We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Another great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We returned to Bel Air for the second year in a row. We had a wonderful time, again. There were some inconveniences (only 1 restaurant open during our stay, pools not heated) but, overall, just a welcoming and warm stay. The concierge, Aaron, and the front desk employee, Charly, both remembered us from last year, which is pretty amazing. Housekeeping services are perfect. Hotel is SOpeaceful, and we fell asleep to the sounds of crashing....thunderous..waves. We woke each morning in time for the sunrise and enjoyed complimentary coffee and pastry. We took advantage of two for one happy hours, and walked to other locations for meals. We couldn't be happier with the accommodations and service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JandJ468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the time you have invested to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we'd be very happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Carlos Ulises Martínez.
Chief Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    239
    141
    61
    56
See reviews for
226
351
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quilcene, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a week at the resort with my husband. We loved it. Great place to unwind and relax. There is a very walkable beach (soft sand) and it is about 4 miles into the town (we walked that once too). The beach is not a swimming beach but there are two pools. Our ocean view room was lovely. I could stare at the ocean for hours. The beach, pool and grounds are kept up nicely. The staff was top notch. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Checkin took minutes and no one ever approached us for a time share presentation. Our room was spotlessly clean. The woman, (Judi) who cleaned the room was the best. Always a smile and a friendly word. We had a special meal cooked for us and friends from a fish my husband caught. Lovely presentation and it was delicious. It was a nice ending to a great trip. Most of the meals were pretty good.

On day one I noticed our screen door was ripped in several places. I reported this to the manager on duty and it was fixed within hours! That was a pleasant surprise as you usually cannot get anything fixed that fast anywhere.

I did not rate this excellet as the ATM and the phones were not working during our stay. Minor annoyance. The staff at the desk made calls for us so that was very useful. The spa should offer more services (maybe manicure/pedicure?) besides a massage.
This is a great place for relaxation, recharging and long walks on the beach. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vagabond002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the time you have invested to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we'd be very happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Carlos Ulises Martínez.
Chief Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from two nights here with a group of four 31yr old ladies. We felt totally comfortable and safe here. The food was excellent. The drinks could be a little stronger. We stayed in a master suite in the old building which was more than spacious. We did miss the sound of the ocean as all you here are the sounds of traffic. Also we noticed some of the units were owner occupied.

Make sure to note this is NOT Cabo San Lucas but is 20+ miles or a $35 cab ride from the actual center of town. That being said we headed into San Jose Del Cabo (the closest town to the hotel) for only a $7 cab ride and really enjoyed the little town! Great jewelry shops, cute restaurants (Check out Morgans - One block off the main strip). The staff was extremely accommodating to most our requests. One day it took two phone calls and 50 minutes to get 2 clean bath towels. But room service showed up in less than 5 and we never waited long for a drink by the pool or in the bars.

Warning - I booked this room using credit card miles. When we went to check out we were informed that price line.com had not paid for the room and they asked us to pay in cash and have priceline refund us. NO WAY! I didn't pay cash in the first place and was not about to put up $$ on priceline's behalf. I politely informed them they should have made me aware of any problems at check in and to call priceline as my reservation confirmed that no payment was due by me. After 30 minutes of waiting with the front desk staff and priceline on hold - we had to leave for our plane. Only upon threatening this portion of a bad review - were we told it was ok to leave for our plane!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
First at all let me offer you an apologize for the misunderstood with priceline voucher, this is not the regular way that front desk must review a confirmation.
Thank you so much for your opinion, it is very important for my staff and myself be aware of your requirement and expectation, we hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been coming to San Jose for years and really appreciate Bel Air staff. They are so helpful and friendly. We do appreciate having the same staff when we return year after year. The grounds are beautiful, rooms clean with an ocean view. Kitchens need more tools if one wanted to cook. Daily maid service is given and great. The beach is VERY walkable in the afternoon when the tide is out. Great adventure. Many local spots to eat out and great food reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ocean view about the 3rd or 4th floor is most desirable for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Gerente at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for let us know your experience, we are working harder in order to fulfill your requirements and exceed your expectations, Please give us a chance to serve you again in near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We traveled to San Jose and stayed in the Bel Air Collection hotel Dec 1st -9th 2012. We had a wonderful stay, the staff was incredible, they were so kind and friendly. The pool and the grounds were beautiful and the beach was outstanding. Our room with a ocean view was in the newer section of the hotel and was extremely clean, bright but not real large. We had our own deck, kitchenette, large bathroom and jetted soaker tub. All we needed. The complex was amazingly clean and well cared for by the staff. obviously the renovations were complete.

The resort has a complimentary continental breakfast for the early risers and has a sun set gathering where they serve free champagne everyday. They have 2 beautiful restaurants with fantastic views of the water, pool and beach. The beach walks were amazing and the resort is walking distance to shops and the Mega Store.

The gym is brand new, it has 2 tread mills, a elliptical and a Bike.

We loved our stay and would recommend this small but very friendly resort. Carlos at the front desk and Alex at the front door made the vacation special as we were treated like friends and family on every arrival and trip away from the hotel. They were quick to recommend many very good dinner places in San Jose and even set me up to play soccer with their friends. We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section, all rooms have view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the time you have invested to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we'd be very happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Carlos Ulises Martínez.
Chief Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The Bel Air Los Cabos gets most things right. Most of the staff were excellent. Our room(s) in the new building were clean, well appointed and had excellent views. The food for the most part was good and reasonably priced. The more expensive, evening restaurant upstairs was overpriced for what it served. My cut of filet was not very good. We enjoyed our time and Rene (front desk manager), Alfredo and Ramon (bartenders), and Aaron (bellman) all were extremely friendly and helpful. A good place for quiet poolside/beach relaxation. WiFi (not free) and television reception were horrible but not really why we were there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your preference and positive review about our hotel, particularly in reference to our team's kind and attentive service.

We will share your amazing comments with our team members. They make every effort to create outstanding experiences.

We look forward to have the pleasure of having you back home in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Carlos Ulises Martínez.
Chief Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just returned from a fabulous two-week stay at the Bel Air Resort and Spa Los Cabos. We chose this resort to celebrate our 10th anniversary and were utterly charmed by the resort and staff.

When we arrived we were amazed by the beauty of the resort, situated on a stunning beach that stretched for miles into the crystal blue horizon.The beach was perfectly suited for long strolls beside the surf which we enjoyed each day. The pool overlooked the beach, and was surrounded by palm trees gently swaying in the desert breeze. The grounds also included a second pool and a fire pit, that we were able to cozy up to at night while listening to the waves crashing on the beach.

Our room was on the third floor of the new building overlooking the beach. Though we could hear highway traffic from our room, it did not diminish our enjoyment. The room was beautifully appointed with jacuzzi tub, granite counters, wooden shutters for lazy sleep-ins, and full kitchenette.

We selected the "breakfast Included' option which was worth every cent, and allowed us to sleep in and order a hearty a la carte brunch by noon. This allowed us to explore local restaurants for dinner: Molly's and Cynthia's became fast favorites with delectable vegetarian options at reasonable prices.

We thoroughly enjoyed our excursions to our beloved village of San Jose, and the local swimming beaches but we also spent many days just lazing at the resort, trying to decide whether to suntan on the beach or by the pool - both excellent options! Though some guests found the pool chilly, we found it refreshing and swam in it each day.

But the most special part of our trip was the way we were treated by Bel Air staff. Front desk staff Uri and Carlos took excellent care of us and made sure all of our needs were met for the duration of our stay, and Aaron and Alex helped us with friendly updates, cabs and local tidbits and items of interest. Aaron took the time to explain the Festival of Guadeloupe to us and share stories about the local customs and festivities. He greeted us with genuine caring and warmth as we returned each evening, and we were always happy to see him.

At the breakfast restaurant, Aaron greeted us each day with a big smile and superior food and service. Other exemplary breakfast staff included Esteban, Gerardo, Jesus, Luis and Tanya.
And each evening we were greeted with genuine hospitality by Cesar, who served us complimentary champagne at the sunset corner. We loved our champagne sunsets and thoroughly enjoyed Cesar`s company.

Our room was kept spotless by Hermilia, who surprised us with romantic and artistic towel arrangements each day. We were also treated to complimentary desserts delivered to our room each evening and looked forward to hearing the dessert trolley rolling up to our room. And we celebrated our anniversary with the best beach-side massage we`ve ever had!

This trip was a delight in every way! We were utterly enchanted and plan to return.

Elin and Gerry M.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelAirCabosGerencia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate the time you have invested to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos.

We were delighted that you've enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests. As are our regular practice, we'd be very happy to share your lovely remarks to our team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Once again, we thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review of your experience with us.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Carlos Ulises Martínez.
Chief Concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
1.4 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#8 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Real Los Cabos
Posada Real Los Cabos
#20 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#6 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All...
#13 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,861 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos

Property: Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular | Km 29 San Jose del Cabo, San Jose del Cabo BCS 23409, Mexico (Formerly Playa Del Sol Los Cabos)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Air Los Cabos is a hotel that offers a unique experience in a sophisticated atmosphere where the desert meets the Sea of ​​Cortez. Visit one of the best hotels in Los Cabos and discover why it is one of the favorite destinations of the stars of Hollywood. The hotel has 97 luxurious rooms and suites spread over two buildings: The Tower "La Joya" and "Palmilla" tower. All rooms have a beautiful view of the stunning Sea of ​​Cortez along with luxury amenities to make your stay pleasant at all times. Rooms with sea view Deluxe amenities in every room Unparalleled views of the Sea of ​​Cortez Bel Air Los Cabos offers exclusive amenities that will make you feel at home at all times, the "Bel Air Delights" Some of these amenities are: Welcome Cool Amenitie Welcome cocktail Early Bird Breakfast View all Bel Air Delights The Bel Air Experiences offer the opportunity to travel under a concept of personalized service focusing on the little details. Bel Air Experiences: All Gourmet Experience All Romance Experience All Spa Experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Collection Resort And Spa Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Playa Del Sol Los Cabos
Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing