We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,101)
Filter reviews
2,101 results
Traveler rating
1,578
354
76
47
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,578
354
76
47
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villafull kitchenjavier's restaurantswim up barserenity poolflor de nocheterry clothtime sharesan josetimeshare presentationdirectly across the streetocean viewrip tideslounge chairstimeshare pitchtacosexchange rate
Filter
Updating list...
1,475 - 1,480 of 2,101 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a very nice property. Clean, modern and very luxurious and beautiful. They claim the wedding chapel alone cost $12 Million. The pools are delightful. The food in the main restaurant is delicious. Here are some quick dos and don'ts.

- Do take a shuttle offered by the resort from the airport. There are way too many tricky timeshare sales people waiting at the airport for you.
- Do go to Mega and get things for your fridge.
- If you want free wi-fi, do get the beach chaise close to the tower desk by the pool.

- Don't go to city of San Jose, it's not worth the trip.
- Don't stop inside the airport when you arrive. Ignore whatever they say. I was on a shuttle with a Mexican native. They were able to flat out lie to her and trap her inside. It was unbelievable.
- Don't plan on swimming in the ocean or lying on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jzwy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in a two bed, two bath unit in mid August. Overall, I can't say enough wonderful things about this resort. It truly raised the bar. For anyone who scoffs at the concept of timeshares or vacation ownership, I laugh at you.

The awesome:

The decor was gorgeous. Each bedroom plus the living area has its own thermostat so everyone can stay comfortable. The thermostats only go down to 68 deg., but that was just about right for us. Three infinity pools terraced, one flowing into the next. Top one is the warmes, bottom the coolest. Couple of hot tubs as well. All the chaise lounges had terry cloth mattresses, laundered daily. Lovely! There are also hammocks and these wicker covered double beds with pillows around the pool, too. A couple of large, black mattresses were located IN the pool! Not a lot of people took advantage of those; I think it was just too hot. Beach was well manicured with plenty of tilapas with more cushioned chaise lounges to enjoy. Grounds were artistically decorated with sculptures, fire pits and lanterns, with a wide variety of botanicals to enjoy.

The bed was amongst the most comfortable I've slept in, in a hotel. Not too hard nor too soft. As others have mentioned, the lighting is a bit dim, especially in the 2nd bedroom where there is an insignificant little window. Bathrooms' lighting are better, but still not great.

Note: the unit's coffee maker uses cone filters, NOT basket. Yet for some reason in the hotel's mercado, all they sold were basket filters. Bring your own cone filters if you're a coffee drinker.

Restaurant, bar and deli foods were great, if a bit pricey. Happy hour (4 - 6 p.m.) was two-for-one on selected mixed drinks every day. Poolside wait staff, and a swim-up bar made for an extremely luxurious time! The pastries and desserts in the deli were absolutely amazing. Top notch!

The internet cafe, located in the deli, had several desktop computers available at no charge for your use. The connection speed was ok; not the greatest, but not terrible. I never was able to get a really good wifi connection anywhere, though (and I tried!).

Staff was wonderfully friendly and accommodating. Daily maid service was terrific. Towel guys by the pool were actually out of towels at one point but hand delivered some to me down by the beach as soon as they got them. Wow!

The O.K.:
Cabo...when you're outside of the resort area, it really isn't very pretty. Yes, the arch is pretty and the water lovely to look at, but rip currents preclude swimming on most beaches. It is desert, despite the high humidity. Water is NOT safe to drink outside of the resort. The resort did have its own filtration system, but still the water smelled pretty funky coming out of the tap.

The not-so-hot:
Check-in. Very small, open air reception area was steaming hot and crowded. We waited in line, having arrived well past check-in time. The receptionist pulled out some pre-assembled registration packets (including room cards), but told us that they needed to call Housekeeping to confirm that our unit was clean and ready...so we needed to go speak with the concierge and pick up our welcome packet. This, of course, was simply a ploy to give the concierge an opportunity to pummel us into submission and agree to sitting through a timeshare presentation. Grrrrr! I wish they'd been a bit more honest with us and simply said, "Here's your key, be sure to visit the concierge and receive your welcome packet and a special welcome gift. Have a great stay!" But no.

Overall, we wanted a place to vegitate at, with little inclination to tour around. This was it. Highly recommend the resort, not so hot on the area.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Bring Cone coffee filters as they don't sell them there. Insist on bypassing the concierge and going straight to your room, unless you want to sit through a timeshare presentation.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 3pt5woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I've been to many resorts but I'll admit that Cabo Azul is probably the best one so far. The resort is beautifully laid out and well manicured. Three connecting infinity pools over-looking the oceans are a piece of art. Maid service is exceptional, and beddings is extremely comfortable. Though Cabo Azul resort is in San Jose del Cabo, stay here when you come to Cabo San Lucas. I strongly recommend this place, once you're checked in you probably don't want to leave the resort. The front desk lady Paola Servilla is also very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My Boyfriend and I had the most wonderful time and experience at Cabo Azul. I planned a brief trip as a birthday surprise for my boyfriend and wanted nothing but the best for our quick trip. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the extremely friendly staff and that same friendliness lasted our entire stay. The room was fantastic and they did everything to accomadate our needs/desires. The spa was great as well as the fitness center. The pools are simply incredible and the views while relaxing by the pool looking out to the ocean and hearing the waves crash was just what I had hoped for. We are already planning our next trip back with no hesitation to stay at Cabo Azul. One more thing, we had a fantastic driver named Oscar that you can ask for when you land at the airport...he ended up being our own chaffeur.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A FANTASTIC trip for our honeymoon to Cabo Azul! The room was amazing! We walked in and they had flower petals on the bed in a heart! The beds are awesome--so comfortable you just sink in (we've never slept better!) The view from the 6th floor overlooking the pool was spectacular. We took advantage of the full kitchen and went took a $5 cab ride to the Mega to buy food, tequila and pacifico. We also picked up a few things throughout the week at El Mercado inside the resort. The staff at the resort keep it immaculate and the waiters at Flor de Noche are top notch. They are VERY attentive and make sure you have everything you need while at the restaurant, swim up bar or lounging around the pool. Even when it poured for more than 2 days (the worst rain the Los Cabos area has seen in 3 years) the staff was busting their butts to keep everyone happy. Walking in the rain to deliver drinks to the hot tub, soaked shoes, umbrellas when it was really raining--that doesn't include those people who were squeegeeing every few minutes to get rid of the water in various places around the resort. After the rain was done, you never would've been able to tell. The happy hour from 4-6pm is 2 for 1 drinks and M, W, F are $2 taco days--the steak tacos are TASTY! We ate dinner at Flor de Noche as well--the lobster for two=GREAT!!!! The concierge is also fantastic and are ready and willing to help you book a trip (or reschedule in our case because of the rain). It's a $35 cab ride to Cabo San Lucas and a $5 cab to downtown San Jose del Cabo. A few peddlers are outside the hotel on the beach, but if you don't make eye contact you're fine. Take advantage of the horseback rides--you can also talk them down. :) It is a timeshare and we got our stay as a gift from my grandma. We sat through a 2 hour meeting, got lunch and a few free perks. Not too bad, but we knew that coming in. We will be coming back someday and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place that's a little more quiet and relaxed.

Room Tip: As for a high up Ocean View room. Ours was the 6th floor--the view is worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews