We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch all the way:”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Club Regina Los Cabos
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is probably the best experience I've ever had. The scenery and the accommodations are outright amazing, and I was floored by the attentiveness of the staff. Every morning, someone from the hospitality staff walked around the pool areas to see if *anyone* needed *anything* in their suites. And they delivered! Even with five-star hotels, I've never experienced service like this. I can't speak highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 543 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

We fell in love with this place. It was perfect for what we were looking for: low key, quiet and no spring breakers in sight! This hotel is located in the corridor adjacent to the Westin. You can use all the Westin pools and facilities as a guest of the Regina. We didn’t even up going to the Westin as the Regina pools/beach areas are lovely and not crowded. This is a time share property that also rent out rooms to guests. We had the 1 bedroom Club Suite which was huge for 2 people. The room had 1 bedroom with a Jacuzzi, 2 full bathrooms with showers, a full kitchen/dining/living room with a terrace overlooking the Sea of Cortez. This is a bit older of a property that is currently being renovated. Some of the furniture looks a little worn but everything else was immaculately clean and well kept. We were lucky to have a room on the first floor literally a few steps away from the infinity pool and the beach. The beach is small but that’s all you really need because there’s rarely anyone there. The pool boys will set up umbrellas and lounge chairs for you. Since this is a huge property, there are trams that you can call to take you everywhere or walk. The walk is very scenic and allows you to enjoy all views and the amazing architecture.

The staff is very friendly and tipping helps a lot. We didn’t see other people tip for trams or for little service. However, we generally tip for service and hence got the best service all the time. The concierge is a letdown though. They are not as knowledgeable as I would've liked so you are better off asking the trams driver where to eat locally. Omar (one of the tram driver) gave us great recommendations for dinner in nearby San Jose. The golf concierge is great and knows where all the best golf places are. He recommended us to go to Palmilla which we loved. We went there 3x during the week. They have a Budget rental office in the lobby and you can usually get a good deal on it. We got 3 day rental for around $150 including all the taxes and insurance. Since the hotel is far out of town, you will need a car or taxi to get anywhere. Taxi is expensive so if you plan on leaving the resort at least 1x a day, you are better off renting a car.

We went to the Mega (10 minutes drive from the hotel) to stock up on food for breakfast and lunch for the week. They have everything including a lot of yummy antipasto and ready to eat meals for you. I plan on coming back to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the concierge to move you to another room if you don't like yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First Let me say the locationa and facilities and down right amazing. The views of the ocean are like nothing I ever seen. During the spring you can see dozens of whales out your window. The wwaves rocking against the cliffs is a relaxing as it gets. The staff though is another storie they dont seem to have sense of time at all. We had to wait four hour for a roll away bed. The staff also contiued to pester us about another condo when we were already reconsidering the one we ccurrenly had. However at the westin which we had full access time seemed to better and more exciting. There was always music playing and games going. Together the two resorts make a good compliment. Overall I would recomend the resort to couples looking for a relaxing stay but families be prepared to find other means of entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stclass101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Club Regina in February; we have vacationed there several times. The oceanfront
location, the architecture, decor, pools, and employees all combine to create a lovely vacation
experience. At night, because the resort is not within either San Lucas or San Jose, the sky is
FILLED with stars that are never visible in metropolitan areas. It's delightful to walk throughout the
resort, and onto the Westin grounds. Taking the bus into either town is easy and safe, and allows you to be more of a traveler and less of a tourist. The club pools and bars have food and drink
specials regularly, and there is now a mini-golf course next to Pool C. The resort has an ocean water desalinization / purification system, so you can drink the tap water. In restaurants in both
towns, if they don't have purified water, your drink will not be served with ice. The tourist industry
would suffer otherwise. We first visited the Los Cabos area in 1995, and we've never had
"Montezuma's Revenge". Sooo, you don't need to buy bottled water.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

First hotel I ever visit were the website pics don't do the rooms or hotel any justice. This hotel has great rooms with an amazing value for the money.... I loved my stay here. The tub in the room was a lot nicer than in the pics. The architecture is one of the most tasteful I have seen in the region.
The pool and amnesties were superb. The service was great too.

Room Tip: Choose the suite at the same price as a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just got back from 2 weeks in Cabo, 1 at Club Regina. The views are great. Each villa has a beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez with dolphins and whales putting on a show every day. The people that work there are very nice and helpful. We love the pools, there are several to pick from. The big minus is that the living room furniture is terrible! We never even sit on the living room couch. We have visited the Club Regina in Cabo 6 or 7 times, and we love it! One of the reviews I read by some whiner from Arizona had some valid points, but none were good enough (in my opinion) to keep anyone from visiting this gem of a destination!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cbratvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I do not understand how this resort (if you can call it that) is getting such high marks.
We own a timeshare here and this is our 2nd stay. We reviewed this place in past and also the restaurants which we found to be all disappointing. Not surprising everything appears frozen in time. We still give props to the gorgeous and stunning views overlooking the Sea of Cortez. We even saw whales this time breaching only a few hundred yards out.
During this one week stay we had rooms 3311 (bedroom),3312 (living room),3313 (bedroom). The rooms are very dated with original furniture. The sofa is very uncomfortable as are the chairs. The vent above the stove was broken leaving unsightly looking filter exposed - they did not fix during our stay. The living room fan squeaked when turned on. The wifi was spotty and worked best on the balcony early morning and mid day. Housecleaning was disappointing. 2 of our days were skipped, they would miss leaving wash clothes and hand towels, neglected to clean balcony, never swept "under" beds or furniture where I found dead cockroach. The cleaners do not speak english.
Tip - bring your own coffee - they now charge for it as part of the mini bar (40 pesos per pack).
The grounds are clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.
To get to beach to have to walk through next doors Westin Hotel. The Westin Resort and Club Regina used to be as one but are now divided. If you call front desk and ask to be put through to Westin they will say no. If you ask for name of restaurant at Westin they will not tell you. So if making reservations for dinner at the Westin to have to call directly. The Westin will not provide you towels now either - you need to bring your own. You can no longer charge food or drinks from Westin to your room at Raintree. When staying at the Club Regina (aka Raintree) all the excitement, food, pool action and beach fun is happening at the Westin. The pools at Club Regina are small and frankly after a couple of visits quit boring. So grab a towel and head next door.
The Club Regina can be likened as inexpensive stay for the next door Westin Resort. We will not stay here again and only rent our room out to others to help pay for yearly maintenance fees and get a bit of positive cash flow. Having a timeshare here taught us what to look for in buying next timeshare in this area.
And final word of caution - DO NOT TAKE THE FREE BREAKFAST OR INTRO PKG - This is STRONG and AGRESSIVE sales pitch to sell you a property.

Room Tip: go high up - better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
4.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,798 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#22 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
122 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel El Ganzo
Hotel El Ganzo
#18 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Villas & Spa
The Westin Los Cabos Resort Vill...
#19 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#5 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,397 reviews
4.4 mi away
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
Barcelo Gran Faro Los Cabos
#13 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Los Cabos

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $209 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Regina Los Cabos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Regina Los Cabos’ is a beachside resort located just a short drive from San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos’ two main towns. The resort sits at the intersection of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean, a major migratory site for whales and dolphins. In fact, it’s not unusual to see whales breaching in front of the resort from November to March. Club Regina Los Cabos’ gorgeous views and fantastic location makes it a great place to stay during your adventure in Baja California Sur. The resort’s orange adobe walls perfectly complement Los Cabos’ rugged desert terrain, and every room faces the sea, most offering fantastic views of the crystal clear waters of the Sea of Cortez. Each unit features flat-screen TVs and either jetted tubs or kitchenettes. Two on-site restaurants, a coffee shop & bar, and four swimming pools (two with their own bar) give guests plenty to enjoy during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Regina Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Regina Los Cabos
Resort Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing