We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Resort!”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Resort!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just returned from a week at Cabo with my family - 3 children (6 and under) and we brought my mother as well. The service is impeccable. The children's center "creature club" and activities which are run by Alberto and Merisella (sp) are phenomenal! Most of the activities for kids are free and it's free baby sitting for mom and dad for a couple of hours during the middle of the day when you want the kids out of the sun.

The views, decor, ambience are all spectacular.

If there are any negatives - it would be nice to have a playground for the kids and the rooms are dark - making it difficult to read at night - we asked for more lighting and they quickly brought an extra lamp which helped a lot.

We are already looking for a next vacation to Cabo Azul!

Room Tip: Ground floor for kids near the pool made coming back to the room to get X, Y, Z real simple - also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
From the moment you arrive, our team members will make themselves available to you with a smile and knowledgeable efficiency. Cordially, Jean-Louis and Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,223
    303
    65
    36
    34
See reviews for
503
725
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Cabo Azul is the greatest resort in Mexico. Starting from the top, great ownership, excellent General Manager Jean-Louis Magron, with an incredible team and service from front desk manager Jonatan Loera, pool attendant Daniel and Martin, with exceptional food and drink service from Manuel, it goes on and on. This place knows service and the property is beautiful in every sense. If your looking for a vacation of a lifetime go to Cabo Azul.
The rooms are fantastic and very clean, you won't find a nicer hotel anywhere in Mexico. I've been there twice so far this year and bought another week I enjoy it so much. Treat your family or friends to a wonderful vacation spot! I'm heading back soon.

Room Tip: There all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Cabo Azul is a lovely cozy place in the heart of San Jose where impeccable service and friendly attention to detail is daily offered. We will always find a solution to your needs and will make your stay as pleasant as possible as that’s what we do best. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I just spent a week in Cabo Azul Resort. I read all the negative reviews and quickly dismissed them all when I got there. I read how horrible the lighting is in the rooms - but it just ads to the ambience of the place. We opened the curtains and it was fine. We never ran into anyone that was not helpful. The place is expensive - just like ALL 5 star resorts are - If you want cheap prices - stay at a motel 6 chain - We didn't care for the first room view - so the hotel staff did everything they could to switch the room - I was upgraded to a beautiful room overlooking the pool and ocean within 2 days - The service around the pool was outstanding - Manuel was so hard working and eager to accommodate our needs. The place is spotless -
The only drawback to Cabo San Jose is that the surrounding restaurants are fair at best - didn't find any outstanding restaurants even in Cabo San Lucas. IF you want to go into Cabo San Lucas I suggest rent a car for the day - Its only $58.00 that includes insurance and tax (which is 16% down there) I made the mistake of getting pecos before we left the states. Not necessary - the hotel rate was better than I received and all places take the US dollar. My suggestion - put everything on your credit card and let them do the exchange rate.
The airport is a trip. As soon as you get into the terminal you are surrounded by people trying to sell you time shares - DON'T TALK TO ANYONE - go directly to your arranged travel plans - They are all over by the way - that was the downside of this trip - constant and I mean constant trying to sell you one thing or another - it got really old - Enjoy your trip and don't sweat the little things - this place was gorgeous

Room Tip: The newest building upgraded has better lighting in the rooms but you sacrifice the view. Stay in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback with regards to the heartfelt hospitality, cleanliness of our resort and beach. Be assured that we make any effort to address this in order to provide our guests an enjoyable and memorable experience. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

In any room (at least in the villas) with more than one bedroom, the smaller bedroom had terrible lighting, as well as all the bathrooms. We had to use the flashlight/nightlight found plugged in the kitchen to see anything in the bedroom. It was awful. Everything else was fine but it was terrible to not be able to see in our rooms! Also the hotel is near a sewage plant and at times the smell became extremely potent. The one other problem we had was that whenever the outside doors were closed the aircon turned on and you couldn't turn it off.

Room Tip: Ground floor villas are wonderful because you have instant access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We appreciate your comments very much and for sure we’ll change your perception for good on your next visit. We all wish you all best and hope to have the pleasure to see you soon again. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have you ever gone on vacation and as soon as you step onto the property you feel instantly relaxed? For us that is Cabo Azul. We've traveled all over but nowhere do we feel as "at home" as at Cabo Azul. It starts with the spacious rooms, 3 great pools (there is also new pool behind the new lobby) and immaculate grounds but it is the staff that really makes it special! From the moment you arive to the time you reluctantly have to leave, you will be well cared for. Deserving of special mention from our last trip there are Jonathan and Julio at the frontdesk, Martin and Darinel at the pool and the pool waiter Manuel. We are headed back in a couple weeks and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrells-DWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
It gives me great pleasure to learn that the service provided by or team members throughout the resort, was not only extremely professional and accommodating but they were also able to graciously anticipate your needs. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked a last minute trip here and the price was right. This is a hotel/time share resort. It's very clean and well run. Beautiful pools and great access to the beach.

A few things to know: the hotel pipes-in what I can only call 'atmospheric mood music' all day long. It's at a low volume but after our second day it was driving me insane - it's everywhere; in the lobby, outside by all the pools and at the beach area. Swimming in the ocean is highly discouraged (and reasonably so) as the riptides are severe. The beach is lovely but watch out for the vendors who are waiting all day just outside the hotel parameter to sell you hats, toys, pipes and whatnot. Most folks seem to hang by the pool areas.

There are two restaurants and a cafe at the hotel. One is at the pool bar and it's expensive. Javier's is a little more formal but also expensive. Food at both places is okay but you are probably better served by heading out into Cabo for something better. I heard some people complaining about the resort trying to sell them a time-share but no one bothered us about it.

Overall it was fine but perhaps better for a quick 2 or 3 day visit rather than anything longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trickypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback with regards to the heartfelt hospitality, cleanliness of our resort and beach. Be assured that we make any effort to address this in order to provide our guests an enjoyable and memorable experience. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My boys and I had the opportunity to stay at Cabo Azul for four nights last week. This resort lives up to its TripAdvisor reviews. It is extremely well maintained. Our room was fashionably furnished and immaculate. I witnessed a housekeeper scrubbing the railings on one of the rooms while sitting at the pool. The staff makes an effort to learn every guests name and seem to genuinely love working for the resort and interacting with guests. The pool is beautiful and has lovely shaded wicker lounges as well as lounges that sit over the water. There is also an adults only pool that we did not visit since I was there with the kids. The grounds were large enough that there is no jockeying for seats by the pool or beach and seemed to be plenty of room for all despite the fact that we were there during the week before Easter (peak time for US visitors I think). There is a lovely mall across the street with some delicious restaurants and the food at the resort was reasonably priced for a resort of this caliber. The beach is not safe for swimming but is beautiful. Wide, sandy and clean. On a calmer day you can wade into the water. There is a bird estuary a short walk from the property. We walked to a large well stocked super market (called Mega) in 15 mins and also walked to San Jose del Cabo town in about the same. As a result I was pleased with the location of this place. The gym is large and well stocked with a variety of machines. There's also a kids club that seemed to have activities each day. My kids opted to spend their time enjoying the pool and beach but I assume this is also extremely well run. We can't wait to come back. Thank you to Jean Louis and his staff for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: the "villas" are enormous and the one we stayed in had a fabulous view of the pool and oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Our service ambassadors and I are honored with your visit. It was a real pleasure to observe your boys had a great time to. We all look very much forward for your next year’s vacation with us. Cordially, Jean Louis and passionate team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,623 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing