We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Just finishing up our trip at Cabo Azul and it was great! A few hiccups with the Internet but they had us up and running in no time and comped us for it. The 2nd bedroom lighting is not great but was tolerable. Everything else about the cleanliness, service, and how nice everyone is makes it a great place to visit. Javier's is really good and so is the hut. Stay away from the pizza night not so good. The only bad meal we had all week was that, everything else was fantastic. We did sit in on a timeshare sales pitch which took exactly 90 mins but were able to get 2 rounds of golf at a nearby Jack Nicholson course for free as well as two 90 min massages for free!!! Saved us good money!! There spa is beautiful and massages were really good. Overall would come back here in a heartbeat!!! We booked this trip off travelzoo and would do it again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    245
    55
    31
    29
See reviews for
396
580
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Jan. 2nd we visited Cabo Azul for a family wedding. Our trip was amazing, from our activities to the wedding in the Chapel and reception at Javiers. The staff was over the top..very helpful and courteous. Louis at the front desk to Juan at Flore de Noche, plus many more.The pools, rooms and amenities were excellent. Only one pool was heated, closest to the beach.. could of been turned on to warm a lil earlier, took awhile... but still wonderful. I have heard different comments on the lighting in the rooms, we found on the light switch plates a little lever to control this. It worked much better. Over all a top notch experience, and I would def return to Cabo Azul. I can sum it up to a perfect winter get away. Weather was 75-78 everyday and sunny. Beach was not swimmable, but we took a taxi ride to Palmilla Beach, not far away. Perfect..senery was gorgeous. We went to LaPangas for dinner, gorgeous place, food was good. Also went to Habanero's.. only thing disappointing was the Mexican dinner menu was very limited. Mucho Gracias Cabo Azul, and we will return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Cabo Azul hotel last July. The hotel is gorgeous, the infinity pool is just perfect, they pool bar is great and the crew is super helpful.
We own the diamond resorts timeshare and we got a free ride back and forth to the airport just for listening to the 2 hour sales lady. This is worth about $60 so its actually nice to get it for free.
The room was quite big and nice, although the area is quiet not like actual cabo san lucas were all the nightclubs are located, if you look for night life maybe you should stay in cabo san lucas since its about 45 min away from san jose del cabo.
The nearest beach is Palmilla and its a gorgeous beach, in my opinion a little better than cabo san lucas if you are looking for more privacy.
The beach in the hotel is not swim-able though, maybe the only thing I didn't like from the hotel.
The bed is probably in my top 3 most comfy beds I've ever slept in. SOOOO COMFY. The rooms are very nice, ours had a kitchen with all the tools you need for cooking, also had a jacuzzi and shower. Very clean rooms and a nice view. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gincandiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from 6 nights at Cabo Azul. The property is beautiful, the pool is phenomenal, rooms spacious and well appointed, the beach is great for sunning and walking (not swimming but who cares?), the staff friendly and accomodating, the food very good. Our room was serviced 2-3 times each day, and staff was always cleaning on the property. Everything was impeccable. It was a relaxing trip which is what we needed. We found little need to go to Cabo San Lucas more than once. We walked to the Mega Mart and the town of San Jose del Cabo (and taxi'ed back). Enjoyed the daily happy hr (2 for 1) and taco specials M-W-F. The only - and I mean only criticism- was that the room lighting was very dim esp. at night. But it's vacation so who cares?! There was always ample seating at the pool or the beach, plenty of towels, and the cabanas are wonderful for naps!

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces the water. we had a first floor room which was fine, right off the pool b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lornadoone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went here for New Years for 5 days. Upon entry we were a little put-off because the lobby is, at this point, located in one of the suites of the hotel. Do not let this affect your trip....the lobby is being reconstructed in an expansion of the hotel and the service at check-in and afterwards make the hotel a wonderful experience. We were spoiled with our 2600 3 bedroom, 3 full bathroom suite that has every thing you can ever desire, including a beautiful view of the ocean and 3 heated pools.

The pool area is very nice with beds in the pool and plenty of lounge chairs to your availability. Each pool is heated to a different temperature. The service at the pool and the food is very good.

The joy of the resort is Javier's...the food here is very good and the atmosphere very nice. We enjoyed a great New Year's evening with endless supply of great food, drinks, and dancing.

I don't usually pay incredible attention to landscaping, but this place is amazing...not even a leaf on the ground. Spotless.

The beach is beautiful, but please note that most of the beachs in San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas proper have strong rip tides and people are advised to stay out of the water. No worries, the pool is FANTASTIC.

The ONLY downfall to this resort is the riduculous check-out hour of 10am. I have been in hundreds of hotels around the world and have NEVER experienced a 10am check out. This to me, is unacceptable and they were not flexible to give us a later check-out, but did offer a small "changing room" should we choose.

At the end of the day, this did not spoil the beautiful place that is Cabo Azul along with its fantastic service, cleanliness, and food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just got back from Cabo Azul. One of the best trips EVER ! ( we go 4 x a year) Weather was perfect. Everybody is so Friendly & Happy - Rodrigo (Bellman) is such a Great guy and is always there to help with anything you need. Eleno (Front Desk Manager) always makes sure everything is perfect. Any of the guys down by the pool are there for whatever you need. Drinks,Food (Best Shrimp quesadilla's weve ever had) , Towels .. Anything.. The pool pods are our Favorite - they hold 4 people and you can just relax. We walk to Mega Mart (10 -15 minutes - nice walk) and take a cab back with our groceries ($5) so with the Full Kitchen - we are set for the week. Rooms are AMAZING! We walked down the beach to check out the New marina & We always walk into town - it's close and it's a fun walk but if you want to cab it - It's like 3 minute cab ride. We LOVE Flora Farms (10 acre organic farm) for Dinner - Morgan's Cellar is a 5 minute Cab ride and the place is Great and The Tropicana is not even 5 minutes and It's a great place to sit on the patio for Lunch -Dinner/ Drinks..TIP: We found Rossy's tacos (5 minute cab) - total dive - Delicious super inexpensive food. We'll never stay anywhere else in Cabo - Cabo Azul is perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TDChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at Cabo Azul Resort. We stayed in a one bedroom suite at this beautiful timeshare resort in San Jose del Cabo. Every staff member we encountered, including those we just passed in the hall, was so cheerful and helpful. There were staff everywhere making sure all your needs were met.

The rooms are spacious and beautiful, though as all the reviews have said, the lighting is quite poor. This is an issue they resort is aware of and planning to correct. The beds are extremely comfortable.

The pool area is wonderful. There are three pools, all kept at different temperatures, that are surrounded by comfortable lounge chairs and plenty of umbrellas for shade if you like. The also have several lounge chairs and umbrellas on their beach area - which was really nice.

The exercise room is well equipped. The restaurants are beautiful, though Flor de Noche has a relatively limited menu. Another wonderful surprise was the daily maid service - something out of the ordinary in our experience.

As reviews have mentioned, they do pressure you in to a timeshare presentation, but unlike others, we didn't find the presentation high pressure,

I highly recommend Cabo Azul resort to anyone who is looking for a laid back, gorgeous resort, and is wanting a fully equipped suite with kitchen. They won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammyk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 2,248 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,361 reviews
6.0 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos
Marquis Los Cabos
#4 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing