We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow blown away!”
Review of Cabo Azul Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cabo Azul Resort
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2011

OK i was very skepital about this place at first. Went as a time share presentation. Arrived at the resort and were greated by concierge. Everybody was extremely nice as they led us to our room. We stepped in and was blown away!! So we thought ...ok is this the "deluxe" room that they are trying to sell us on. Nope... we spoke to many people during our stay and they all all on par with ours. The resort is spotless!!! and i can be picky. Pools AMAZING!!! all three are infinity pools each a different temperature. I cant say enough how impressed we were with the grounds and rooms. The lighting is a little dim in the rooms but beautiful. I wont say what we paid, but it was a deal of a lifetime!!! well worth what ever they ask. Food at Javier's was very good and not nearly as expensive as we thought it would be. they have full kitchens in the units. A 5 min walk is a MEGA store, head there and stock up you will save big bucks. we are in our 3rd day of 4 night stay... there is very little in Cabo that will compare with this resort, i must say they got it right on this resort. Also if you are considering getting married in CABO look at the chapel area here at azul. a sunset wedding would be astonishing here. The resort is filled with mostly couples and a few small kids. feeling is VERY relaxed. Hard to say this but ....i like Cabo better than HAWAII...

Room Tip: call 4 days out and see if you can upgrade
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abeyta_CLD, VP of Corporate Marketing at Cabo Azul Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

This is what we strive for! Excellence. We love when we can win our skeptics over! Thank you for the glowing review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
There are newer reviews for Cabo Azul Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,443 - 1,449 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

My wife and I and our 2-1/2 year old just returned from Cabo Azul after a week long stay in a 2 bedroom unit. It was a very impressive property, 5 minutes from the center of San Jose del Cabo, and close to a major supermarket, and very good restaurants. We had a rental car for the week, but midway through the trip, we were pretty certain we really didn't need it (although valet parking was free - so that was a plus).

On check in, we were upgraded to a pool view from a garden view room, without asking. Check in time was 4pm, but our room was ready at 1:30 when we arrived. None of the pictures can do justice to the impression that is made when the bellman pulls back the curtains in the living room to reveal a set of 3 sliding glass doors that all slide into themselves, and disappear into the wall, leaving a wide open vista onto the patio, and grounds beyond. I had seen pictures before our arrival, but was still taken aback by how nice it actually was. The other reviews are accurate, the lighting in the bathrooms and second bedroom is quite dim, but you do get used to it, and appreciate it more at night than during the day. One gripe we had about the room was our coffee pot was a piece of junk. We should have called to have it replaced, but never did, we just kept screwing up our coffee in the morning.

The pool was fantastic, and we never had a problem finding seating (in fact we saw them ENFORCE towel rules, and would clear them after a certain amount of inactivity). The beach was beautiful, but not swimmable, and there were way too many beach hawkers out selling trinkets. They were not pushy, but they just sat there and looked at you...wierd? The main restaurant Javiers was fantastic. We ate there twice, and both meals were great. The view of the beach from the restaurant was beautiful. The pool bar was great as well (happy hour from 3-5 with 2x1 margaritas), but we did not eat there (although the food looked good). They also have taco days on Mon-Wed-Fri where they make fresh taco's for 25 pesos for steak, chicken, or pork or 35 pesos for fish or shrimp. These are a great inexpensive lunch by the pool.

In addition to the 2 restaurants, there is a deli which also serves full breakfasts everyday, and dinners some days, and there is a small market, which really is not too overpriced, and good for a few essentials. The deli also has about 10 computer stations where you can have a cup of coffe, and get your google fix with free internet..

Overall, this place is a true find. The rooms blow you away, the pool and pool bar are fantastic, the service is very attending, and the on site restaurant is very good. While the resort is a timeshare resort, it does not have the feel of one, and if you don't want to get involved in the timeshare previews, you'll never know they're there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AcesHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay and we're missing the atmosphere, food, service, and gorgeous view from our villa. We didn't have any problems avoiding the timeshare reps. They were persistent, but our attitude was that they were just doing their job. We rented a car for the day and drove around both San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas. We avoided the typical "tourist" stops and chose out of the way eateries during our drive... all incredibly fresh and delicious! But we also enjoyed the meals we had at both Javier's and Flor De Noche. We used TransCabo (link through the resort website) for a'port shuttle to the resort. Be aware that you don't pay for their shuttle service till you arrive and check in at the resort. In researching our options, we were told by TransBaja that they were the same as TransCabo... not true!! For those who expressed their disappointment in not being able to swim in the ocean... do your research prior to booking. All info. we read stated the dangers of rip currents. We would definitely visit this resort again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobile22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Second time to Cabo Azul. First time was in Feb 08 with newborn. This time around was pleasant but hit a few hiccups. Went with spouse and a couple and split a two bedroom villa. Were upgraded to a partial ocean view from a garden at no charge. Were given 1401, which is in building 1 next to mayan palace. Were overlooking some undeveloped area of cabo azul but had ocean views. First day our disposal wouldnt drain so they had maintenance in our room for 3 hours. The front desk offered up various rooms to us, which we looked at through the course of our day but non of them had the same view or light as 1401. All of them were very dark or facing bushes or the garden so after a few hours of searching we were offered a small resort credit and free breakfast. We also had our toaster break on the third day. We were offered to see the time share when we checked in for 200 per couple resort credit but we said no thank you but somehow were signed up for it even though we declined at check in. We called to cancel it a day ahead but had two different people call to confirm the morning of after cancelling so that was a bit of an annoyance. The first trip the resort seemed to play all relaxing music at the pool, like Cantoma (highly recommend this album). This time around, they played chill music at night and before 9am around the pool then daily at 9am, they would play the same songs over and over, which included Hurricane by Dylan, a lot of music from Grease the movie and lots of beegees. Not a huge deal but music sets the mood for anything so something to consider. Having run into all these snags, we had a great time once again. Cant wait to see the final finished resort. I will upload a shot from the room momentarily.

Overall, our friends were impressed by the beauty of the resort. We went through a few neighboring properties and cabo azul stands out amongst them for beauty. It really is a nice resort and we cant wait to come back next time.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LAAFTERHOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Outstanding property!! All the great reviews are spot on. Most beautiful pool I've seen in Mexico, and I have traveled a good bit. My husband and I went with 3 other couples and it was soooo relaxing. Staff was great, rooms were beautiful, onsite dining was very good. We did the timeshare preso, no hitches, no hard sell.

Would love to stay again! Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank luckiest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Getting there: Takes 20 mins from airport to the resort. Take one of the cabs; we took TransCabo and they charged $40 more than what a local cab would have charged.
Once in the resort: We had three tired children with us, but our 'personal concierge' wanted to walk us through his time share pitch. He made it quick and we declined.
Rooms: were nice and spacious...lighting in the 2nd room was horrible though. Not ideal when you have kids.. the master bedroom was great though. The views and sounds of the ocean were nice too.
Pools: were the highlight of the trip...everyone had fun
BUT....on the 3rd day, the water valve in the kitchen broke and started flooding our kitchen. Had to hold it down and got some electric shock from the insinkerator. Called house service; they were quick to arrive and fix the issue. The plumber apologised for the inconvenience and left. I would have expected our personal concierge to at least contact us and make sure we're ok..no such luck...they're only there as glorified sales associates. Very disappointing from that perspective.
I would still recommend the resort for folks with no kids. For families with kids, go with an all-inclusive resort with lots of kids activities.
Also, no internet anywhere except a limited part of the pool (50 yards radius from the hotspot)

Room Tip: No tip...they gave us no choice
Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank DummyDeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We went for my brothers wedding, it was a huge group of people!!! Cabo Azul staff catered to our every need!!! Thank you for your Patience and understanding!! Thank you for the endless service and smiles!!! We loved it and cant wait to go back but in a smaller group next time lol!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwcjg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
#9 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,174 reviews
14.2 mi away
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
1,221 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
One & Only Palmilla
One & Only Palmilla
#3 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
636 reviews
2.6 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,347 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabo Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabo Azul Resort

Address: Paseo Malecon SN | Lote 11 Fonatur, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $179 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cabo Azul Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Azul Resort has a truly fresh look and feel, far superior to any Cabo San Lucas resorts. Our Cabo resort and spa stands out from the standard Cabo San Lucas resorts and hotel choices in the San Jose del Cabo area with Studio, 1-bedroom, 2-bedroom, and 3-bedroom luxury villas guaranteed to pamper your mind and soul. We truly provide the luxury vacation you've been dreaming of. From the abundance of luxurious amenities to the thoughtful interior design choices, Cabo Azul Resort has labored over even the smallest of details to ensure an exceptional experience with every visit to our Cabo resort's ocean side paradise. Don't settle for anything less than the best at other Cabo resorts, find the perfect vacation at Cabo Azul Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabo Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabo Azul Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Cabo Azul
Cabo Azul Resort Spa
Cabo Azul Resort Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing