at the bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are owners and this is our third year staying at the Grand Mayan in San Jose del Cabo. Before arriving, we had stayed two weeks at the Hacienda del Mar and then moved here to complete our third week. We like this resort because it is close to everything in San Jose and within walking distance to the Mega, wonderful restaurants, and shopping in the downtown area. The service and the employees are superb. Cannot comment too much on the restaurants. The only meal here was the "update" breakfast which is always top notch. Our favorite restaurant is Cynthia's which is a 15 minute walk from the resort. (it is not too far from the plaza behind the Mega). If you try it, you will not be disappointed. We had three dinners there during the week. Another good place to eat and drink is the Baha Brewery. An original micro brewery for the area. They make 11 different brews. They are all good but some are better than others. Great open fired pizzas. Happy Hour is from 4-6 and beer is half-priced. We always do the art walk on Thursday and usually end up at El Dolce for an excellent Italian dinner. If you have never seen professional glass blowing, the Glass Factory provides free very interesting demonstrations on Thursday nights. On the street in front of the GM there was a free Jazz Festival this year on Friday and Saturday and it appears they are planning to do this every year. The pools here are not heated and during this time of year they are very cold. This needs to be addressed. Since we are owners, we are always asked to attend an "update" which inevitably becomes a sales pitch to buy something new. (The only person who is offered an update is owner of the Vidanta Group.) We have found the main advantages of being an owner are being permitted to book in 10-12 months in advance, being assigned rooms with better views and complimentary transportation from the airport to the resort. When exchanging or purchasing a week at another resort, we realize that the owners will receive the preferred rooms. We certainly enjoyed our stay here again this year and looking forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view but the the ones on the highest floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OhioTraveler44514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

this was our 2nd time at the Grand Mayan, rooms are well maintained, daily maid service, large sundecks and awesome pool service. The swimming pool is not heated.The staff are well trained and helpful, Easy walk into town

Room Tip: we like the east side towards the empty lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rodnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently spent two disappointing weeks at the Grand Mayan in San Jose del Cabo. The beds were so hard I felt like I was sleeping on concrete and I am still in pain from them. The front desk makes you go to see your "representative" who is really someone who is pushing you to take their tour. We refused on several occasions, and still were pestered there. There are fees to use the wifi and the gym,what's that all about. None of the pools were heated although we were told one of them was. The hot tubs near the pool were never hot and as the week progressed got very scummy and had a film over the surface. We never ate there as prices were quite high. Drinks were expensive, except during HappyHour, however you had to get two of the same drinks. We would often return to our room to find that the maid had been there only to find that towels were not replaced. Had to call down to get toilet paper and soap as these were not replaced by maid. Air conditioning did not work well and after complaining, nothing was done. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: go to another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelingmom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear travelingmom80:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos.

For that reason, we are shocked to learn about the inconveniences experienced during your visit since we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence. Your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us continue providing outstanding facilities and services.

With all good wishes,
The Grand Mayan Cabos Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Grand Faro Los Cabos
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,971 reviews
3.1 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#2 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing