We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Reading the reviews on trip advisor we were prepared for the worst. So happy to listen to our friends and not trip advisor. This resort is amazing. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, stayed in the honeymoon suite on the 5th floor with a great view of the ocean and all the whales. Breakfast buffet was delicious and the outdoor grill had great sandwiches and burgers. Town was a 10 minute walk with great restaraunts I recommend caisanos and mi ensalada. We took the timeshare presentation and didn't purchase but our salesman was very classy and treated us with respect even though we couldn't afford to purchase. We will definitely come back and tell all our friends about the grand luxxe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    335
    109
    52
    75
See reviews for
321
474
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

There is nothing good about this place!!! It looks nice - but that is where it all ends.
You cannot swim at the beach - the pools are too cold - everything is extremely over priced.
The nice rooms are never available- I think they are only used for their time share rip off presentation.
The staff are rude - the time share sales staff are complete charlatons.

There are dozens of other properties in this area that truly want your business and will treat you well.
These people only want your money!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robspicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear ShannonW952 :

We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan.

We are disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We generally receive very favorable comments about our staff and the service they provide; unfortunately in this instance, it would appear that is not the case. This will be addressed by the appropriate areas as we always work hard to have a clear communication with our honored guests.

Warm regards,
The Grand Mayan Cabos Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really enjoyed the relaxed pace of this hotel after a week at an all inclusive. Very clean, nice staff, especially the "bell boys" at entrance. The pool is cold and very large, so too expensive (they say) to heat but gets more tolerable with the heat of the day. The pillows and beds are quite hard, good for people who prefer that. Would go again, but only for a week. Food was good at the restaurants and enjoyed the 2 for 1's at the bars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are owners and this is our third year staying at the Grand Mayan in San Jose del Cabo. Before arriving, we had stayed two weeks at the Hacienda del Mar and then moved here to complete our third week. We like this resort because it is close to everything in San Jose and within walking distance to the Mega, wonderful restaurants, and shopping in the downtown area. The service and the employees are superb. Cannot comment too much on the restaurants. The only meal here was the "update" breakfast which is always top notch. Our favorite restaurant is Cynthia's which is a 15 minute walk from the resort. (it is not too far from the plaza behind the Mega). If you try it, you will not be disappointed. We had three dinners there during the week. Another good place to eat and drink is the Baha Brewery. An original micro brewery for the area. They make 11 different brews. They are all good but some are better than others. Great open fired pizzas. Happy Hour is from 4-6 and beer is half-priced. We always do the art walk on Thursday and usually end up at El Dolce for an excellent Italian dinner. If you have never seen professional glass blowing, the Glass Factory provides free very interesting demonstrations on Thursday nights. On the street in front of the GM there was a free Jazz Festival this year on Friday and Saturday and it appears they are planning to do this every year. The pools here are not heated and during this time of year they are very cold. This needs to be addressed. Since we are owners, we are always asked to attend an "update" which inevitably becomes a sales pitch to buy something new. (The only person who is offered an update is owner of the Vidanta Group.) We have found the main advantages of being an owner are being permitted to book in 10-12 months in advance, being assigned rooms with better views and complimentary transportation from the airport to the resort. When exchanging or purchasing a week at another resort, we realize that the owners will receive the preferred rooms. We certainly enjoyed our stay here again this year and looking forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view but the the ones on the highest floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OhioTraveler44514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

this was our 2nd time at the Grand Mayan, rooms are well maintained, daily maid service, large sundecks and awesome pool service. The swimming pool is not heated.The staff are well trained and helpful, Easy walk into town

Room Tip: we like the east side towards the empty lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently spent two disappointing weeks at the Grand Mayan in San Jose del Cabo. The beds were so hard I felt like I was sleeping on concrete and I am still in pain from them. The front desk makes you go to see your "representative" who is really someone who is pushing you to take their tour. We refused on several occasions, and still were pestered there. There are fees to use the wifi and the gym,what's that all about. None of the pools were heated although we were told one of them was. The hot tubs near the pool were never hot and as the week progressed got very scummy and had a film over the surface. We never ate there as prices were quite high. Drinks were expensive, except during HappyHour, however you had to get two of the same drinks. We would often return to our room to find that the maid had been there only to find that towels were not replaced. Had to call down to get toilet paper and soap as these were not replaced by maid. Air conditioning did not work well and after complaining, nothing was done. I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: go to another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelingmom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear travelingmom80:

We really appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos.

For that reason, we are shocked to learn about the inconveniences experienced during your visit since we are always looking to surpass our clients’ expectations of genuine luxury hospitality by providing outstanding locations and service excellence. Your feedback will be taken into consideration as it helps us continue providing outstanding facilities and services.

With all good wishes,
The Grand Mayan Cabos Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was very very disappointed with the location of our room. We requested something higher up to get a view of the ocean no effort was made to move us ., A charge for ammenities that in the US are free like wifi or local calls even to use a calling card from the room was a fee each time. Laundry was $20 US to wash & dry 2 loads.The grounds were beautiful but most of the guests were 55+ so real quiet kinda like a retirement community feeling. beach was nice but cant swim due to rip currents & jellyfish plus had to wear a bracelet all week(red) so staff would know we were guests.Overall the room was clean staff was nice bed very hard!! I would not stay here again but did like the walking distance to downtown.

Room Tip: We exchaned to stay here thru RCI we had req a room higher up to view the ocean were told nothing av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmartin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socialmediamanager1, Manager at The Grand Mayan Los Cabos, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Kmartin66 :

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback about your stay with at The Grand Mayan. We really thank you for your kind comments about the staff and facilities.
It appears as though not all your expectations were met. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration.

It will be our honor to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
The Grand Mayan Cabos Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#14 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#16 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,388 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Los Cabos

Property: The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Address: San Jose S/N | Campo de Golf Lote 12, San Jose del Cabo 234000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Mayan Los Cabos 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Wyndham San Jose Del Cabo
San Jose Del Cabo Wyndham
Cabos Grand Los Mayan
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing