We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in San Jose”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best in San Jose”
Reviewed April 20, 2008

We have stayed at numerous places in Cabo and the Corridor. We had a great experience at Cabo Azul. We have also stayed at One & Only Palmilla (twice), Pueblo Bonito Pacifica (4 times) and Fiesta Americana (Cabo, once). This property has alot to offer, especially if you are travelling with children.

The Positives:
The rooms are amazing, we stayed in a two bedroom villa. The bedrooms were very nice, best bed we have ever had in a hotel, linens and towels were of the best quality. The kitchen, living room and balcony were all very big and nice. We never heard any noise, unless people were out on their balcony.

The pools are simply the best, there are 3 infinity pools, their are all tiered so that the top flows into the middle and the middle into the lower, the temperature of the pools vary, the lowest pool seemed to be like bath water, there was no adjusting to the temperature, very nice. There are also several hot tubs around the pool. Lots of kids around the pool area so if you are not up for the noisy kids, you can be further down at the beach, lots of room and peace and quiet (beach vendors are down there but only seem to bother you if you make eye contact, other than that they kind of leave you alone). If you don't want alot of sun, they have little beds that kind of look like a wicker pod, several people can fit in one, limits your amount of sun.

Service was great at the pool, as soon as they see you, they are there to help you set up your chair for the day. If you want food or drink, you usually had to go to the pool bar/restaurant to let them know, once they know you are interested in service they are there to serve otherwise they just leave you alone.

Restaurants-Javiers is a beautiful restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It also has an amazing outdoor deck with fire pit. The service is good, food is good, never was busy when we were there. The salsa is some of the best, they tend to serve different kinds, different days but it is all good. The Tres Leches cake is the best we have ever had. Flors De Noche is the outdoor restaurant by the pool, food and service was also good. They also have a market with sandwiches and breakfast, tried it once, it was good. They also have a market at the hotel to purchase miscellaneous groceries which is nice since you have a whole kitchen to use in your villa. We did go into San Jose a few nights. They have opened a brand new restaurant near the center of town, El Vaquero, it is prime rib and seafood. It is a very romantic and classy restaurant. The food was the best in all of Cabo. It is our new favorite.

The Spa was phenomenal visually, it is a must see. I also recommend using the whirlpool if you get a spa treatment. Prices were reasonable, massage was good but it is all worth it to see the spa. It is separate from the workout facility. The workout facility is free, it has sufficient treadmills, ellipticals, stairclimbers and weights. The only downside was the temperature was usually quite warm in the workout room.


The Negatives:
Just a few minor ones, nothing major. We did enjoy our stay at Cabo Azul but next time would opt for something more romantic, my husband and I don't have children so it was a little noisy for us but if you have children or are travelling with other people, it is an amazing place. The time share people (this is all time share at this point, my understanding is the hotel part is still being built) are constantly bringing people on tours through the pool, villas, restaurants etc. which kind of loses its ambiance as a 5 star hotel/resort, it was a turnoff. We usually went to breakfast at Javiers, we were always the only diners not on a time share tour, we were constantly next to the time share salesman doing their pitch.

Concierge/Front Desk, we had emailed the hotel a couple of times before we left, one to find out on transportation (they advertise they have transportation but no response to our email), the other was to find out if there were laundry facilities we could use. We pack quite a bit, especially workout clothes for each day, we would have preferred to pack1/2 that and washed the workout clothes during the stay for light packing. No response.

Checkout time is 10am, we had inquired about checking out at noon. We were told several times they would call us that afternoon, no call was ever made. We finally checked back with them, they said we had to checkout but could use the hospitality suite to change clothes and freshen up before our flight. It is nice that they give people the option but I also feel that 10am is a very early checkout. The communication was lacking with the concierge and front desk. They are friendly but just don't respond if they have to get back to you.

Construction is still going on, it was not an issue for us, we just got used to the noise, we did not hear it when we were in our room so not a big deal.


Couple of tips:
All services have the gratuity on the bill, we usually tipped extra if service warranted it.
No need to "save" space at the pool chairs or beach, there are more than plenty of places.
We used Transcabo for transportation, you can reserve online at Transcabo.com, very fast, friendly and efficient. Minimal waiting and we did not need to stop at other hotels
Mega store is a $5 cab ride if you want to really stock the kitchen while you are staying there. Just be aware of the time share sales man in orange shirts (same color as the Mega employees), they are too helpful.
Cabo Azul offers various shuttles to and from Cabo (cab rides are $35-40 each way) for $15 roundtrip, just check with the concierge and put your name on the list. It drops you at the mall in Cabo, right by the Marina.

  • Liked — Pool, rooms and service
  • Disliked — Time share salesman constantly parading around and soliciting
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Onyxsoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    305
    67
    41
    37
See reviews for
526
738
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2008

This resort is absolutely amazing! My husband and I went with another couple and we stayed in the penthouse for 3 nights. It was the best suite I have ever stayed in. We did see a two bedroom and it was just as nice. Full kitchen with granite counter tops, jacuzzi tub, marble floors, and comfortable beds. The amenities were all 5 star quality.
Infinity pool was where we spent most of our time. There are comfy beach chairs, pods that you can lie in that will fit up to 4 people, beds that are elevated in the pool, and hammoks. All the pictures from their website is exactly how it looks. They also have beach chairs under palapas on the beach. You can not swim in beach because of the strong current and rip tide, but the waves are just amazing to watch.
Only thing that needs a little tweaking is the service at the restaurants. It was a bit slow, but the food was great at Javiers's.

Tips:
1) Go to the Mega Market and buy groceries about a $5 taxi ride there. The market at the resort is pretty expensive.
2) There is a shuttle that goes to Cabo San Lucas from 9-1, 12-6, 3-9 and it costs $15 per person roundtrip. Very touristy. But we wanted to see Los Arcos. We took a snorkeling tour set up by the resort for $35 and we had a great time.
3) This resort is still under construction, but it did not bother us at all because it is blocked off from the rest of the resort. This resort is going to 5 stars when it is finished.

  • Liked — Infinity Pool, Jacuzzi tub
  • Disliked — Slow service at Javiers
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ccs124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2008

This is a gorgeous resort. Although still a work in progress the staff goes out of their way to make you welcome and comfortable. We are timeshare owners here and this was our first visit to this location as it opened for users in September 2007. Although there are many signs of work in progress the resort on the whole is functioning well. The only advice is if you are going to be here for more than a few days it might be prudent to have a rental car as the taxi fares run from $5 US to go for a 5 minute cab to San Jose Del Cabo center to $35 US to Cabo San Luca center each way.

The resort has it's own restaurants which are quite good and even a store and deli all at acceptable resort prices.

The 3 vanishing edge pools and swim up bar are textured black pebble finish with basket weave bed pods for laying around the pool and having a "siesta" without worry of a sunburn.

All and all it was a relaxing enjoyable 5 days.

Helpful?
Thank bethsmom74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We stayed at Cabo Azul March 28 - April 3 2008, and overall it was what we expected/ wanted. Here are some helpful details as well as follow-up on other reviews.

- Transportation to the hotel: The shuttle was fine, and the price was right. The $21 is round trip so it's a bargain. The guys were waiting for us as soon as we walked out of the airport. Avoid all the people inside the airport.

- The hotel: As we pulled up to the hotel, the first sight is the construction of the lobby. It looks like it'll be great when it's done. Aside from that, you can hardly tell there's anything going on. It's really a non-issue. The rest of the resort is brand new and high quality. The website pics are accurate.

- Time share pitch: After reading other reviews regarding the aggressive time share sales tactics, I called the reservation agent and asked them to make a note that we were coming in to relax and didn't want to be hounded about a time share. That's all it took. Aside from a very brief mention when we arrived, we weren't bothered.

- The room: We were originally shown to building # 6, which was so, so. I asked for a different room...the bell hop made a call, and we taken to building # 2, which was much better. That building looks straight out to the pool and ocean. It's the best building. The room itself was a brand new 1 bedroom villa with a huge 2-person tub, separate large stand-up shower, full kitchen with all new appliances and granite counters, a plush king-size bed with great sheets and pillows, satellite TV, and a huge balcony. The only complaint with the room, which I think was because of the last minute switch request, was that there were no garbage pails, bottle opener, and some other minor items. We had to ask several times for the garbage pails and other items, which were eventually brought to us. The maid did a decent job, but didn't load or run the dishwasher or put away clean dishes afterwards.

- The pool: It's all about the pool! The pool (as can be seen in photos) is amazing. It's one of the best designs I've seen. Combine the design with the 24hr heating, 2 hot tubs and it's a mini oasis. This is very important as the ocean in Cabo is rather dangerous and can only be swam in with extreme caution. Every afternoon there's some sort of trivia by the lower pool. At first I thought it would be annoying, but was pretty fun. If you'd rather not be bothered, set up near the upper pool.

- The crowd: The resort is a time share so there were virtually no singles or college kids (which is what we wanted). However, there were a lot of families with lots of kids. The resort and pool area are so large that you can pretty much get away from the noise, so it wasn't an issue. If you're looking for a resort without kids, this is not it.

- Service: The staff is very friendly and attentive. Food and drink service by the pool could be better, but overall it was adequate.

- Food: The food by the pool as well as Javier's was very good. Not fantastic, but coming from Manhattan, expectations are rather high. The chicken dishes and guacamole are great. Avoid the scallops.

- Gym/ Spa: The gym was one of the best I've seen at a hotel/ resort. All brand new cardio and machines. Free-weights are also adequate for a decent workout. The Spa was exactly what it should be. Very relaxing environment, excellent service, and a great massage.

- Things to do:
Cabo San Lucas: We rented a car (National Car is on site at the resort) one day to go to Cabo San Lucas. It's definitely a college spring break/ cruise ship port town. It was good to explore, but nothing remarkable. It might have been better to take the daily hotel shuttle, but we wanted the car to see other areas as well.

San Jose Del Cabo: A quaint little town with plenty of good places to eat. La Panga and Menos Del Angels were particularly good. Tropicana is a great place to go after dinner for live music and dancing. It's right in the town square.

La Palmilla: Since it's suppose to be the best resort in Mexico, we decided to go for dinner. The resort itself is surreal. Absolutely beautiful, BUT we checked out the pool(s), and they don't compare to Cabo Azul. Dinner was fantastic, but portions are small and VERY expensive. We spent $200 US for 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, and 1 glass of wine (the cheapest on the menu is $17 US).

Zip Lines by Wild Canyon: It was $85 each, but worth every penny. If you're the outdoor type and like a little hiking and adventure, this is it. 8 zip lines in all. They pick you up and drop you off at the resort. Do the 9am tour as it gets hot very quickly.

Whale Watching: We heard it was great, but the season ends late March so we just missed it.

Tipping: Bring a lot of singles and fives. Tipping is appreciated, if not expected. $2 per day for housekeeping. $1 per day for each of the two pool guys, $1 per bag for the bell hop, and so on. Once again, bring lots of small bills. Dollars are accepted everywhere, but change is generally given in pesos at a rate of 10:1 even though the exchange rate is 10.80: 1.

Airport: We took Continental out of Newark, which was a half empty flight both ways (perfect). The real benefit was departing from Mexico - Continental check in took 5 minutes while the lines for American and US Air were at least an hour long. If you're taking those airlines, make sure you leave plenty of time to check in.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank leehaverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,876 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,183 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
4,130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,852 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
3,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Vacatia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing