We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort!”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My mom (73), myself, and my daughter (23) are spread out and live in California, Washington state, and Boise, Idaho so we get together for a week every year to have girl time. I chose Cabo Azul this year and we thoroughly enjoyed this resort! The food and drinks were not cheap (but pretty average for the area), but they were excellent! The resort is immaculate and the people working there are amazing! They are very quick to help with anything you need! Gregorico (sp?), Cesar and Alfredo were so gratious and helpful and really made sure we were taken care of. We enjoyed a two bedroom on the bottom floor (room 1106). Even though it was literally only 20 or 30 steps to the pool it was extremely private and quiet. We only had a slight view of the ocean, but being close to the pool and being able to go in and out off the patio to the pool was so nice and convenient!! The Patio had a great little table and 4 chairs, which you could pull a curtain down and have total privacy if you wanted. Housekeeping was amazing! They came in everyday unless we had a sign on the door. Each room has it's own airconditioning so it was nice to have it cool in the bedroom at night and warmer everywhere else. As everyone has noted, the lighting makes it really hard to put make-up on, but we managed. The light switches do have slides on them and you can make them slightly brighter. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The accomodations were immaculate and beautiful. The infinity pools were really beautiful. The first one was like bath water, which emptied into another one that was slightly cooler, which emptied into another one which was quite cool. There were two hot tubs. One said it's capacity was like 8, but it was large enough to easily accomodate 15-20. There was a beach party the Monday night we were there with a buffet, free drinks, a great band, dancing and a limbo contest that was $39.99 each. It was definitely worth it! The food was outstanding! BBQ'd ribs that melted in your mouth, tender steak taco's, and burgers, as well as a ton of sides and flan for dessert. (There were lots more dessert choices, but the flan was awesome). We even got to meet the CEO of Diamond Resorts at the Beach Party and he was nice enough to have his picture taken with us! This Resort is within easy walking distance of San Jose Del Cabo, Mega (a great grocery store), Starbucks, the bus to Cabo and it's a 45 minute walk on the beach to the Marina. We didn't take advantage of any of the spa ammenities, but we heard they were wonderful and have won many awards. I'm not sure of the value for your money, because we used our Monarch Grand points, and I'm not sure how much it actually costs. We loved our stay at Cabo Azul! Thank you, everybody at Cabo Azul, for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laroche004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have been a visitor to Cabo for 20+ years, and purchased a timeshare from Cabo Azul which is an amazing place. Now that Diamond Vacations took over the property from Monarch, you get treated differently. You can only stay in certain Villas and all of the staff treats you differently. I am here now, but leaving to a new place because of the treatment. The room has mold, no housekeeping, TV is 19 inches, and respect is much different now. Also the pools are freezing and not cleaned properly. My dream place is now a disappointment. I will definitely sell my timeshare and not come back here again. Don't do it, the place and management is terrible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank CaliWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here last week for four nights and it was perfect.
Easy travel from airport through concirege, easy check in, great service and couldn't have been cleaner!
We were in a garden view room on the first floor, 2602, and while it was close to the pool, we couldn't hear much other than an occasional kid screeching and the loud waves crashing at night.
The room itself was perfect: just the right size for a couple, nicely equipped kitchen (with filtered water), great bathroom with two sinks and the bed, while far too soft for my back (I need a firm bed) couldn't have been more comfortable, as contradictive as that sounds.
We didn't eat at any of the on-site estabilshments as we're vegan, but the food looked tasty. The market has just about what you'd need at very reasonable prices ($1 cans of beer!) and anything else that you need can be bought at the Mega, which is only a 15 minute walk. There is a Starbucks there too.
While we only used one of the pools, the coldest of the three (they all have a different temperature) they were very nice and the lounge chairs are literally incredible...the most comfortable ever! If you're lucky enough to have Alfredo as your host in the pool area, he's great!
San Jose is also a 15 minute walk and Cabo propper is only a $2.00 and 30 minute ride away via bus.
The only downer is one that they can't avoid: Not being able to go into the ocean.
Just stick poolside, chat up Alfredo and enjoy the cerveza and the view!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake_white4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very well designed and beautiful property with some very overpriced and average food-wise restaurants. Nice pool area with three separated pools with different temperatures - it's such a nice idea and I personally never seen it done before. The rooms decor is almost perfect, however showing some wear and tear for such a new property. Personnel is very helpful, but probably not very well trained. Some of the examples: there are tens of staff around the pool and beach area, but I never saw anybody brought a ball for beach volleyball or organized massages at the special area looked always empty and deserted. Biggest complain - very limited activities at the beach, pool. Basically, you can expect just overpriced drink for your entertainment. Wonderful thing - comfortable beds in the rooms and beach sun beds. Overall - good to very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. I love it so much and cannot wait to go back. All the rooms are beautiful, the ocean view rooms are incredible. There is a jetted tub inside the bedroom. The staff is all wonderful and friendly and they remember your drink orders! The swim up bar tacos are the best I've ever had and so are the chilaquiles for breakfast. I also had a massage at the spa and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BambooJungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited this resort for a second time in Feb. 2013. Since our first visit in 2011, Diamond Resorts has taken over, and although I would have thought is impossible for the service to have improved, it did. The staff has really stepped up the service, I actually saw employees cleaning the palm fronds one morning. We were met at the pool in the morning with fresh towels, constantly checked on through the day and even brought complimentary Margaritas on two occasions. Our room was not only cleaned every day, but any dishes that were out were cleaned as well. If you visited prior to the Diamond acquisition, you should be pleasantly surprised if you visit again, if this is your first visit, be prepared to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GringoWasi_BnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The suites are very nice and spacious and they don't try to nickle and dime you to death with fees for everything (but they will try to get you to go to the time-share presentation). The staff were friendly. The pools were very nice and weren't overcrowded like at a lot of other hotels; we never had a problem getting towels or a beach-chair or a seat at the pool bar.
The food was mostly average, but the fish tacos at the bar on the days they bring in the taco lady were the best I've ever had. If you're here to party, downtown Cabo is a $35 cab ride away, but the cabs are all full-sized vans and you'll probably find people to split the fare with.
Don't use the ATM on site though, it charges exorbitant fees, there are banks in San Jose which is about a 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,671 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
700 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,600 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#20 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $193 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing