We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Azul”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2009

I was at the Azul 1-19-09 through 1-23-09 with my wife and our daughter and son in law we had a 2 bedroom villa that was fantastic!!! Very clean, very roomy the beds are GREAT! The staff was friendly and helpful, very polite. The resort is close enough to walk into San Jose for drinks or dinner or a cab is 5.00 US each way. Not a whole lot going on in San Jose but a nice selection of places to eat. If the economy picks up by next year will will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigski2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,677 - 1,683 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2009

This hotel is truly amazing. It's located in San Jose Del Cabo, a smaller town to the north of Cabo San Lucas, and quite honestly so much nicer and quieter and more refined than it's sister town.
It's a new property so the buildings are gorgeous, the rooms spectacular, and the pools and beaches are incredible. Each room is a "villa" with either 1, 2, or 3 bedrooms, all perfectly appointed and modern. Stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, travertine floors, jacuzzi tubs, dual sinks, glass walled shower, living rooms & bedrooms with doors to the balcony that slide 100% open leaving a fully open air suite. The bar and restaurant are fantastic. The pools are all infinity edge that dip one into the next until you're footsteps from the sand. The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. I recommend going to the neighboring "Mega" food store and buying what you'd like for breakfast & lunch because the villa's are too beautiful to not use. There's even a beautiful grocery type store on site and an adorable deli-esque style counter for morning muffins and latte's. "Javier's" is the hotel restaurant, and like it's LA sister restaurant, everything is delicious. If you've ever been to Nobu you'll love the decor and design of the bar & restaurant. There is nothing about this resort that I disliked - and I've been all over the world. This by far is on my list to return to at least twice a year.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachloverpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I'll start by saying I am not a difficult traveler, but it is difficult to really WOW me. I visited Cabo Azul just before Thanksgiving and WOW is the only word to describe the resort. It is abosolutely amazing! The architecture is beautiful with no detail left to chance. All the decor is white and dark chocolate brown. We stayed in a one room villa which was huge. The bed is ridiculously comfy and almost threated to keep us from going out. The service from check in to check out was top notch.

This resort is beautiful and quite relaxing in the daytime. At night ,with mainly torches to light your way, it's stunning and uber romantic. I haven't seen pictures that do this place justice - including my own. At night the three black bottom infinity pools are a lovers' paradise. Dinner at Javier's was enjoyable and the scallops were huge. Breakfast at Flor de Noche is not to be missed. Try some coffee with a bit of Amaretto. Be sure to purchase snacks at the Market Deli - they have a great selection and it was quite affordable. I saw a wedding while I was there and the El Corazon Chapel looked beautiful all lit up with torches.

Overall, I was very impressed with this resort. If you're looking for the Caboo party crowd, this isn't the resort for you. But if you want a relaxing vacation surrounded in nothing but luxury, Cabo Azul will not disappoint. I usually don't visit the same place twice, but I definitely plan to return to Cabo Azul.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Island Girl _123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

I had read all the other reviews on this resort through your website and I have to agree that they were spot on, although we were never, ever approached by any timeshare salepeople; we did see a few but never spoke with any. I booked this as a getaway vacation through Interval World and was thinking timeshare, it's really a resort with the advantage of kitchens. My last trip to Mexico was at The Four Seasons in Punta Mita and the rooms at Cabo Azul in my opinion were nicer. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and it was perfect. Did go to the Mega Store which was a 10 minute walk at the most and took a taxi back; easy. Food at Javiers was not that great but the management and staff were very kind. Went downtown and ate at Morgan's, Bahn Thai (?) and had a blueberry Mojito at the Tropicana and I would highly recommend all places to anyone. The staff at Cabo Azul are very friendly and the atmosphere very nice. Edgar, the activity guy, was exceptionally friendly. I am so looking forward to going back with my husband and child. Very safe area and the beach was quite nice.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Boogie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed at Cabo Azul in the end of December. I booked a 4 night stay package for $599. You might not expect much for the price, but I checked with trip advisor and recognized that we had a deal of the life time. The rooms were beyond expectations - and we were in a 1200 square feet suite with a garden view, room 6103. That was much better than some of the rooms overlooking the parking lot or roof. Enormous space with fully equipped kitchen, living room, bathroom with immense shower, and master bedroom with romantic hot tub just right in the room. You'll love the three fully sound-proofed sliding doors that disappear into the wall and open up to your own garden. You will have one set for the bedroom and one for the living room. Don’t exchange for a two bedroom if there are only two of you, it is not worth it. Dodd Mitchell designed the interiors for entire resort including the El Corazon chapel and Javiers restaurant. They have paid attention to every little aspect like furniture and illumination. For some people not familiar with that kind of dimmer. You can always set the perfect mood or get abundance of light by adjusting the small switches on the sides.
The pool area is very attractive. The three-tier infinity pool with swim-up bar, huge Jacuzzi and restaurant are all well appointed. Each pool has different a temperature, from cold to lukewarm. The cabanas, my wife’s favorite place, and pool-side chairs are astonishingly comfortable. The chairs and the umbrellas on the beach were always available on a first come first serve basis. At night they light up creative torches and fire pits around the pool to create great romantic atmosphere. It was very nice to watch the sun rise from one of the cabanas over the infinity pool with the Sea of Cortez in the background.
The hotel has a wonderful fitness center and excellent spa.
The resort has a towel policy in which you exchange a card for a towel; if you lose one it will cost you $50. Don’t leave one to reserve your place around the pool, leave something less valuable.
Tipping is appreciated, so bring a lot of small bills $2-3 per day for housekeeping. US currency is accepted everywhere.
The staff was super friendly very accommodating. Francisco who checked us in, and when asked, changed our room for something better. Service at Javier’s and Flor De Noche was very good. The pool butlers Ulysses and Hregario worked constantly to make sure that every guest was content at the pools. Our suite was meticulously cleaned every day.
The main lobby and entire front of the hotel is still under construction, but don’t worry about it the construction didn't really bother us. You can't see it from the pool anyway.
To cut the costs for food go to Mega ($5 cab ride).
The resort has on site mini-mart if you want to pick up some quick groceries without going to the Mega.
Go and explore San Jose Del Cabo, which is a great town with wonderful restaurants and shops ($5 cab ride).
We did the sunset cruise around the Arch with dinner on Cabo Ray, which was very romantic. The cost was $89 per person but we got it for free after attending time share presentation.
My wife had a wonderful massage on the beach for just $45 for one hour. It was very good. Some local people have a tent just in front Javier’s restaurant. They don’t work for Cabo Azul resort so you have to pay cash.
Finally, when its time for the timeshare presentation, ask for Bob to work with you, he is a very nice and knowledgeable man. We did not buy, and he was very nice about it. Just one firm no, and he stopped.
In conclusion, the service and accommodations at Cabo Azul were excellent at all points of our entire stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ark-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We vacationed at Cabo Azul Resort and Spa (aka Casa de Sexo)
from 12/19 to 12/26. The resort is amazing. Our 2 bedroom villa was beautifully decorated. The subtle lighting in the villa was very romantic. The master bedroom with a private jacuzzi was made for couples. The grounds were well manicured and we loved being just steps away from the beach. The resort reeks of sex appeal. The town of San Jose del Cabo seemed safe and my fiance and I walked around the town on a number of occasions. For the record, the food at the Tropicana was not that good. After reading several reviews, we thought we'd try it. Never again! The food at the resort was delicious but pricey. I especially liked the chips and salsa. The tres tacos dinner plate was tasty. The mega mart was a much needed alternative to spending a $100 dollars a night at Javiers but its better to shop at the mart at night. During the day, tourists are bombarded by timeshare reps. We enjoyed a day tour in Cabo San Lucas and dinner cruise. Complaints? If you enjoy waking while on vacation to romantic music rafting into your villa at 7:00 am, then you'll Cabo Azul. Trust me, it gets old after the 3rd day. Also, our master bedroom was extremely noisy. The water pipes inside the walls were making noise after use as well as from the villa above ours. The staff was cordial but not overly friendly. If you own a timeshare and have no interest in buying additional points at the time of your stay, do not get rangled in to attending a timeshare update/presentation in exchange for a free excursion. It's not worth your time. Overall, we enjoyed our time at Cabo Azul.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vacationkrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

It was our first time we visited Los Cabos, spending the first week of the new year at Cabo Azul. The entire staff was friendly, with smiling faces and always saying hello. They were very courteous and quite eager to help us with all of our questions.

We stayed in a grand penthouse -- stunning and breathtaking. The views were spectacular; the beds comfortable; the linen and bedding, and furniture, etc. were just as they were described in their website -- beautiful. Every amenity was outstanding! We'd been to many luxurious hotels/spas in the past but Cabo Azul surpasses them all!

The grounds were impeccable -- quiet, new and clean with a relaxing, tropical atmosphere. There were many activities for the hotel guests that did not cost anything, i.e., salsa dance lessons, group volleyball and other games where we could interact with other guests. If we didn't feel like participating, we'd relax in the jacuzzi spas or in the pools, with each pool having varying degrees of temperature. A walk along the beach or just reading a book under the palappas was great to ease our any of the stress that came with us from home/work.

Daily maid service was extraordinary and thorough; they took care of our every need. What a wonderful feeling to come back from an excursion to see that the entire villa was clean and spotless. The only negative I have was that the kitchen and bathroom lights were dim, making it a bit difficult to cook or put on makeup... but the ambiance at night was awesome.

We enjoyed walking to the Mega grocery store (about a 15 minute walk) and to downtown San Jose for window shopping. We had no problem at all taking the local bus (also a short distance from the hotel) to Los Cabos. They were clean, inexpensive, and the local people were nice, doing their own thing.

We had the most enjoyable stay at the Cabo Azul and are eagerly planning to go back again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelinYuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,411 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
660 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,869 reviews
1.3 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $205 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing