We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRASHING WAVES (big smile)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Club Regina Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“CRASHING WAVES (big smile)”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We are an owner at Club Regina and this was our third stay in over 12 years. We have always had a very nice stay and the service/staff has always been really great. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed. I will list the pros/cons so you have an expectation of the property. I will also try and give you tips that we have learned over the years to enhance your stay!

Location:
- We like being in the "sleepy" part of the corridor. 12 years ago the location felt more isolated but now it seems like people are finally realizing that this area is the place to be - great beaches and local food in San Jose if you venture off property (shhhh don't tell)!

Property:
- We love the look and layout of property. We don't mind walking all the steep walkways and steps (worked off my week of indulging in margaritas and homemade flour tortillas!). BTW, we are not kidding that you walk everywhere so be prepared. Staff will pick you up in golf cart if you need it (very accommodating). Hope they keep the property up - we noticed some of the exterior areas and pool areas were not well kept (peeling stucco, tiles to be cleaned/replaced, pool speakers seemed blown out!)

Room:
- They have definitely upgraded the rooms since our last visit (full fridge, granite countertops, nicer bedding, flat screen TV's). However, if you are just staying here for the first time you may think the rooms are "tired" looking and need a facelift. They STILL need to upgrade the couches and chairs in the living room! KItchen was well stocked and when our coffee pot broke they immediately brought us a new one!

Cabo/Club Regina Tips:
- Car rental cost us $500 with the CDW insurance. Worth it if you adventure out and you use it to go to Mega Store or CostCo and get all your food and drink for the week. I would recommend venturing out to Todos Santos. Parking out front is frustrating (all the spots are taken up by their on-site rental cars). They always helped us find a spot but it did take time!
- Buy your food at Mega/CostCo and eat in your room!!! - Your room has the best view (plus you can eat in your robe on balcony watching waves crash against rocks!). We ate almost every meal/snack in the room and it was totally worth it…
- Local Food - our best meal was at a very local spot called "Mariscos El Toro Guero" located about 20 minutes from property towards airport. BEST seafood and ceviche. You go here for the food not the view (right off highway on dirt road)… trust me you will have a great meal (salsa is REALLY spicy so beware!). Remember to order extra ceviche so you can put in fridge and enjoy on balcony! We also took big group to "Zippers" for casual dinner. Not the greatest food (however, my fish and chips was really tasty!). Can't beat live entertainment and view of surfers! Kids had fun playing on the beach...
- Deli On-Site - Check out the daily breakfast and dinner specials. You order at the deli and the restaurant delivers. Not as pricey as the restaurants. We ordered (3) roasted chickens with salsa and tortillas and fed 8 people (with leftovers). We were able to pick up all the other "fix ins" at CostCo (beans, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese, etc…) so it was REALLY great!
- Activities - Take part in the fun! We always meet the most interesting guests when we took part in the fun - yoga in the cove, water aerobics, pool volleyball, bingo and poker at adult swim up bar, roasting marshmallows on the beach, etc… wish they would rotate more activities! Brent (Activities Coordinator) was so great - seek him out and you will have a great time!
- Bring a soft cooler - We took beers/water to pool but bought our frozen drinks at pool. If you bring your own drinks to pool, at least tip the pool attendant!
- Keep all your receipts - it was easy to review final bill when we had all our receipts!
- Westin Spa - We had a great massage (beach cabana) down at the beach. Only downside was construction noise from pool (still relaxing and great therapists). Westin Spa had nicer features and you gett a 20% discount if you are a Club Regina member.
- Westin Gym - really nice workout facility…
- Club Regina Kids Club was NO BUENO!!! Small little room and no activities. We should have tried the Westin Kids Club. Check them both out BEFORE you drop the kids off!

Room Tip: There is a lot of pool construction going on a the Westin so get a room that is further away from We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JBMBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    163
    67
    29
    21
See reviews for
140
212
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

From the view to the staff - Club Regina was an awesome place to stay. The staff were all great - but Brent went out of his way to make it even more enjoyable. I look forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penhon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

sign us unit# 2211. a one bedroom unit with a mini kitchen an amazing ocean view balcony. our balcony is over hang the beach.All their staffs are very professional courteous and amazingly helpfull. This is my fifth times at this resort. Every times i went there. i had such a wonderfull experience there that i had no desire to try any other resort. Brent and alex are the two exceptionsl bartender and activities facilitators at the adult/water volleyball pool bar. All the staffs that I encountered with at this resort are just wonderfull. Cynthia and Alfonso receptionists at the front desk. Gala the conceige lady, el gato one of the driver who taking care of driving golf cart to transport guest within the resort. wether to go from my room to the pool, front desk or lobby. I apologize for not remember the names ofrest of the rest of the drivers there. I am looking forward to my return to this resort again next year. If you going to be in Cabo. I would highly recommend that you look into this great resort. you would not be regret.Of all my world wide travel, this is the best that I ever been too. have a wonderfull vacation.

Room Tip: I think all the units have the full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaiTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCS
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had an excellent stay at the Raintree last year, but this time around my experience wasn't quite as good. There is now a great deal of construction going on at adjacent properties, which means incessant construction noise from 8:30 am to 6pm 6 days a week. The wifi in the room was unreliable and frustrating.

There is a $6 /day charge for wifi, $17 for parking (which is excessive for Los Cabos), a $20 charge for losing your room key card, $25 for losing your towel card. Food is very overpriced for Cabo - basically one star quality at 5 star prices.

yes, the views from the rooms are excellent, probably unmatched for a property in this price range. But due to the above issues, I may not return to the Raintree in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcbajafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just returned from a visit to Los Cabos where we stayed at Club Regina with another couple in a Grand Suite ( 2 bedrooms, studio area with living room, balcony and kitchen and 3 full bathrooms). Our Grand Suite had a beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez and had everything we needed. The kitchen has a microwave, stovetop, dishwasher, fridge, etc but no oven. The beds were comfortable and other furnishings were adequate (nothing fancy). The room was a bit dusty on the floors when we arrived but a quick call to the staff resolved that. The cleaning service was excellent (even folded up my friend's dirty underwear that was on the floor lol). The towel animals were creative and different each time using props (sunglasses, sombreros, etc).

The pools were great and all had nice views. You can use the amenities next door at the Westin as well (the resorts are connected). We hung out on the beach which was relaxing (no vendors coming around trying to sell you things constantly). You cant swim in the ocean at the resort but we visited some of the surrounding swim-able beaches which was nice. We had the Inizio restaurant cook up some Dorado we caught on a fishing trip for us and they did an excellent job. Got a couples' massage from the spa and it was reasonable priced and the therapists did a great job.

The resort is built on a cliff basically so you either walk up and down the paths or just call the cart drivers and they will come pick you up and take you wherever you want to go within the resort (including the Westin) and were very quick.

The staff at the Club Regina was absolutely amazing. Everyone was very nice, knowledgeable and seemed genuinely happy to help. I work in the hospitality industry and I recognize and appreciate a service culture when I see it. Adberto one of the valets/cart drivers especially stood out.

We rented a car for our stay, but did take a taxi into Cabo San Lucas one night and it was about $30 each way. Not too bad for a night out on the town.

I would stay at the Club Regina again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLC1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The wife and I decided to take the kids to Mexico for the first time and a friend let us use their timeshare since they had points that were going to expire. We booked two one bedroom suites approx. 60 days in advance for a one week stay in early May. We requested them to be next to each other so the kids could have one(they are 14, 14 and 16 year old boys). We also requested rooms close to the beach. They had said that they could not guarantee rooms together or specific locations but they would work hard to try to honor our request. The rooms we received ended up being next to each other and right above the largest pool and very close to the beach(just a short walk). The view of the ocean, beach, pool and the adjacent Westin property was outstanding. I was a little worried about how we would get around in the resort with the golf cart service but we found that it was easy to use. We would call and the cart was at your room usually within 5-7 minutes. We used the valet service for our rental car and when we would request a cart ride from our room to the lobby, our car would be there waiting for us. All of the resort staff was very professional and friendly. We mostly ate away from the resort just because we like exploring but the one time we had the breakfast buffet, we found it to be of good quality.
The rooms were very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. Their is enough kitchen utensils, pots and pans to prepare most meals although we only used it to prepare a couple of breakfasts.
We all agreed that we would go back to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This was our first time staying at Club Regina and we will be back. We rented a Club Suite which included 2 rooms, 2 baths and a kitchen through hotels.com at a great price. I requested a room closest to the ocean and it was incredible ! We could hear the ocean every night and enjoyed the amazing views from both rooms. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The pools were great. The food in the restaurants were OK. We also walked over to the Westin for breakfast and dinner a couple of days (Club Regina guests get 20 % off the bill). When we visit again we will get a rental car as the taxi fares add up quickly (taxis cost $15 to San Jose and $32 to Cabo).

Room Tip: Select a room closest to the ocean. We were in room 3138/3139.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank issaquahrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.2 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#20 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
307 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#25 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
129 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
395 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Los Cabos

Property: Club Regina Los Cabos
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Regina Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Regina Los Cabos’ is a beachside resort located just a short drive from San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos’ two main towns. The resort sits at the intersection of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean, a major migratory site for whales and dolphins. In fact, it’s not unusual to see whales breaching in front of the resort from November to March. Club Regina Los Cabos’ gorgeous views and fantastic location makes it a great place to stay during your adventure in Baja California Sur. The resort’s orange adobe walls perfectly complement Los Cabos’ rugged desert terrain, and every room faces the sea, most offering fantastic views of the crystal clear waters of the Sea of Cortez. Each unit features flat-screen TVs and either jetted tubs or kitchenettes. Two on-site restaurants, a coffee shop & bar, and four swimming pools (two with their own bar) give guests plenty to enjoy during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Regina Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Regina Los Cabos
Resort Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing