We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing with Ricardo”
Review of La Playita

La Playita
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
San Jose del Cabo Deluxe Evening Tour
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fishing with Ricardo”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Caught eight dorado on a half-day of fishing. Ricardo speaks perfect English and he knows exactly what to do. One-day license is $13, and bait costs extra.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    37
    16
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamitos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gordo Banks Fishing”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Eric Brictson runs Gordo Banks Fishing. He does an excellent job of putting together a memorable fishing trip. He has experienced guides, safe boats, and utilizes quality fishing gear. Just sent him an email, and he responded in a timely manner. We'll be utilizing his services again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JustWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I shouldn't even tell you how sweet it is”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I recently had the supreme pleasure of visiting Mexico for the first time and staying in La Playita. We have a friend who lives there most of the year and he helped us find an apartment to rent for almost two weeks. It was the best decision we could have made! The big resort going up is a bummer and the trash situation everywhere in Mexico I went was sad, but the little strip of restaurants and bars and homes across from the marina and along the way to the beach is just perfect. We made a pile of friends at The Drunken Sailor (delicious shrimp taco's) and the owner's were as nice as could be. Nicole ran next door to the market so I could have sugar on the rim of my margarita's! Speaking of the "mini super" right next door, in the evening the most AMAZING hamburger stand would pop up, I did not think we would be eating so many late night hamburgers, but we did! We walked to the beach nearly every day and tried a different eatery every day as well. The fresh juices at Ali's were a super treat. Seafood lunch was very reasonable at La Marinera next to the La Playita hotel (the tiny place being overshadowed by the big 'Goose' resort. But the BEST meal along that strip was at Marisco's of La Playita. Oh.My.God. The place looked closed the first couple of days then it was filled to overflowing with locals. We watched the oysters and clams being unloaded from burlap sacks by wet fishermen. Our food came wrapped in foil but it was the best seafood I have ever had. So many flavors and big delicious pieces of seafood. The 'wallpaper' was filled with octopus, shrimp, whitefish whose name I do not know, tomatoes, onions, cheese and lord knows what number of spices. But not too hot, just crazy flavor. The "balloon' was similar but with sea snails and scallops and different spices to boot. And the tuna ceviche, YUM. Everyone in La Playita was so nice. We really did make friends and we are looking forward to many more trips. Hopefully the resort will bring good things but not take over the beautiful little things. La Playita is an easy bus ride over from San Jose. The beach had big waves and easy areas. The tides were big. It was just gorgeous.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaUndone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“AKA Tommy's Barefoot Bar”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Located right on the new harbor area just east of town. We have been there a number of times and the food and drinks are both good and reasonably priced. There is a new hotel being built right next door so there is a lot of traffic and dust presently.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cabos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much to offer”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It's more of a very local hang out. But people keep it dirty, they just throw garbage on the floor. It's their land, why wouldn't they want to keep it nice?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greenblixt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Playita also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Playita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing