We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I absolutely love this resort. The resort is beautiful and very well kept. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The room had a full kitchen with all the utensils you need to make a good meal if you don't feel like going to one of the one site restaurants. The room had a jacuzzi hot tub, but there are also a few jacuzzi around the resort. We had a ocean view one bedroom unit, which was magnificent. There's nothing like waking up sitting on the balcony, watching the sun rise and seeing the ocean in front of you. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeolamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
I will make sure to pass on your comments to my entire team and they will be very happy to receive it.
With sincere gratitude we all look to the pleasure of your prompt return. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    304
    67
    40
    36
See reviews for
519
734
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

4 trip back as monarch. Owners - don't need to pay more to convert to Diamond owners
All rooms 1,2,penthouse beautiful with top line appliances
Pools and grounds are so exquisite and clean staff so awesome - Silvester food services goes out of the box to make things happen for u! Ronald bellman helpful and friendly. If your not happy with your room, Juan front desk manager will move you and make your stay perfect ! Pedro who is also like family to us takes care of anything we need
- restaurant prices high- food fair to ok, lots of great restaurants tho across the street they have to compete with so nice variety. Happy hour is good but too many sweet drinks really need to add beer to keep to party rocken. Rooms and beds you sleep so well ! Housekeeping is amazing for all they do - turn down service, always clean dishes, and towels
This resort is homey and relaxing and makes you rekindle your love Maintenance people are always working and it certainly shows, very impressive to see them cleaning the lip above the elevator and polishing staircases etc.
---go enjoy. Expensive not AI- go shopping to the store and make breakfast and buy your own booze is cheep until happy hour. Enjoy the beauty and wonderful staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velaslovebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback with regards to the heartfelt hospitality, cleanliness of our resort and beach. Be assured that we make any effort to address this in order to provide our guests an enjoyable and memorable experience. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife, brother and I spent five nights at Cabo Azul in a one bedroom unit. My brother was able to use his timeshare points with Pacific Monarch, a company that went bankrupt, but was purchased by Diamond Resorts, the current owner of Cabo Azul. Cabo Azul is gorgeous and very well maintained. The staff is friendly, helpful and hard-working. The pools are spacious and well designed. Would I spend $400 a night to stay here if my brother hadn't invited us? No way. But the price was right for my wife and me...free! Here are a few observations if you happen to have Pacific Monarch or Diamond Resort points, or if you have a friend or relative who does:
1) You can't swim at the beach in back of the hotel. A beach hotel where you can't swim at the beach? That seems strange to me...you can look at the ocean, but you need to swim in the pool. That said, you can take a public bus from the Mega supermarket to Playa Chileno, one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever been to - excellent for swimming and/or snorkeling. Cost of the bus: $2 each way.
2) You will probably be offered an opportunity to take a "tour" of the hotel in exchange for a gift-certificate at Javier's restaurant. We accepted the offer. The tour and time share presentation lasted exactly 90 minutes, and was relatively low pressure. I would do it again, given the chance. We really enjoyed the food at Javier's. But please, do not buy into Diamond Resorts. If you are even considering the idea, just do the math: you can take the money, invest it in stocks and bonds, and use the earnings to finance your vacations without even touching the principal. Not only is Diamond Resorts expensive to buy into, the yearly fees are outrageous, and they go up every year. If you really, really want to buy into Diamond Resorts, check out the secondary market. There are hundreds, maybe thousands of current owners who want to get out of their contracts, and will sell you their points for a song. But be warned, time share contracts are forever. You will have to pay a yearly fee until you die or find another victim to take over the payments.
3) Cabo Azul charges quite a bit for WiFi use. Why do the most expensive resorts charge for WiFi while the less expensive ones provide it for free? I guess because they can. Anyway, we just went without WiFi for five days. You can, too.
4) If you spend 60 pesos at the little market at the resort, they will loan you a DVD, and they have an excellent selection.
5) The drinks at the bar at the pool are spendy, but a limited selection of them are two for one during Happy Hour from 3 to 5 pm. But you can also buy your own booze and drink it on your balcony at other times of the day.
6) The kitchen is fantastic (except for the lighting). All the appliances are top of the line Cuisinart. Bring some staples with you (brown rice, spices, etc.), then buy everything else at the Mega supermarket, a 15 minute walk from Cabo Azul.
7) Cabo Azul has a great exercise room! Really, really excellent equipment in unbelievable condition. There are all kinds of machines, both for aerobic and anaerobic exercise, as well as free weights. There is no reason not to keep up your exercise routine during your vacation here.
Have a great time at Cabo Azul. We did!

Room Tip: The living room couch opens into a bed, so a one bedroom unit sleeps four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
It gives me great pleasure to know that we could offer to you and family not only excellent service but furthermore the requested intimacy during your stay at Cabo Azul.
Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just thought I would write a second review after two years of this fabulous resort!
First, to my surprise, the front entrance and lobby are done! OMG! Unbelievably beautiful! Wasn't expecting that! No more entering via the "service entrance."
The grounds are still kept to a very high standard. Pools were excellent! Room was excellent as usual. Tried a TWO bedroom this time. 2nd bedroom is kinda "cave like" and no windows, but still very nice and our guests loved it! The entire stay was better than expected, and we have grown to expect a lot of this place! Still have not tried Javier's restaurant. Flor de Noche was great, except the mussels and clams. Overcooked, which they promptly removed from the bill! Ceviche and Shrimp Cocktail were excellent!!
Across the street, there is now shopping and dining! This is all new! Great food there!
Now for the picky and some minor issues....
First, the trees and shrubs from two years ago have grown substantially! What was considered an "ocean view" room below the 3rd floor is now a partial ocean view! Partially blocked by palms galore! If you pay for an ocean view, demand something 3rd floor or above!
Avoid rooms near the "pool bar" (Flor de Noche) and the entrance to Javier's. It gets a bit noisy if you want to leave your doors open!
Warning! They do their landscaping between 8am and 11am to avoid interfering with the pool traffic, BUT the weed eaters at 9am were a bit unacceptable and warranted a call to the office, and they almost immediately stopped!
There is still the vanity mirror lighting issue, so ladies, bring a makeup light!
If you are an owner, here is something I didn't know. Checkout is 10am and usually not negotiable. BUT, if you have a later flight like we did, (4pm) you can reserve the showers and change rooms at the spa, free of charge, to use to change if you wish to hang out until you are ready to go back to the airport! They will also hold your luggage! We hung at the bar from 10 until 1pm! Lots of fun! Just remember, you MUST reserve the spa for this in advance!

Another note: Although this is considered a family resort, there is not much for children to do here.

Will definitely return again!

Room Tip: The trees and shrubs from two years ago have grown substantially! What was considered an "ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joseazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Innovate in all aspects of high end service is our daily commitment as your vacation experience should always be impeccable and memorable. We hope you had a pleasant journey back home. With best personal regards, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stats: 2 couples, between the ages of 35-45, stayed April 26-May 1, 2014, two bedroom villa with pool view and slightly elevated ocean view, room 2507.

Pro: Absolutely gorgeous resort, pools with varying temperatures, not too may kids, loud crashing ocean was beautiful and the sound, amazing, villa was beautiful and comfy with accommodating access to everything on the resort. Staff was very nice minus the front desk. I found the check in people very cold. Getting pulled into a room for the timeshare push was annoying, and we said no and that was respected by the staff. San Jose is lovely and has a variety of nice restaurants and people. The cigar shop in the middle of town was our favorite destination. They sell liquor and have incredibly nice staff and an extensive stock of cigars.


Con: We felt nickle and dimed about EVERYTHING! SO EXPENSIVE!!! I need to preface this by, we are not cheap. 16% IVA-VAT, 3% ISH Occupancy Tax, 18% gratuity is automatic at any restaurant, plus a service charge if you use the poolside service for water. Internet was $13 a day PER DEVICE. Flor de Noche was a complete bust. Food was not good, if a taco bell had been at the pool bar, that would have been better. Happy Hour was ok, but the variety of drinks was limited. Flor de Noche was incredibly overpriced, but they kind of have you because that is the swim up bar. We never ate dinner at the resort, but instead took the $5 cab ride to San Jose and are so happy we did. There is no night life at all at the resort, so if you are looking for anything past 9pm, go to San Jose or take the 20 minute/$40 cab ride to Cabo. Also, no ATM at the resort, and the fee to take out $200 american in San Jose was $20.95, FYI. Come prepared and no restaurants take Amex. The resort did, but no places in Cabo or San Jose took it. The rooms were so dark, only two mirrors in the entire villa, and the lighting was so bad, we used the portable makeup mirror in the living room to try and do our makeup. No floor length mirrors either, so we think we looked ok from the waist up every night. Check out sucked. I will not sugar coat this part. The exchange rate the resort gave us was horrible, 11.75 when the rest of Mexico was about 12-13. All of the registers at the resort have the option to give you a receipt in Pesos and with American Dollars on it, and they did. The front desk will not covert your bill for you, even when asked. So we sat there for 20 minutes doing the math. Noticing every nickle and dime charge with every single click of our iphone calculators. It was painful, unreasonable and unnecessary.

Overall, the title of this says it all. It is a shame that I can't give this resort even 4 stars. Couple of notes, we received no special treatment for booking directly through the Cabo Azul site. We were aware of some of the resort fees, but given the quality of the services, they now seem completely out of line. We did a day excursion of deep sea fishing and had a wonderful experience booking through Gordo Banks Pangas. Ruben and Antonio on the boat Alejandra worked so incredibly hard to make sure all 4 of us caught something. We had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and rest assure we’ll change your perception for good on your next visit. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Nicholas Ramirez and the entire staff completely took care of us. The service was hands down the best I have ever experienced. The pool layout with swim-up bar was the perfect layout. The massage and facial in the spa was so heavenly and I loved every second of it. Javier's restaurant has delicious food (especially the cheese fondue and steak). The beds in the rooms will leave you never wanting to get up. All the pictures I shared, everyone was amazed by how beautiful the resort was. The staff treats you like family and lets you know they remember you. I would highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We love to share tailor made attention to detail as well as our sincere appreciation to all of our guests and exclusive vacation club members. Cordially, Jean-Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

It is very romantic. Good location. A few minor issues… They were doing construction so it wasn't as nice as it could be. Great pools. Good fitness center. Friendly staff. If we had to choose between San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, we would go to Cabo San Lucas. However, San Jose is very quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
I am delighted to read our staff was the highlight of your stay. We hope you had a safe return journey. Warmest regards, Jean-Louis and service ambassadors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,749 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,161 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,077 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,818 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Vacatia, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing