We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star, but wonderful....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Regina Los Cabos
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Club Regina is located on a "non-swimmable beach" (not unusual in Cabo) hanging off the side of cliffs next door to the Westin Regina Hotel. Our two bedroom unit was just above the crashing waves with a wonderful view up the coast from the very private, nicely-sized balcony. Nice large bedrooms with king-sized beds with a living room and kitchenette/dining space in between them. A very large in-room spa tub went unused during our stay...

In addition to Club Regina's 3 pools and restaurant (Inizio) overlooking the beach and waves, there is easy access to the Westin facilities next door via a beach walk or golf carts that are easily summoned and free. Breakfast buffet changes daily and is excellent. What a treat to start the morning sitting on the Inizio terrace having breakfast with the waves pounding the beach below. And a dinner in the same place under the luna llena is not bad either. However, both the lunch menu and the location of the cafe are underwhelming. This is easily overcome by ordering lunch to be served poolside or wandering over to the Westin for lunch.

The reason it does not deserve a 5 star rating is the total lack of luxe in the decor and finishing touches. However, it has a certain very casual and nice beach style to it and the entire staff from room check-in to room service is efficient and very friendly. I enjoyed a very good, vigorous massage from Ana at on-site (not spa, but a room dedicated to massages).

All in all, an excellent experience and a good value to boot!

Room Tip: Get one as close to the beach as possible (the rooms are strung down the cliffside in 3 or 4 "t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAtraveler94087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 527 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

As always, some people have a great experience while others have a horrible experience. This time we had a great experience. Upon check-in, I got a room I had described that I wanted and it was available immediately.(before 4 p.m. check in time ). This set the pace for the 2 weeks I was here. The view from my room was so fantastic it was a chore for me to leave even to go to the pool! I will be back. Hopefully for another great experience.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyB702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just came back from 1 week here with 3 couples.

The location is the absolute best in the area. On a peaceful, idyllic point, well off the well maintained 4 lane highway. Regular Whale sightings from your balcony. Location is only 10 minutes from San Jose for basic groceries (Mega store, Europa Liquor store). Cabo is only approx 20 minutes to the west on. (Costco, Walmart, Home Depot etc...). A rental car is a definite bonus to enable day trip or grocery re-stocking. Felt safe everywhere we went in both Cabo and San Jose, so don't believe the anti-Mexican hype. Just park as soon as you can when driving into Cabo, as the drivers appear to invent 3 lane roads in the space for only 2. Look at even the newest vehicles, dents are common place. Great entertainment just watching the near misses while the ladies were shopping.

Great, relaxing time from check-in to departure with spectacular Sea of Cortez views from every room. Staff very attentive and provided excellent service. In particular the Cart drivers (Alejandro) who went over and above the call. Tipping was definitely appreciated. Carts at your door within 5 minutes and rental car valet good, with only minimal waits, if any. Entertainment also good, with particular praise for our Volleyball/Exercise motivator, Katherine who is just 1 month new to Raintree . Great hire, keep her around. Good facilities with 4 Raintree Infinity Pools and further access to two more at the adjoining Westin. Don't hesitate to eat at the Westin's great dining lounge or use their games room, pool bar, etc... as they also honor the same 20% discount Raintree patrons get at their private facilities. Pools are clean with no problem locating lounge chairs any day at any of the 3 main pool areas. Staff will bring/setup umbrellas for you upon request. Bedrooms are large with excellent King size beds/mattresses and in-bedroom jacuzzi tubs with own view of the Sea of Cortez. Rooms getting slightly dated, but cleaning staff do good job of daily cleaning. Full appliances, utensils, dishes in all suites, including 3 separate safes for Grand Suites (2 BR).

Overall, Had a great time and will definitely be back to the Raintree Cabo.

Room Tip: If you want extreme peace a quiet, ask to stay at the far East end of the resort. Even then walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TequilaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is probably the best experience I've ever had. The scenery and the accommodations are outright amazing, and I was floored by the attentiveness of the staff. Every morning, someone from the hospitality staff walked around the pool areas to see if *anyone* needed *anything* in their suites. And they delivered! Even with five-star hotels, I've never experienced service like this. I can't speak highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We fell in love with this place. It was perfect for what we were looking for: low key, quiet and no spring breakers in sight! This hotel is located in the corridor adjacent to the Westin. You can use all the Westin pools and facilities as a guest of the Regina. We didn’t even up going to the Westin as the Regina pools/beach areas are lovely and not crowded. This is a time share property that also rent out rooms to guests. We had the 1 bedroom Club Suite which was huge for 2 people. The room had 1 bedroom with a Jacuzzi, 2 full bathrooms with showers, a full kitchen/dining/living room with a terrace overlooking the Sea of Cortez. This is a bit older of a property that is currently being renovated. Some of the furniture looks a little worn but everything else was immaculately clean and well kept. We were lucky to have a room on the first floor literally a few steps away from the infinity pool and the beach. The beach is small but that’s all you really need because there’s rarely anyone there. The pool boys will set up umbrellas and lounge chairs for you. Since this is a huge property, there are trams that you can call to take you everywhere or walk. The walk is very scenic and allows you to enjoy all views and the amazing architecture.

The staff is very friendly and tipping helps a lot. We didn’t see other people tip for trams or for little service. However, we generally tip for service and hence got the best service all the time. The concierge is a letdown though. They are not as knowledgeable as I would've liked so you are better off asking the trams driver where to eat locally. Omar (one of the tram driver) gave us great recommendations for dinner in nearby San Jose. The golf concierge is great and knows where all the best golf places are. He recommended us to go to Palmilla which we loved. We went there 3x during the week. They have a Budget rental office in the lobby and you can usually get a good deal on it. We got 3 day rental for around $150 including all the taxes and insurance. Since the hotel is far out of town, you will need a car or taxi to get anywhere. Taxi is expensive so if you plan on leaving the resort at least 1x a day, you are better off renting a car.

We went to the Mega (10 minutes drive from the hotel) to stock up on food for breakfast and lunch for the week. They have everything including a lot of yummy antipasto and ready to eat meals for you. I plan on coming back to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge to move you to another room if you don't like yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First Let me say the locationa and facilities and down right amazing. The views of the ocean are like nothing I ever seen. During the spring you can see dozens of whales out your window. The wwaves rocking against the cliffs is a relaxing as it gets. The staff though is another storie they dont seem to have sense of time at all. We had to wait four hour for a roll away bed. The staff also contiued to pester us about another condo when we were already reconsidering the one we ccurrenly had. However at the westin which we had full access time seemed to better and more exciting. There was always music playing and games going. Together the two resorts make a good compliment. Overall I would recomend the resort to couples looking for a relaxing stay but families be prepared to find other means of entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stclass101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Club Regina in February; we have vacationed there several times. The oceanfront
location, the architecture, decor, pools, and employees all combine to create a lovely vacation
experience. At night, because the resort is not within either San Lucas or San Jose, the sky is
FILLED with stars that are never visible in metropolitan areas. It's delightful to walk throughout the
resort, and onto the Westin grounds. Taking the bus into either town is easy and safe, and allows you to be more of a traveler and less of a tourist. The club pools and bars have food and drink
specials regularly, and there is now a mini-golf course next to Pool C. The resort has an ocean water desalinization / purification system, so you can drink the tap water. In restaurants in both
towns, if they don't have purified water, your drink will not be served with ice. The tourist industry
would suffer otherwise. We first visited the Los Cabos area in 1995, and we've never had
"Montezuma's Revenge". Sooo, you don't need to buy bottled water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.2 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
327 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#27 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
273 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marisol Boutique Hotel
Marisol Boutique Hotel
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
264 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#11 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $216 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Regina Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Regina Los Cabos’ is a beachside resort located just a short drive from San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos’ two main towns. The resort sits at the intersection of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean, a major migratory site for whales and dolphins. In fact, it’s not unusual to see whales breaching in front of the resort from November to March. Club Regina Los Cabos’ gorgeous views and fantastic location makes it a great place to stay during your adventure in Baja California Sur. The resort’s orange adobe walls perfectly complement Los Cabos’ rugged desert terrain, and every room faces the sea, most offering fantastic views of the crystal clear waters of the Sea of Cortez. Each unit features flat-screen TVs and either jetted tubs or kitchenettes. Two on-site restaurants, a coffee shop & bar, and four swimming pools (two with their own bar) give guests plenty to enjoy during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Regina Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Regina Los Cabos
Resort Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing