We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabo Azul Resort
Nearby Hotels
$406
$225
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
El Encanto Inn & Suites Boutique Hotel(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$259
$218
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$276
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Real Los Cabos(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$122
$111
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$587
$464
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$203
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa del Mar Golf Resort & Spa(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$266
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Ventanas al Paraiso, A Rosewood Resort(San Jose del Cabo)
$830
$747
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Resort Los Cabos All-Inclusive(San Jose del Cabo)(Great Value!)
$227
$187
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveler rating
1,461
335
73
45
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,461
335
73
45
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbedroom villajavier's restaurantswim up barserenity poolflor de nocheterry clothtime sharesan josetimeshare presentationdirectly across the streetocean viewrip tideslounge chairstimeshare pitchtacosexchange rate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,330 - 1,335 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Summary: Quiet, clean place with very friendly service. Nice pools and small, but clean beach area. A great place to do nothing but relax by the pool.

Used a TravelZoo deal ($800 for 4 nights - 2bdrm villa), so it was a great value for us.

Pros:
Rooms: Clean. Quiet. New appliances.
Staff: Friendly staff (reception, servers, concierge)
Fitness area: newer machines with individual TVs + free weight room
Beach: Private beach area small, but clean …not a swimming beach
Pools: nice infinity pools with swim up bar
Internet: free
Restaurant: (Flor de Noche) very good – especially the ceviche and tuna tartar.


Cons:
Dark rooms – need better lighting
TV in living area a bit small (for a new, luxury resort).
Weak Wi-fi around pool area.
Only wired internet in room
Not much to see/do walking distance from the resort

Other:
Didn't go to the main restaurant (Javiers), so no comment there.
Lunch at timeshare presentation was awful (on par with airplane food).
$5 cab ride to San Jose del Cabo, $35 to Cabo San Lucas
MegaMart about 1 mile away. There's also an onsite mini-mart.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CiaoFunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This place is literally perfect. But a bit too perfect for me. It is a resort with restaurant pool spa gym etc all designed in classy luxury . However, very little of authentic Mexico is there for viewing. It has a somewhat Vegas-y sanitized style to it. You will be totally safe here, you will not get food poisoning and you can just switch off and lounge by three of the most beautiful infinity pools you've ever seen.
Also they tell you not to go into the ocean because od rip tides. But I think that more out of fear of lawsuits than real danger. I went in on the last day and regretted not having going in earlier.
If you have the money to spend (and spend it you will - the prices are equivalent to a resort in the US) and you don't want to lift a finger. This is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolab478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Cabo Azul in May. It was absolutely amazing. The grounds are extremely lush and well kept. Everything was extremely clean. The pool area was amazing, probably the nicest that I have ever seen. Beautiful infinity pools overlooking the beach and ocean with a swim up bar. Even cooler at night with torches around the pool area. The lounge chairs and cocoons were extremely comfortable and the covers were changed daily so they were very clean. The rooms were beautiful and huge, everything is top notch and very luxurious. The service was good and the tacos at the pool were awesome.

There really isn't much about this resort that could be better. One small disadvantage is the location is at a no-swim beach, but I am not the type of person that would swim in the ocean over the pool anyways, so that did not bother me a bit. A plus of the location is that it is a short walk away from a grocery store where you can stock up on food for the room to save a bit of money on meals.

I highly recommend this resort and would definitely like to stay here again in the future. I have always been skeptical of timeshares, but after staying here, I will even give some consideration to one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markl175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had 5 adults with 3 kids for a family getaway. The resort was really great. From the first reception at the lobby to check-out, we really have no complaints. We were greated warmly, the bellman helped unload the car and delivered the bags to our room without delay. The check-in was easy - we got the Villa we reserved. The upgrades that came with our room were presented quickly by the concierge and we were on our way to lunch to feed the hungry kids. Lunch in the pool side restaurant was quick, good quality, and the service was just fine all 3 times we ate there.

Dinner at Javiers is quite good. It's always a nice portion, well presented and executed. It's definitely worth a visit during your stay. The outdoor space is great just by the beach.

The pool and poolside bar were great. Big space, plenty of cabanas and lounge chairs. You don't need to rush out in the morning to reserve a spot. It's adult and kid friendly. There are 3 pools all casading down into each other. The beach is clean and fun, but you should not swim at the beach in Cabo. It's just way too rough and wild to take a chance.

We went on a horseback ride at sunset with the kids and 3 adults. That was great as it went allong the beach. It's beautiful and fun. Was a memorable experience for all. The hotel included this little perk as part of our package.

Our room was a 3 bedroom villa. It was literally on the waterfront. It included jacuzzi's in two rooms, huge walk-in closets, TV's, dining table to seat 8, and a full and well equipped kitchen. The large outdoor balcony also had a King size bed lounger adjacent to the even larger out-door jacuzzi. We loved that little extra feature.

The on-site market also made it convenient to get basic groceries, and there is large grocery store a very short distance away if you need to really stock-up. Also, for the kids, the on-site market rents DVDs!

Finally, the event staff helped us cater in a buffet breakfast in our room to celebrate a big birthday. They arranged a nice flower arrangement and full table setting at our in-room dining table. They arranged for room service to deliver the room service menu to us but presented family style on our kitchen island. It was a real treat. And it really made us feel at home in our hotel suite. It was a nice way to have a family moment - and it was worth the modest cost to get it all arranged.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I am an avid traveler to Cabo/San Jose at least few times a year, but have never been in the month of September, In a quick note, this seems to be the maintenace month for some hotels due to it
being the low season and tropical weather.

With that said, Cabo Azul should notifie their guests of any maintenace or major construction projects that are being done at the time of a guests stay. When we arrived, we were very disapointed to hear the main pool bar and restaurant was closed and under construction!
upon walking to our room, they failed to let us know the chapel was under maintence as well,
so what was to be an expected beautiful landscape, was tarnished by scaffolds, sanding,
air compressors and hammering. Getting away to relax by a pool was not going to happen!
They did not offer any discount due to the maintenance either! Management could really care
less!

Rooms are very spacious, beds are nice, but the pillows are horrible! you feel like you are sleeping
on a brick! Couches are very uncomfortable and hard! Seems like these are easy fixes they should
take heart to!

Location is great, the town of San Jose we loved! It might be worth another try during a different
month, but, this las trip was no Luxury Vacation, and am a little gun shy to try and stay with them
again!

Room Tip: Make Sure you request anything above the first floor. Rooms on the first floor have no privacy. If you stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor, you can have a peak aboo of the ocean through their landscaped palm trees, I suggest rooms 4 floor and above.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunbound13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews