We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Mayan Los Cabos
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$276
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$422
$357
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$89
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropicana Inn(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$280
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$235
$196
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$270
$218
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marisol Boutique Hotel(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveler rating
494
377
153
82
130
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
494
377
153
82
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimeshare presentationblue fishsamba restaurantsan josebrio spalos cabostime shareconstruction noisepool arearci exchangeone bedroom suitebeautiful resortsales peoplehigh pressurecab ridecoffee makerrental car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2012

When we rented our car, we were offered a credit worth half off our car rental if we would visit the MG for breakfast and the standard 90 tour.

When we arrived we spent 45 minutes just answering "a few questions" before being taken to breakfast (a lovely buffet just as advertised ). At the end of breakfast we were expected to leave a tip for the servers. Since when are "guests" expected to pay?

We then proceeded to a 30 minute walk around. The property is quite lovely. That's the only positive to report.

Following the tour, we start the sales pitch. It was long, relentless and rude. We listened then deck.in which brought another sales person to whom we listened and again declined.

At this point we asked for the meeting to conclude and for our rental car voucher and the $70

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank strausjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The resort is lovely however the sales staff members are charlatans. I purchased because I was promised many things which have not been true--use of the Manhattan Club in NYC, Small Luxury hotels of the World, etc. If you only use this facility it may be alright but don't buy thinking you can use it anywhere as that is impossible. I feel this a company that is not honest and has no integrity.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
5  Thank BuckeyebabeOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Good
-Immaculate resort which is very well maintained and has magnificent grounds, lobby and entrance
-Grounds are spacious and there is never a shortage of pool lounges or cabanas
-Units are spacious and reasonably equipped with daily maid service and evening turndown
-There are numerous in house activities including a well equipped fitness center as well as tour desk and concierge to arrange outside activities
-Staff is very friendly and helpful.
-Has good location in San Jose del Cabo which is the quiet part of Los Cabos

The Bad

-The suites all have hard surface fllors which creates noise in the units below when one walks or moves chairs
-Lockoff units are not soundproof as adjoining doors open directly into each side of room rather than common foyer
-Units have no dishwasher or laundry facilities
-Cannot drink tap water and resort charges $5 per large bottle of water at the pool bar
-Only evening restaurant is outdoors and can get cool. Evenet though there are heaters they needed to be right beside the table to create any worthwhile heat
-The chaise lounges on balconies are uncomfortable
-All swimming pools are either unheated or heated to a very low level and quite cool
-The Wifi service in rooms is very unstable and generally slow. One expects better if you pay $70 US /week.
-There is no onsite parking except for valet at $35 US per week
-While there are many workers who keep the place immaculate they are quite noisy at times starting at 7AM and going to 9PM rolling their carts up and down the walkways

The Ugly

Timeshare salespeople generally have a reputation of being aggressive but our experience at the Grand Mayan was the “final push” salesperson was rude and obnoxious. Even though we indicated 4-5 tines we were not interested she kept talking until we asked to see a manager to complain. Overall presentation lost creditability when initial sales price of $177,000 US ended up at $5,900 US

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better views over the trees
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 243Furby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

To begin with, this is really a beautiful resort. Rooms are spacious and all have ocean/pool views. The staff is attentive and friendly. The resort is walking distance into town, which really has a lot to offer. The series of pools are are very impressive.

OK, the negatives:

This mega resort has one restaurant for dinner and it is the pool snack bar. They turn it into a different themed restaurant each night. There is no indoor seating.

Service around the pool is very spotty. We typically had to wait 20-30 minutes before a server would come by and then after ordering drinks would take 15 minutes and food 30. And prices are at the top of the market. A bloody mary was 140 pesos (about $12). Fish tacos were 180 pesos.

Maid service was daily but they really did not do a very good job. They do not wash dishes nor do they turn off the coffee pot (we left it on one day by mistake and it was still on when we returned that night). There were several areas that clearly had not been wiped down for several weeks.

The pool, while impressive, has some issues that would concern me if I were an owner. The trim where the deck meets the sidewall tile is coming loose and they are using wire to keep it in place, We saw dozens of tiles that had come loose. Also, two of the five days we were there the pool heater was not working. We heard from staff members that this was typical. They tell you that you should not go into the ocean because of the under tow. There were lots of people in the water in front of the other resorts. I suspect they just want to keep you were they can sell you a drink.

The other thing that is consistent with other Mayans is that the beds are as firm (hard) as a rock and living room furniture is as uncomfortable as possible.

The bottom line, we traded in and we would probably trade in again. We enjoyed our week. We bailed on the timeshare tour. We saw people that were spending 3 hours of their vacation getting the famous Mayan pressure. They tell you 50 minutes - no way. Nice resort, a few negatives

Room Tip: If you trade in they will put you on level one. Try to get out on the far end where you are closer to the beach
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This Grand Mayan, unlike others, consists of one large U shaped building with all rooms/suites and balconies facing the ocean. As in other Grand Mayans, the amenities of the suites (we were in a one bedroom suite) are the same: one full bathroom with double sink vanity, walk in shower and jetted tub in the bedroom. There is an additional vanity just off the kitchen/ living room. The large balcony had small table and two chaise lounges and a cold water dipping pool, nice to look at, but not useable in February.
There are two large pools, one was heated, the other was cold and unused. On either side of the heated pool were large hot tubs.
There weren't too many choices for dining, except PeriQ near the beach and pool. It was good, but there are a number of better choices nearby.
Toward the Mega shopping center was Baja Blue, where we ate 3 times in a week.
In the opposite direction, toward San Jose del Cabo, we enjoyed Habanero's, El Herradero and Mi Tierra (in that order in distance from the GM). All were very good.
At the GM, there are ample lounges and poolside beds that are free! This is not the case at other GM/MP's where there is a charge for the beds.
There was yoga by the pool each morning, but water aerobics (a big deal for my wife at other GM/MP's) was only held one day out of the week.
A negative was that there were palapas on the beach, but no loungers or chairs, so the large wide beach was practically deserted most of the time...very strange.

Room Tip: All rooms/suites face the ocean, but suites parallel to the road are preferable.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews