We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,100)
Filter reviews
2,100 results
Traveler rating
1,577
354
76
47
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,577
354
76
47
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villafull kitchenjavier's restaurantswim up barserenity poolflor de nocheterry clothtime sharesan josetimeshare presentationdirectly across the streetocean viewrip tideslounge chairstimeshare pitchtacosexchange rate
Filter
Updating list...
1,825 - 1,830 of 2,100 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I think the number of positive reviews says quite a lot about the quality of the resort. Great pool, good staff, wonderful drinks, great location, not far from Cabo San Lucas. We will be making a trip back to this resort regularly on holidays and working holidays as it's perfect. We booked once again with our small but favourite agency www.dcbtraveldeals.ca, and we couldn't be happier. Happy holidaying at Cabo Azul Resort everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosswilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Our visit to Cabo Azul was for 11 days from October 25-November 4, 2010, where my wife and I were celebrating belatedly wedding anniversary #30. This was our first visit to this resort. It's one thing to hear about Cabo Azul's amenities, villas, service, beach front location, etc., from someone else, but it's another thing to experience it firsthand.

This resort has apparently received well-deserved awards for its design, and also received the AAA four diamond award, even though this resort is still not finished. The buildings that house the villas are designed to take advantage (as much as possible) of the ocean front location. A majority of the spacious villas and/or their patios/terraces that have been completed at this time have SOME view of the ocean, but not all villas have that view. However, in our opinion, the view is only part of the attractiveness of Cabo Azul.
The villas come in 3 sizes: one, two, and three bedrooms, and each of them is quite impressive. Each villa has a master bedroom with 1) a king size bed, 2) a large 2-person jacuzzi type tub that has a mirror, soft lighting, and a privacy curtain, 3) an armoire with drawers and a small remote controlled flat screen TV, 4) night stands on either side of the bed and switched lights, 5) a telephone and radio/alarm clock, 6) walk-in closet with a safe large enough to accommodate a laptop computer, shelves, drawers, hangers, an ironing board and iron, 7) a large sliding glass door to the outside patio/terrace, and 8) floor-to-ceiling regular and blackout curtains at the sliding glass door. The romantic intent of the room's design is obvious and effective.
Each master bathroom has a large, tiled walk-in shower with clear glass partition and door, a vanity with a sink, a large mirror and hair dryer, and a separate room with a toilet and door. (Alas, the previous reviews are true. If you have a lighted magnifying mirror, bring it: lighting for shaving or putting on makeup is below average. However, there are efforts going on to fix this problem in the near future.)
All villas have a 2 person hide-a-bed in the large sofa in the living room. The small TV in this room has about 25 channels on a cable system that can be viewed independently from the master bedroom TV. The TV in the living room is in an entertainment cabinet that also houses the surround sound system and speakers. The 10-foot open beam ceilings gives the villa a very open feeling, and the sliding sectional glass doors from the living area to the terrace open up completely to about 18 feet wide in the 2 bedroom villa. (No, that is not a typo!) The villa's color scheme is black and white, and the decor has a Moroccan look to it. The large floor tiles throughout the villa keep the temperature cool to one's bare feet. The living room and bedrooms each have a large, quiet ceiling fan that is equipped with an adjustable speed control at the on/off switch. These rooms also have separate, thermostatically controlled, air-conditioning high wall register outlets that can be adjusted independently to the temperature desired in each of these rooms. (The air-conditioning shuts off when the sliding glass doors are opened due to a magnetic switch located high on the door and door frame, saving energy.)
The villas come with a fully equipped kitchen with all the needed basics: coffee maker, blender, ice trays in the freezer of the refrigerator, toaster, garbage disposal, microwave, oven and cooktop, dishwasher, granite counter tops and black wood cabinets. It has plates, glassware, and utensils for each bedroom times 2 (2 bedrooms x 2 = 4 sets). The kitchen has some pots, cooking and measuring utensils, a manual can and bottle opener, and a manual wine bottle opener. There is no broiling pan. Supplies for cooking and drinking can be purchased at the nearby MEGA store, which is a brisk 10-minute or leisurely 15-minute walk from the resort. On the way to the MEGA, there is a bank where you can exchange your currency for pesos. There are also machines on- site and just outside the resort where you can make get pesos with your bank card for a fee.
If cooking on vacation is not what you want to do, you have many on-site options. In-room dining is available until 10:30pm. There is the Plaza Cafe', where you can get a small variety of food, coffees and delicious desserts. Adjacent to the Plaza Cafe' is a small grocery called the El Mercado, which has refrigerated items, fruits, vegetables, bagels, snacks, beverages of the adult and non-adult variety, and other miscellaneous items. Also, the Flor del Noche is a restaurant and bar that you can eat at (either inside, outside, in or around the pools). Food from Flor del Noche is good, but not outstanding. Finally, you can (and should) experience Javier's restaurant at least once, which features fine dining and a dress code. The atmosphere is delightful inside, and very pleasant outside on their deck, which overlooks the beach and the ocean. Time it right and you can watch the sun set. Javier's steaks are outstanding, the salads are quite good, the seafood is fresh, and the Mexican food is, well...it's fair (this means that it is nothing unusual, just standard). Bottled water is 100 pesos/$8usd. The wine list is quite expensive (the cheapest 750ml bottle of pinot noir is 800 pesos/$67usd, the next cheapest is 1400 pesos/$117usd) and it is served chilled (?). The surf & turf is about 540 pesos/$45 usd and, in my humble opinion, for that SPECIAL meal, is worth every peso.
Cabo Azul has both an in-villa spa service, as well as it's PAZ Body & Mind Spa, which offers an extensive variety of treatments and massages. This spa has received awards, and it is expensive, yet the PAZ can provide the relaxation your mind and body crave, either as a single person or as a couple.
There are three infinity pools: two are heated and one is not heated. These pools are treated chemically, yet there is NO scent or trace of either chemicals or salt that I could detect. The non-heated pool feels like you are swimming in a temperate, fresh water lake: it is refreshing and amazing! These pools have queen-size elevated beds IN them, so that you can rest/sleep over the water, then literally roll right into the pool. There are numerous thick padded, adjustable sunning lounge chairs with umbrellas between them all around the pools and the beach. There are also 'wicker cocoon beds', which are large enough to comfortably accommodate two people while getting some cover from the sun. Waiters will take your food and/or drink orders while you relax in either the chairs or the beds. All of these beds and lounge chairs have plush terry cloth covers over the thick pads that are changed every day.
I should mention that the landscaping is well-manicured, and the grounds both around the resort and on the beach are kept clean and immaculate (all done while you sleep at night!!). If you don't bring your mobile device/laptop, you can stay 'connected' by means of the computers at the Internet cafe' in the Plaza Cafe'. A number of computers are available for use here for a fee. There is an Activities Center for daily events, as well as a fitness center that has many of the usual exercise and weight-training machines you have at your gym. There is a laundry service available for a fee, as well as several self-serve laundries throughout the resort. For $2usd in quarters, you can wash and dry one load of dirty clothes (plus detergent). Lastly, if you are considering getting married at Cabo Azul, there is a covered outdoor wedding chapel that is massive and overlooks the pools and the ocean. It is truly impressive!
Some have expressed concern over the remaining construction on the second phase of this project. The MAJOR construction has been completed: all the buildings' shells have been completed for Phase 2. It appears that all that remains is the digging and building of the new pool between the buildings, landscaping, outdoor walk area, interior finish work, windows,doors, and the front entry/reception lobby and driveways. I have been told that this work will probably begin in the late spring/early summer of 2011.
I'm pretty certain that each guest is offered an opportunity to purchase a timeshare at this magnificent, romantic luxury resort. Don't let that frighten you: the sales staff have been trained to be well-informed, understanding and not pushy.

I am certain that there are many other benefits/amenities that I have either not noticed, forgotten, or just did not get time to experience. But one thing I experienced over and over again was the fabulous, professional yet relaxed service that we had at Cabo Azul. It is extremely pleasant to be at a resort of this type and to have courteous, friendly people eager to be of help to your requests and needs. From the helpful, attentive concierges like Dulce and Paola, to the Flor del Noche bartenders Omar and Roberto, to the wonderful waiters at Javier's, such as Abraham, everyone greets you and treats well. General Manager Sean Nolan has this spirit and has encouraged it among the more than 300 staff members. He is genuinely interested in any guest comments and suggestions for improving this great resort. We felt so welcome that we found it difficult to leave. But we will be back! And I hope that this wordy review will motivate you to treat yourself and your loved one to the luxurious treatment everyone should experience at one of the best resorts probably in the world, Cabo Azul!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pearmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Stayed at a 2 room suite. Second room very small and dark. Nobody tried selling me a timeshare. Staff was great. Beach is beautiful and not as dangerous as some say. You have to wade in quite a ways before the water is more than waist deep. The pool area is fantastic, with 3 different temperatures. Only music played was Bob Marley and UB40 at acceptable volume. Gym very good, overall very pleased, only caveat was second room.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enriquegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This place is beautiful, and the Villas are outstanding, the pool has three levels and is usually at three different tempatures. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this resort to others. Very quiet and tranquil, not full of party people.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Handlurbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Just got back from the resort and had a good time. I had read all the reviews about being pressured into time share and came ready to tell them no. We actually were never asked or pressure into the time share sell. The hotel is as advertised. It was very nice and clean. Rooms that are no facing into the pool area are really terrible. The drinks were expensive but they all are when you are at a resort. We were not that impressed with Javier's. The food was just OK. We did find a fantastic restaurant called Manuels' Creative Cuisine. This was by far the best meal that we had in Cabo.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank just89135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews