We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for a Honeymoon”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing place for a Honeymoon”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights at the start of August this year as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa. The villas are very nice, and very large. They have a decent size kitchen, lounge, bedroom (with Jacuzzi bath) and seperate shower room.

We ate in Flore de Noche for lunch most days, they had a decent selection and the food was very nice. The Tacos were especially good. We didnt eat in Javiers as we went out most nights.

The 3 pools look amazing and the swim up bar is amazing. All the employees are very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. The bar men at the swim up bar make excellent cocktails.

The only slight negative was its location. We went to Cabo San Jose and found it to be too quite, so the rest of the time we took a cab to Cabo San Lucas.

Thanks to Cabo Azul for an amazin time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDSWORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    306
    68
    41
    37
See reviews for
532
746
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is insanely nice. They host beach parties, which are great (not trashy like some of the all-inclusives). There are 2 restaurants, both of which are incredible in both quality and ambiance. The rooms are spacious and the pool area looks like you're in a 7 star resort in Thailand. Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a very nice property. Clean, modern and very luxurious and beautiful. They claim the wedding chapel alone cost $12 Million. The pools are delightful. The food in the main restaurant is delicious. Here are some quick dos and don'ts.

- Do take a shuttle offered by the resort from the airport. There are way too many tricky timeshare sales people waiting at the airport for you.
- Do go to Mega and get things for your fridge.
- If you want free wi-fi, do get the beach chaise close to the tower desk by the pool.

- Don't go to city of San Jose, it's not worth the trip.
- Don't stop inside the airport when you arrive. Ignore whatever they say. I was on a shuttle with a Mexican native. They were able to flat out lie to her and trap her inside. It was unbelievable.
- Don't plan on swimming in the ocean or lying on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jzwy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in a two bed, two bath unit in mid August. Overall, I can't say enough wonderful things about this resort. It truly raised the bar. For anyone who scoffs at the concept of timeshares or vacation ownership, I laugh at you.

The awesome:

The decor was gorgeous. Each bedroom plus the living area has its own thermostat so everyone can stay comfortable. The thermostats only go down to 68 deg., but that was just about right for us. Three infinity pools terraced, one flowing into the next. Top one is the warmes, bottom the coolest. Couple of hot tubs as well. All the chaise lounges had terry cloth mattresses, laundered daily. Lovely! There are also hammocks and these wicker covered double beds with pillows around the pool, too. A couple of large, black mattresses were located IN the pool! Not a lot of people took advantage of those; I think it was just too hot. Beach was well manicured with plenty of tilapas with more cushioned chaise lounges to enjoy. Grounds were artistically decorated with sculptures, fire pits and lanterns, with a wide variety of botanicals to enjoy.

The bed was amongst the most comfortable I've slept in, in a hotel. Not too hard nor too soft. As others have mentioned, the lighting is a bit dim, especially in the 2nd bedroom where there is an insignificant little window. Bathrooms' lighting are better, but still not great.

Note: the unit's coffee maker uses cone filters, NOT basket. Yet for some reason in the hotel's mercado, all they sold were basket filters. Bring your own cone filters if you're a coffee drinker.

Restaurant, bar and deli foods were great, if a bit pricey. Happy hour (4 - 6 p.m.) was two-for-one on selected mixed drinks every day. Poolside wait staff, and a swim-up bar made for an extremely luxurious time! The pastries and desserts in the deli were absolutely amazing. Top notch!

The internet cafe, located in the deli, had several desktop computers available at no charge for your use. The connection speed was ok; not the greatest, but not terrible. I never was able to get a really good wifi connection anywhere, though (and I tried!).

Staff was wonderfully friendly and accommodating. Daily maid service was terrific. Towel guys by the pool were actually out of towels at one point but hand delivered some to me down by the beach as soon as they got them. Wow!

The O.K.:
Cabo...when you're outside of the resort area, it really isn't very pretty. Yes, the arch is pretty and the water lovely to look at, but rip currents preclude swimming on most beaches. It is desert, despite the high humidity. Water is NOT safe to drink outside of the resort. The resort did have its own filtration system, but still the water smelled pretty funky coming out of the tap.

The not-so-hot:
Check-in. Very small, open air reception area was steaming hot and crowded. We waited in line, having arrived well past check-in time. The receptionist pulled out some pre-assembled registration packets (including room cards), but told us that they needed to call Housekeeping to confirm that our unit was clean and ready...so we needed to go speak with the concierge and pick up our welcome packet. This, of course, was simply a ploy to give the concierge an opportunity to pummel us into submission and agree to sitting through a timeshare presentation. Grrrrr! I wish they'd been a bit more honest with us and simply said, "Here's your key, be sure to visit the concierge and receive your welcome packet and a special welcome gift. Have a great stay!" But no.

Overall, we wanted a place to vegitate at, with little inclination to tour around. This was it. Highly recommend the resort, not so hot on the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Bring Cone coffee filters as they don't sell them there. Insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 3pt5woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've been to many resorts but I'll admit that Cabo Azul is probably the best one so far. The resort is beautifully laid out and well manicured. Three connecting infinity pools over-looking the oceans are a piece of art. Maid service is exceptional, and beddings is extremely comfortable. Though Cabo Azul resort is in San Jose del Cabo, stay here when you come to Cabo San Lucas. I strongly recommend this place, once you're checked in you probably don't want to leave the resort. The front desk lady Paola Servilla is also very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My Boyfriend and I had the most wonderful time and experience at Cabo Azul. I planned a brief trip as a birthday surprise for my boyfriend and wanted nothing but the best for our quick trip. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the extremely friendly staff and that same friendliness lasted our entire stay. The room was fantastic and they did everything to accomadate our needs/desires. The spa was great as well as the fitness center. The pools are simply incredible and the views while relaxing by the pool looking out to the ocean and hearing the waves crash was just what I had hoped for. We are already planning our next trip back with no hesitation to stay at Cabo Azul. One more thing, we had a fantastic driver named Oscar that you can ask for when you land at the airport...he ended up being our own chaffeur.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A FANTASTIC trip for our honeymoon to Cabo Azul! The room was amazing! We walked in and they had flower petals on the bed in a heart! The beds are awesome--so comfortable you just sink in (we've never slept better!) The view from the 6th floor overlooking the pool was spectacular. We took advantage of the full kitchen and went took a $5 cab ride to the Mega to buy food, tequila and pacifico. We also picked up a few things throughout the week at El Mercado inside the resort. The staff at the resort keep it immaculate and the waiters at Flor de Noche are top notch. They are VERY attentive and make sure you have everything you need while at the restaurant, swim up bar or lounging around the pool. Even when it poured for more than 2 days (the worst rain the Los Cabos area has seen in 3 years) the staff was busting their butts to keep everyone happy. Walking in the rain to deliver drinks to the hot tub, soaked shoes, umbrellas when it was really raining--that doesn't include those people who were squeegeeing every few minutes to get rid of the water in various places around the resort. After the rain was done, you never would've been able to tell. The happy hour from 4-6pm is 2 for 1 drinks and M, W, F are $2 taco days--the steak tacos are TASTY! We ate dinner at Flor de Noche as well--the lobster for two=GREAT!!!! The concierge is also fantastic and are ready and willing to help you book a trip (or reschedule in our case because of the rain). It's a $35 cab ride to Cabo San Lucas and a $5 cab to downtown San Jose del Cabo. A few peddlers are outside the hotel on the beach, but if you don't make eye contact you're fine. Take advantage of the horseback rides--you can also talk them down. :) It is a timeshare and we got our stay as a gift from my grandma. We sat through a 2 hour meeting, got lunch and a few free perks. Not too bad, but we knew that coming in. We will be coming back someday and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place that's a little more quiet and relaxed.

Room Tip: As for a high up Ocean View room. Ours was the 6th floor--the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,201 reviews
17.2 mi away
ME Cabo by Melia
ME Cabo by Melia
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
892 reviews
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Resort & Spa
JW Marriott Los Cabos Beach Reso...
#8 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
4,210 reviews
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
620 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Property: Cabo Azul Resort
Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vacatia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing