We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Property - Some Cons”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Property - Some Cons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great resort, beautiful location, fantastic pool and nice rooms. HOWEVER, everything is SUPER pricey and the time share presentation is unbearable, high-pressure, and down right rude once they realize you are not buying. The Manager, Brett Mann (Sp?) was hostile towards us when we didn't think it was the right product for us, and when we asked to think about it, he acted like we were asking for a free stay for the week and was REALLY hostile. Who spends 25K+ on a whim?!

Although this is a nice property....... for the price, I have stayed at much nicer, both in Mexico and the Caribbean for the same or less $$$.

Also, don't plan to swim in the ocean - the hotel doesn't recommend it, and the riptides are crazy dangerous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    299
    64
    34
    33
See reviews for
498
715
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

San Jose del Cabo is a bit outside of Cabo San Lucas, which was just fine for us. This quaint town, filled with restaurants and art galleries, was perfect for our vacation. The resort was incredible. The bell station workers were all over us every time we went downstairs. So incredibly helpful. Our room, 2604, highly recommended. Ask if you can get it! 6th floor, oceanview... no neighbors! Fantastic. There are 4 employees for every room, so you can imagine the service. The grocery is only a few blocks away. We didn't eat on site - we cooked and ventured out. Los Charros was our favorite spot! Oh, and the taco stand on the side road behind Wal-Mart. (sorry we can't remember the name!)

Room Tip: Ask for room 2604 - it's a one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGal_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just got back from Cabo Azul yesterday and have some thoughts that may help someone considering this resort.

Pros: (1) It is difficult to imagine a more beautiful and relaxing atmosphere. The pools and outdoor bar are some of the best designed and aesthetically pleasing vacation spots I have ever seen; (2) I was there for five days and the staff I encountered were, without exception, pleasant, helpful, and kind; (3) The rooms were spacious and comfortable; and (4) The other guests were courteous and respectful. This was a pleasant change of pace from Cabo San Lucas where there are a lot of people who are there to be wild and crazy. Cabo Azul, at least to me, was all about rest and relaxation and it delivered.

Cons: (1) Expect to be nickled and dimed to death. Food and drinks are very pricey (shot of tequila was $25.00, and when we asked for a shot that was $10.00 or less, they said they had none...we are in Mexico people!). Internet is $13.00 a day. The ATM fee (not including what my bank would have charged) was $30.00. The shocker to me was that a bucket of ice was $2.50. Some resorts are all-inclusive. Cabo Azul is as all-EXclusive as you can get; (2) The resort is a long ways from really anything. If you want to go anywhere, you have to cab it. You can rent a car from the hotel, but the cost of doing so is triple what it costs to rent the same car from the airport; (3) We paid for an upgrade from a "garden view" room to a "deluxe pool view" room that we were told over the phone was a view that overlooked the pool with a partial ocean view. What we got was a ground floor room in which you could see neither the pool nor the ocean. When we went back to the front desk to explain there must have been a mistake, we were told, "Pool view does not mean you can actually see the pool. It just means the room faces the direction of the pool." The friends I was staying with raised a stink and after tedious negotiations and pleadings, they agreed to move us to a slightly better room the following day, but even the improvement was nothing like what we were promised. (4) San Jose del Cabo caters to wealthy Americans. As a result, there are few deals to be had in the surrounding area. I went as part of a group of four. Going out for dinner cost us anywhere from $200 to $500. Unless we could find a taco shack, we knew we would be spending $30-$50 per entree, often $25 for a cocktail, and $20 for an appetizer. I was really quite shocked at how fast our money went. We did spend a day in Cabo San Lucas and found our money went a lot farther; and (5) This is in Mexico. The downside of Mexico (and perhaps many other less-developed countries) is that it seems every business is out to scam you. I had a bartender "accidently" charge me $75.00 for a $22.00 tab. We bought a kayak trip in which we were told we would receive kayaks with plexi-glass bottoms so we could see wildlife. What we got were standard bottom-of-the-line kayaks with no type of transparent body. People offered us great deals on many items only later to have the price/quantity/item change at the last minute. When you are out and about, you really feel like you can trust no one and I don't like feeling that way.

Room Tip: Make sure that a "pool view" actually can see the pool and doesn't just face in the ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Dylan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My mom (73), myself, and my daughter (23) are spread out and live in California, Washington state, and Boise, Idaho so we get together for a week every year to have girl time. I chose Cabo Azul this year and we thoroughly enjoyed this resort! The food and drinks were not cheap (but pretty average for the area), but they were excellent! The resort is immaculate and the people working there are amazing! They are very quick to help with anything you need! Gregorico (sp?), Cesar and Alfredo were so gratious and helpful and really made sure we were taken care of. We enjoyed a two bedroom on the bottom floor (room 1106). Even though it was literally only 20 or 30 steps to the pool it was extremely private and quiet. We only had a slight view of the ocean, but being close to the pool and being able to go in and out off the patio to the pool was so nice and convenient!! The Patio had a great little table and 4 chairs, which you could pull a curtain down and have total privacy if you wanted. Housekeeping was amazing! They came in everyday unless we had a sign on the door. Each room has it's own airconditioning so it was nice to have it cool in the bedroom at night and warmer everywhere else. As everyone has noted, the lighting makes it really hard to put make-up on, but we managed. The light switches do have slides on them and you can make them slightly brighter. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The accomodations were immaculate and beautiful. The infinity pools were really beautiful. The first one was like bath water, which emptied into another one that was slightly cooler, which emptied into another one which was quite cool. There were two hot tubs. One said it's capacity was like 8, but it was large enough to easily accomodate 15-20. There was a beach party the Monday night we were there with a buffet, free drinks, a great band, dancing and a limbo contest that was $39.99 each. It was definitely worth it! The food was outstanding! BBQ'd ribs that melted in your mouth, tender steak taco's, and burgers, as well as a ton of sides and flan for dessert. (There were lots more dessert choices, but the flan was awesome). We even got to meet the CEO of Diamond Resorts at the Beach Party and he was nice enough to have his picture taken with us! This Resort is within easy walking distance of San Jose Del Cabo, Mega (a great grocery store), Starbucks, the bus to Cabo and it's a 45 minute walk on the beach to the Marina. We didn't take advantage of any of the spa ammenities, but we heard they were wonderful and have won many awards. I'm not sure of the value for your money, because we used our Monarch Grand points, and I'm not sure how much it actually costs. We loved our stay at Cabo Azul! Thank you, everybody at Cabo Azul, for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laroche004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been a visitor to Cabo for 20+ years, and purchased a timeshare from Cabo Azul which is an amazing place. Now that Diamond Vacations took over the property from Monarch, you get treated differently. You can only stay in certain Villas and all of the staff treats you differently. I am here now, but leaving to a new place because of the treatment. The room has mold, no housekeeping, TV is 19 inches, and respect is much different now. Also the pools are freezing and not cleaned properly. My dream place is now a disappointment. I will definitely sell my timeshare and not come back here again. Don't do it, the place and management is terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CaliWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here last week for four nights and it was perfect.
Easy travel from airport through concirege, easy check in, great service and couldn't have been cleaner!
We were in a garden view room on the first floor, 2602, and while it was close to the pool, we couldn't hear much other than an occasional kid screeching and the loud waves crashing at night.
The room itself was perfect: just the right size for a couple, nicely equipped kitchen (with filtered water), great bathroom with two sinks and the bed, while far too soft for my back (I need a firm bed) couldn't have been more comfortable, as contradictive as that sounds.
We didn't eat at any of the on-site estabilshments as we're vegan, but the food looked tasty. The market has just about what you'd need at very reasonable prices ($1 cans of beer!) and anything else that you need can be bought at the Mega, which is only a 15 minute walk. There is a Starbucks there too.
While we only used one of the pools, the coldest of the three (they all have a different temperature) they were very nice and the lounge chairs are literally incredible...the most comfortable ever! If you're lucky enough to have Alfredo as your host in the pool area, he's great!
San Jose is also a 15 minute walk and Cabo propper is only a $2.00 and 30 minute ride away via bus.
The only downer is one that they can't avoid: Not being able to go into the ocean.
Just stick poolside, chat up Alfredo and enjoy the cerveza and the view!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake_white4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very well designed and beautiful property with some very overpriced and average food-wise restaurants. Nice pool area with three separated pools with different temperatures - it's such a nice idea and I personally never seen it done before. The rooms decor is almost perfect, however showing some wear and tear for such a new property. Personnel is very helpful, but probably not very well trained. Some of the examples: there are tens of staff around the pool and beach area, but I never saw anybody brought a ball for beach volleyball or organized massages at the special area looked always empty and deserted. Biggest complain - very limited activities at the beach, pool. Basically, you can expect just overpriced drink for your entertainment. Wonderful thing - comfortable beds in the rooms and beach sun beds. Overall - good to very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#8 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,490 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#13 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 71 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing