We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT ATTEND THE TIMESHARE PRESENTATION”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was there February 17-22, 2013. The resort is beautiful and the staff is friendly. My problem was with the timeshare presentation which I reluctantly accepted. Not only was it way longer than the so-called 90 minutes; the reps immediately changed their friendly attitude when they knew we would not buy any of their plans--especially, the head manager--Bret Mann. Instead of the two vouchers for the spa we were promised; we only received one. Even speaking to the supervisor in the concierge area did not help--instead the supervisor was very snooty and condescending. So my best advice is DO NOT ATTEND THE TIMESHARE PRESENTATION. Go to other presentations, if you must, they offer better vouchers and they deliver.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the fabulous pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdruthie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is our third trip to Cabo Azul and we can't wait to get back. The beachfront location is beautiful. The property is perfectly manicured - gorgeous gardens, a grass field by the beach for the kids to play soccer, lax, whatever. The three infinity pools are all different temperatures so you can swim in your comfort zone. The middle pool features "bubble island" for kids to play. Also features a swim up bar for the adults. The resort is large but not massive which makes it a more manageable and tranquil resort. While we went with our four kids (ages 5-15) it is also great for couples - we met many who were there for a long weekend or trip away from families. It is a relaxing environment for both types of vacations (not too many kids to enjoy a get-away).

We like to stay on the first floor with a garden view - this allowed us to walk right out the door and hit the pool. Also allowed us to run back to the room for lunch/drink easily.

Every picture online is true to the location - the real experience is even better. But without question the most impressive aspect of the resort is the service. From the concierge, to waitstaff to hospitality director to towel staff the staff is unbelievable. Warm, friendly, attentive and genuinely interested in making sure guests enjoy their stay and have a memorable experience. I truly, truly cannot say enough about them.

The food at Flor de Noche is great - don't miss a breakfast there as they have some really fun Mexican specialties. The Marketplace has sundries and basic groceries/beer/wine etc. They also have a little deli - would recommend going there over Mega/Walmart. The Marketplace also has specials every night - pasta, sushi - which are less expensive than the restaurants and really good. Javier's is also fabulous food but more expensive and probably not worth it for littler kids.

The property is very, very well maintained. Nothing is out of place - no chipping paint, no sub-par bathrooms, and one other small thing - but big for us - was NO BUGS. And I mean no bugs. They spray every day - in three consecutive trips I have never seen one.

For families I would highly recommend checking in with Rodrigo the activity director as he has fun things planned every day - he is fabulous. My kids loved the Monday night beach party - which features limbo - and my husband and son went on the "back of the house" tour which gives you a great tour of the kitchen, facilities etc. - all of which reinforces the care they put into the place.

Can't say enough. THANK YOU CABO AZUL!!!

Room Tip: Families might want to opt for a ground floor with access to garden/pool. The rooms are a little da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennaHarryHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Amazing place with courteous, responsive, professional staff. Loved the 3 infinity pools for the views during the day and for torch-lit ambiance / night swims. Kids loved building sand castles at the beach, playing Jenga with the friendly staff, and swim tag in the pools. Secure a cabana early in the morning so the kids don't wilt in the sun and it gives the parents a nice shaded place to relax, read a book - or even have a chance to talk while the kids are busy having fun.

We experienced minimal pressure to participate in the 'time share seminar.' Food was reasonably priced and delicious throughout the resort. Highly recommend night swims and walks on the beach - loved this place and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LegalShifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed at Cabo Azul a few years ago and loved it. I decided to bring my mother for her 70th birthday because my first trip was so memorable. My first concern was how difficult it was to actually talk to someone about my reservation & I requested a ocean view (was willing to pay for it) but was told it was first come first serve (this was my mother's only wish was a ocean view). Happily everything I asked for I received. We used cielito lindo for private car service, who I highly recommend is worth the money. The resort was beautiful & I feel the service was better than before. We got a beautiful ocean view that we watched the whales play in the water everyday. The restaurants were good & the gym was nice. I had a amazing massage in the spa, the facial was forgettable though. All staff were friendly & wanted to help with anything you needed, but not in a overbearing way. I would definitely go back again. The only suggestions I would make is to have more comfortable furniture on the balconies. Also I strongly recommend everyone to go over there room bill because I found a few mistakes that they fixes as soon as it was pointed out to them. Overall, I loved this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A beautiful, top-notch resort with full amenities and an ideal location. Go here, if only for the 3 pools of varying temperatures, the sweeping ocean views, or the fire-lit night swims. Walk for miles on the beach (with very minimal harassment!) or head into town to shop the boutiques and visit the art galleries. This elegant resort absolutely impressed us and proved to be the perfect getaway. The service was helpful but not intrusive, and the resort is sprawling so it feels like you have it to yourself. If you can splurge, get one of the penthouses - large suites with multiple rooms and a kitchen, making you feel right at home. One month later, we're still talking about it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had some kinks while checking-in due to the ownership changes, but the property is gorgeous and I am not complaining.

Wifi is $26 for 3 days. Works in every corner. So my San Francisco gateaway works just fine - I can connect to my servers without any issues!

Room decorated just perfectly. Love everything about this place!

Feels very secure and safe - they check your name/room number every time you come in/ leave the property.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anelya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A great resort. Clean, friendly, accommodating. In San Jose rather than closer to Los Cabos. Mile walk into San Jose. Three infinity pools, top is warmest, then warm then not heated plus two hot tubs. Food is fresh and quality is high. You can arrange private driver from the airport to hotel by emailing concierge. Odd they don't offer same rides back, just taxis. Highly recommended for families or couples. The online professional photos are exactly what our room looked like.

Room Tip: The property is deep-set so while you may have a view of Sea of Cortez you may not be able to hear i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,412 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
660 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
Royal Solaris Los Cabos
#21 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
5,871 reviews
1.3 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $204 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing