We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury personified”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Clayton, Ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury personified”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

From the moment we were greeted at the concierge by Dulce we were treated like royalty. She took us to the VIP check-in room at presnted us with Tequila shots to toast our arrival. The villa overlooked the 3 infinity pools all the way to the ocean. The service was outstanding from everyone youcame in contact with. As a long time Diamond owner, this is the absolutle jewel intheir collection. Congratulations.

Room Tip: Third floor and above in building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HZPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Our team members are very happy to read that their service is so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence. With best personal regards, Jean Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    304
    67
    40
    36
See reviews for
519
734
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights with our two young boys (3 yrs and 5 yrs) and we didn't want to leave. The hotel was clean and the hotel staff were very friendly. My kids loved swimming in the pools! We brought our own floaties and pool toys so we could relax while they played. My 3 yr. old loved playing at the shallow platforms. I wish the beach was safe for swimming, but the pool was so nice it more than made up for it.

The restaurants were great, but we took a 5 minute taxi to town for our dinners. Stop at the Mega Store to stock up on some snacks and alcohol before you check in.

We will definitely be coming back to Cabo Azul. It was the perfect location for a family vacation. You will love it!!

Room Tip: We loved staying on the first floor so we had easy access to the pool, but I didn't like the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We very much appreciate your gracious comments about our team members, I agree, we are very lucky to have such a great team together. It is always very encouraging for all of us to hear such praise about our staff as this helps us to being better day by day. Cordially, Jean-Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We found this gem one year ago. It was a newly acquired resort by Diamond International. Diamond was in the midst of the huge renovation process of bringing this already spectacular resort into the fold of the standards of Diamond International. Although there was major construction taking place on 2 new unit buildings and the grand front entrance, there was no upheaval to the ambiance of the remaining resort, or the quality of the units and professionalism of the support staff. In all the years we have travelled with our daughters (now 16 and 18) throughout the US and internationally, we have never repeated a location.....until this year. We were so captivated by the beauty of this place, the surrounding area, and the people, we returned to Cabo Azul to once again enjoy this wonderful resort and see what new changes had been made less than one year from our original vacation here.

Everything that made this resort the perfect vacation spot remained......the facilities, the staff, the location, the weather.....perfect, perfect, perfect. Support staff could not be more helpful. For two straight years now, Leon has been a great help, and Omar took special care of us the entire week we were here, making sure we had everything we needed. The new additions of the grand entrance, two new pools, new units and the small amenities added to the resort grounds as well as each unit that make it a Diamond Resort property only add to the already amazing experience you will have if you choose to stay here.

San Jose del Cabo is a short 15-20 minutes down the road from Cabo San Lucas. That includes a Costco and Walmart just a short ride away. There is a full service Mega (grocery store) that will have anything you may need just a mile or two up the road.

Tips - rent a car if you like to be out and about, it is very easy to get around, people are incredibly friendly, parking in the lot connected to the main mall in Cabo by the waterfront is a mere $2 a day, though this resort is so beautiful, you may chose to only leave for day trips and enjoy your evenings here. Many local restaurants in the heart of San Jose are sure to satisfy, ranging from higher end Don Sanchez to the amazing Ten Tu Taco (best made to order tacos) right across the street from the resort on the main strip.

In short, if you want a fool proof vacation spot with 5 star facilities and staff in the beautiful heart of Cabo, stay at Cabo Azul Resort and Spa, it will surpass your expectations!

Room Tip: We have stayed in ocean view units both times and they are spectacular, request an ocean or delux po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We love to share tailor made attention to detail as well as our sincere appreciation to all of our guests and exclusive vacation club members. Cordially, Jean-Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The property is absolutely beautiful. Staff are friendly. Problems are solved immedieately and effectively. We booked through Diamond Resorts. The only problem we had was getting out of the airport. We were immediately accosted when we tried to leave. If you book your travel ( from airport to hotel) with Transcabo, read the instructions on your print out! Don't talk to anyone and go directly outside. The other companies try to take your bags and steer you to their counter, hold your ground. Other than that we had an awesome time. I caught a 6 foot marlin in San Lucas. We did not rent a car and used public transportation or walked all week. Book your vaca and have fun!

Room Tip: Garden view is nice. Close to the pool with walk out, but quite enough so you can enjoy the expansiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I am very pleased to learn that your stay with us was a special experience.
Thank you for booking through Diamond Resorts and Hotels.
With best personal regards, I remain. Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is my third time staying at this beautiful resort. We booked a two bedroom condo and it is 1500 square feet of stylish comfort. The rooms are very clean and beautifully styled. We had a great balcony where we ate breakfast most mornings. In addition to the amazing villas we find the customer service here to be fantastic. Whether we lounged at the pool or beach, or ate in one of the restaurants we had attentive waiters and attendants. The concierge desk was warm and friendly and all the suggestions they made to us were excellent as well. The town of San Jose where the resort is located is quiet and safe. Overall I feel that booking this hotel is a win win. You can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor and it will include an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank get2sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
My group of service ambassadors and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to this magical place. With best personal regards, Jean-Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach, florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Beautiful, very beautiful!!! from the moment we arrived, wonderful service and beautiful rooms.
Loved the beds in the pool, the swinging beds on the beach, the hammocks, the coccoon beds around the pools.

We did see many people having the pool attendants clean their glasses & bring them cold towels, we were NEVER offered these services.

the bell staff Alejandro was most helpful with everything we needed. He is definately an asset to your staff. He is wonderful and goes beyond his duties to help the guests with everything.

There is great souvenier shopping within walking distance right out of the entrance then left turn and it is on the left....big open air shops with fun bargaining.

Mega grocery store is also within walking turning left out the entrance.

This is the best resort in the area, we walked into surrounding resorts and they were not nearly as nice.

The fish tacos at the pool are soooooo good!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
It gives me great pleasure to learn that the service provided by or team members throughout the resort, was not only extremely professional and accommodating but they were also able to graciously anticipate your needs. Cordially, Jean-Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Advertised as one of the best resorts in San Jose del cabo, you definitely will pay for the name, but not necessarily get the value for what you ll spend. We got bombarded with fees for just being there, like 18% resort fee and 18% towel pool service that we didn't even use, a non_refundable hotel deposit at check in that goes toward who knows what. In addition, you are around snobs that ask you how much you paid for your room and telling you are second rate because you booked from hotels.com.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ofreespirit_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and rest assure we’ll change your perception for good on your next visit. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,754 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,162 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,078 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,819 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Vacatia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing