We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February 2014, in Cabo Azul what dreams are made of.”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Hippolyte, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“February 2014, in Cabo Azul what dreams are made of.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Cabo Azul has luxurius accommodations inspired of Arabian nights, draped fabrics blowing in the breeze. At night, torches and fire pits welcome us around the pool and in the back ground the sound of cascading water from the infinity pool and multiple water walls.
Alors simplement pour vous transmettre notre grande appreciation du service inégalé offert par ces employées extraordinaire :
Abraham Ortiz, great smile, realy seems to love his job and it shows
José Manuel Leyva Valdez, Pedro Morales
Silvestre Murillo, super service, went over and above, to give us the best experience.
Patricia Camacho
Miguel
Rosete

Merci!
Nous avons adoré notre séjour!

Room Tip: We had a pool view deluxe on first floor walk out to the pool faceing east, I can't imagine any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Google Translation
Ravi de lire votre petit commentaire car nous sommes tres heureuse de gater a nos clients chez nous.
We have great pride to offer impeccable personalized service.
Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    303
    67
    40
    36
See reviews for
514
734
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ivins, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here in a two bedroom partial ocean view on the fourth floor during the first week of February. We were here to relax and found the pools, hot tubs, and pool furniture just what we wanted. We loved the cocoon daybed loungers! (We found them selling on line for $7000 dollars at Home Restoration Hardware). Pool attendants were cheerful and very accommodating. I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is too dark especially around the elevators which is hard to understand with all the renovations they have been doing. Bathroom lights were not bright enough to shave.
We had the internet for the week on four devices with a download speed of about 3Mps. I went to the market to buy a bottle of wine, over half of the selections were not marked with a price, had to carry the bottle to the cashier, ask the price, and repeat with every bottle. Did not go back again...
We are Diamond Resort members, attended the "60 minute" which answered a lot of questions but took almost two hours.
We will return in 2015.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Our team members are very happy to read that their service is so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of excellence. With best personal regards, Jean Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Cabo Azul, is a beautiful resort. The pools and hot tubs are simply awesome! The linens in the bedrooms really are luxury, and the beds are very comfortable. We had a two bedroom that walked directly out to the pool. It was very nice and convenient, loved how the sliding doors opened all the way! A couple of things that people already commented on that should be better is the lighting in the rooms and the cost for internet. It was hard to pick out clothes, do makeup ect... plus the bathroom mirror is rather tall and i'm rather short, so that with the dim lights, made it challenging. Most of the little bars around town have free WiFi, not sure what the Azul is thinking charging so much. But, overall our stay was amazing! The hotel is simply gorgeous. what really makes it stand out above the rest is staff! All great! The baristas at the café were super nice and accommodating. Abraham Ortiz, was the best, so genuine, funny, and truly just pleasant and easy going! Thanks for making our stay great!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimarie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
I am very pleased to learn that your stay was a special experience, just as you hoped it would be. We love to do what we do at Cabo Azul.
With best personal regards, I remain. Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just got back from a 7 night stay. Stayed with friends who upgraded their timeshare to a two bedroom. The room was just okay; but the bed/bedding was super comfortable! Room 2 technically has no closet and no window; just an armoire (w/2 drawers) and a frosted glass(?) panel which is adjacent to a shady corridor---it does not open.
As many others have noted in reviews: THE LIGHTING IS VERY POORLY THOUGHT OUT AT THIS PROPERTY. A reading light for each side of the bed and a lit make-up mirror in the bath would fix this widespread problem.
The pools are wonderful and beautiful. The staff is super attentive. We fell in love with Abraham our pool attendant. Very personable, charming and informative. Also, Alfonso was our server when we dined during the day at either restaurant (Javier's or Flor de Noche). This young man is at the top of his game; so pleasant and professional!
We sat through the 90 minute time-share presentation, which took 3 hours. I didn't feel that they were High Pressure as such....they just didn't seem to get that I wasn't interested in what they were selling and at the price---my gosh!
We were there to watch Seattle slaughter the Broncos.... The bar was definitely not prepared. Paid $15 pp to get in. Paid for drinks, comp chips/salsa. The $15 was supposedly for a half-time buffet. The line formed at half-time, and.....no food. Everyone waited another 10 or so for one tray each of the taco fillings (beef, chicken, pork.) If you didn't get in line in time, too bad for you because NONE of the food was replenished. Next time, charge $20 bucks a head and keep the food coming. There wasn't that many people and we only will eat so much... Half-time was a long wait for practically nothing.

Room Tip: Our room was in Bldg 7, 3rd floor, sort of close-ish in to the main entry.... I think I would rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are thrilled to read we exceeded your vacation expectations in full.
Our service ambassadors are trained to ensure your daily satisfaction during your stay with us. Cordially, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
968 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here the first of February. I have to agree with most of the other reviews that this resort is absolutely gorgeous and it is very high class. We were there looking at it for a future wedding and I don't know if you could find a more beautiful wedding chapel and Javier's would be a spectacular place for a reception. Service was top notch and everyone bent over backward to make you feel welcome! (Well, almost everyone...I did have one girl at the front desk that was downright rude when I asked her for change.) I have NEVER seen a spa that was as beautiful as this one. I was amazed at how inexpensive the prices were for food and in the market. A large bottle of water was about $1.25! That is cheaper than you could get it at a 7-11 in the States. So why four stars instead of five? There were a few things that in my opinion they just couldn't get right. First...everything is too dark. At night the halls are not lit and even though the lights in the rooms are on dimmers, they just won't go bright enough. The whole hotel is dark...which I am sure it is to provide a relaxing atmosphere. I can live with that and understand that someone made a design choice...that while it is not my design choice...it is a stylistic choice. There are a few of things that I couldn't live with. One is the internet. Even though each room has a router, we paid over $40 to connect 5 devices for 3 days. We RARELY could get any of the devices to connect and two calls to the front desk didn't resolve the problem. Second...the treadmills in the fitness center were old and/or cheap. The belts were loose...one just flat out died on me...they were just horrible and what I would expect at a cheap hotel instead of a nice hotel. Lastly, we had an "Ocean View" room. We could barely see the ocean because we were on the second level and all we could see was all of the trees between us and the ocean. In spite of that, IF they got their internet fixed, I would go back in a heart beat. But, one person in our party couldn't wait to get out of there because she found the darkness of everything depressing.

Room Tip: If you get an ocean view room, make sure that you are high enough to see over the trees. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
From the moment you arrive, our team members will make themselves available to you with a smile and knowledgeable efficiency. Cordially, Jean-Louis and Team Members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

LOVED our 8 days at the resort! The staff was incredible: Francisco, Eduardo, Jose & Abraham were just a few of the people that went above and beyond. The pool and grounds were spectacular and the views were breathtaking! See you next year...Go Broncos!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We love to show our appreciation to all of our guests and exclusive vacation club members, by offering tailor made attention to detail. Cordially, Jean-Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This place is stunning. Every view is another look onto something worth remembering. There are pools with infinity edges, lovely furniture, with the Pacific Ocean just beyond, and visible. At night, they light fires all over the place so it has the feeling of being in Tahiti or some other far away place. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. The food is delicious. The best Tortilla Soup I have ever eaten

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Louis M, General Manager at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Innovate in all aspects of high end service is our daily commitment.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to indulge you.
With best personal regards, Jean-Louis and team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,732 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
795 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,073 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,814 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing