We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolute Love” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolute Love”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

First off, I would like to mention that we are Monarch Vacation owners. This resort was recently bought out by Diamond Resorts. We attended an "owner update" to find out the status of our ownership. Of course, they wanted us to convert to Diamond but we choose to stay with Monarch. It was explained to us that we may not have the choice in units like before but we are ok with that. We can just book in advance and hope for the best. Besides, I didn't have an extra $12,000.00 at the moment.

As for the resort itself, we just love it. The staff is excellent and the resort itself is top quality. The units are very comfortable with the exception of not having very good lighting. One of the staff, Alejandro quickly brought us a lamp and attended to all our needs. The bar staff was very friendly and learned to call us by name. We met many nice people there and witnessed first hand how the staff responds to a medical emergency. One of the guests had a seizure. Luckily, we were sitting with a PA who responded along with a paramedic on property. She was taken to the hospital for observation for 24 hours and came back to enjoy the rest of her vacation.

The pools are warm and inviting. We enjoyed them very much. The food at the restaurants is expensive so we went to the Mega foods and purchased food to prepare in our unit. The variety at Mega is great and all very reasonable. You can easily walk up and take a taxi back for $5.00.

The beds are in one word, heavenly! There is a cat-5 internet connection that we used which is covered in the daily amenities fee of $150 pesos a day. That also includes daily maid service.

We visited the spa for a wonderful massage. We received the massage at a special of $38 dollars.

The weather was in the 80's with low humidity and felt very nice.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor garden view 2 bedroom and it was fine with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katied00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    283
    63
    32
    30
See reviews for
463
681
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a beautiful and romantic place to stay in Cabo, Cabo Azul is it. The villas are spacious and very clean and come with a full kitchen. The rooms are dimly lit so beware but overall I can't complain.

The property is gorgeous and the food at their pool side restaurant is awesome (especially $2.00 tacos on Mon/Wed/Fri). The deli has decent breakfast and the market has everything you need.

It's a quick 5 min taxi ride to the city which is very safe, has plenty of restaurants and amazing shops.

One of the nicest things about Cabo Azul is their staff. Warm, helpful and really nice people who make the stay even more enjoyable. Definitly a place I will be staying at again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amita78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I don't normally write reviews.
This place really is missing what you would expect when you part with your money.
We chose this hotel over others as it advertised wireless Internet and was a bit more expensive so we were hoping for really great service with a bit of luxury.
On check within the 1st minute of check in we were told we would be charged 125 dollars if we didn't check out by 10:30 on the day we left. Just not what you want to here really. We were also told that the Internet in the room was wired and not wireless and only travel these days with iPads. Again if you know this before hand you wouldn't mind so much. The only wireless Internet that was available is by a certain small section by the pool or at a deli.
In fairness to them they put a wireless router in our room.
We were told our room was ready but we couldn't to go to it because we had to wait until the wireless router was put in.
The service at the hotel is really hugely off. Every time we go to the pool we ave to go and ask for our own towels for beds, we are never offered water by the pool. Now this does sound very fussy I'm sure your thinking but it truly is all the small things that make all the difference at hotels. There are a lot of staff that I would describe as employed. That's about it. Just not switched on and aware. We walk past staff a d they don't even acknowledge that you exist. Again this just wasn't on one occasion but everywhere you go.
The signage at the hotel is by far the worst I have ever seen in the world. Anyone that has been here would agree with this. If the elevator isn't working like we experienced to find a staircase is almost impossible. To get help to show you were to go is the same.
The pools are very nice as are the rooms but its just missing the important things that could transform this place. You will read others though as we did and it says all luxury. I really can't believe anyone that has travelled anywhere in the world would write this.
If you know what you are paying for in advance you would accept it. This was far from the cheapest hotel but felt like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank benmurrell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Absolutely beautiful, truly. I went with my boyfriend this past January 2012. A couple of minor issues only -- they were renovating the outdoor patio so when we were on the beach i heard the sound of drilling . Whats funny is that it didnt bother anyone else but me! Of course, by now the renovations might be over but check that out. the weather there in january was not superb. At 5pm when we were having a massage on the beach, it was chilly i recall. At night I was wearing a leather jacket. Also the water at the beach was rough so i would not go in, my bf did, though. I prefer calmer water, but realize it is the Pacific Ocean there....IF you really want to swim at the beach you might not want the pacific waters....aruba better for that... Okay so the good stuff. A stunning room! and i saw others just as stunning if not more! the infinity pools are amazing and the swim up bar! Staff was great! they came up to us on the beach to take our lunch order everyday which was great! We ate breakfast poolside which was nice, if you want less expensive, just go to their gift shop/cafe they have a nice selection of things there. We went out to eat everynight i like to get out and explore. The cab ride downtown is a bit expensive fyi. we went there one night for dancing which was great but a bit of a seedy area. the other areas of cabo great for restaurants! And i loved the snorkeling trip to the caves! When you pull up to the hotel the entrance faces a parking lot which is weird but when you come around the other side, AMAZING! We will go back this year because my BF actually purchased another week when he went to the timeshare meeting. But we want to go in a warmer month and we will definitely make sure there is no construction near the beach as we are avid beach bums! Don't miss the horse back riding too! OH and do not get a tattoo! I broke out in hives from it! lol enjoy! I can't remember the name , but go to the hotel for drinks that George Clooney and Aniston frequent. amazing view! google it..it has sushi. there were not many kids here as there was no kiddy pool. that worked for me!

Room Tip: we had a garden view room so we walked out of the room and were right near the beach which we liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went for the first time this past week. It was great. Excellent service, really top draw food, and fun staff. The staff remember my daughter and her husband from their last visit, and couldn't have been nicer. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnsfavorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We've been to some pretty beautiful properties in the past, but Cabo Azul really took the cake. The architecture was gorgeous. The grounds impeccably clean. The villas decor was unmatched. And the infinity pools? Amazing. The restaurants had good food and the staff was friendly. Highly recommend checking out the spa as well. It was positively dreamy inside. If you're looking for a good resort in Cabo, look no further than Cabo Azul. TravelZoo and Amazon Local have been also running some pretty impeccable deals for this place for $599 for 4 nights. Our stay at Cabo Azul was easily one of the most relaxing vacations I have had. I usually love to hit the ground running while traveling, but I can honestly stay for once it was hard to ever leave where we were staying! Go go go!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I never thought I would purchase a timeshare, but 4 years ago we decided to take a leap of faith and purchase into Pacific Monarch Resorts, because of Cabo Azul - a beautifully constructed resort in San Jose Del Cabo, the sister city to my hometown of Carpinteria, California. Pacific Monarch had 9 resorts and Cabo Azul was definitely the jewel in the crown. It is still beautiful with the most amazing pools and outdoor swim up bar. The service is wonderful. The villas are gorgeous and they have so many amenities. When we first joined they had wonderful yoga and salsa classes which they no longer offer. They have a gym and spa however, and can arrange for private yoga lessons. Unfortunately, Pacific Monarch has gone bankrupt and this resort has been purchased by Diamond. They are honoring Pacific Monarch memberships. It seems like Diamond has enough funds to finish the front of the building. Unfortunately, it costs a ton more money to become a Diamond timeshare owner than it did to become a Pacific Monarch owner and after January 1, 2013 they are only allotting one building to the previous Pacific Monarch owners - Building six which faces the pool. The rest of the resort will be for Diamond owners. We suffered through the timeshare spiel yet again when we visited this time - mainly because we wanted to see what the Diamond buyout means to us. The saleslady could not believe it when we said we don't want more choices but less. I like simplicity in my life and too many choices is confusing. Anyway, we wait to see what happens to this resort under Diamond and whether or not we will be able to get in when we want as Pacific Monarch owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starsshadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#5 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#2 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
17.8 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosew...
#1 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing