We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Club Regina Los Cabos
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Destination!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Club Regina in February; we have vacationed there several times. The oceanfront
location, the architecture, decor, pools, and employees all combine to create a lovely vacation
experience. At night, because the resort is not within either San Lucas or San Jose, the sky is
FILLED with stars that are never visible in metropolitan areas. It's delightful to walk throughout the
resort, and onto the Westin grounds. Taking the bus into either town is easy and safe, and allows you to be more of a traveler and less of a tourist. The club pools and bars have food and drink
specials regularly, and there is now a mini-golf course next to Pool C. The resort has an ocean water desalinization / purification system, so you can drink the tap water. In restaurants in both
towns, if they don't have purified water, your drink will not be served with ice. The tourist industry
would suffer otherwise. We first visited the Los Cabos area in 1995, and we've never had
"Montezuma's Revenge". Sooo, you don't need to buy bottled water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    163
    67
    29
    21
See reviews for
140
211
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

First hotel I ever visit were the website pics don't do the rooms or hotel any justice. This hotel has great rooms with an amazing value for the money.... I loved my stay here. The tub in the room was a lot nicer than in the pics. The architecture is one of the most tasteful I have seen in the region.
The pool and amnesties were superb. The service was great too.

Room Tip: Choose the suite at the same price as a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, MT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from 2 weeks in Cabo, 1 at Club Regina. The views are great. Each villa has a beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez with dolphins and whales putting on a show every day. The people that work there are very nice and helpful. We love the pools, there are several to pick from. The big minus is that the living room furniture is terrible! We never even sit on the living room couch. We have visited the Club Regina in Cabo 6 or 7 times, and we love it! One of the reviews I read by some whiner from Arizona had some valid points, but none were good enough (in my opinion) to keep anyone from visiting this gem of a destination!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cbratvold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I do not understand how this resort (if you can call it that) is getting such high marks.
We own a timeshare here and this is our 2nd stay. We reviewed this place in past and also the restaurants which we found to be all disappointing. Not surprising everything appears frozen in time. We still give props to the gorgeous and stunning views overlooking the Sea of Cortez. We even saw whales this time breaching only a few hundred yards out.
During this one week stay we had rooms 3311 (bedroom),3312 (living room),3313 (bedroom). The rooms are very dated with original furniture. The sofa is very uncomfortable as are the chairs. The vent above the stove was broken leaving unsightly looking filter exposed - they did not fix during our stay. The living room fan squeaked when turned on. The wifi was spotty and worked best on the balcony early morning and mid day. Housecleaning was disappointing. 2 of our days were skipped, they would miss leaving wash clothes and hand towels, neglected to clean balcony, never swept "under" beds or furniture where I found dead cockroach. The cleaners do not speak english.
Tip - bring your own coffee - they now charge for it as part of the mini bar (40 pesos per pack).
The grounds are clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.
To get to beach to have to walk through next doors Westin Hotel. The Westin Resort and Club Regina used to be as one but are now divided. If you call front desk and ask to be put through to Westin they will say no. If you ask for name of restaurant at Westin they will not tell you. So if making reservations for dinner at the Westin to have to call directly. The Westin will not provide you towels now either - you need to bring your own. You can no longer charge food or drinks from Westin to your room at Raintree. When staying at the Club Regina (aka Raintree) all the excitement, food, pool action and beach fun is happening at the Westin. The pools at Club Regina are small and frankly after a couple of visits quit boring. So grab a towel and head next door.
The Club Regina can be likened as inexpensive stay for the next door Westin Resort. We will not stay here again and only rent our room out to others to help pay for yearly maintenance fees and get a bit of positive cash flow. Having a timeshare here taught us what to look for in buying next timeshare in this area.
And final word of caution - DO NOT TAKE THE FREE BREAKFAST OR INTRO PKG - This is STRONG and AGRESSIVE sales pitch to sell you a property.

Room Tip: go high up - better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Raintree Club Regina the week of March 16 -23 2013. This resort is amazing. The service was incredible. We have traveled to Hawaii multiple times and the only thing I rate Hawaii over Cabos for is snorkeling. Our room was large and well equipped. We did not realize until half way through the trip that the Microwave was also a convection oven. We ate breakfasts and lunch at the hotel and then had dinner at restaurants that take the Loscabospassport. This is a great 2 for 1 tool on Food and Activities. We booked Cabos Sail for
snorkeling and also the sunset cruise. They are AAAA+. We saw probably 30 whales from the beach and pool area during our week. So much for paying for whale watching. The beaches were secluded. this is an incredible place to stay and vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utahspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to Club Regina because my parents own a time-share there. It was our first time in Cabo, we were there during the spring break season. All rooms have an incredible ocean view and we were in a building closest to the water. The resort is built into the side of a rocky hill overlooking The Sea of Cotez (looking east across the water)l, it felt as if we were hanging over the water the way the buildings are situated. We were there at the end of whale season when whales migrate to the Sea of Cortez and have their babies. If you want to watch whales, all you need to do is look out to the water! Bring binoculars!! Because of the rocky hill, be ready to either walk a lot to get around, or be patient and call for a cart. The restaurants were pricey, but the rooms have full kitchens. Don't shop at the on site mini mart, it's even more expensive than the restaurants! Get a taxi and head to either Mega (Mexican Walmart), or Costco. Our best night there was spent going into the town of San Jose del Cabo and eating at Tequila, then doing the ART WALK which happens every Thursday night. We would go back to Club Regina!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the water. All rooms are great though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Club Regina was nice, location felt stranded if you wanted to go anywhere off site. $40 cab ride one way pretty much anywhere. Beaches are not pleasant to walk bare footed unless you want extreme exfoliation. Rough on the feet, rocky and impassable at times due to tide. Room staff did not know how to build the trundle bed. They packed the base with random comforters and towels. So we basically slept on a bumpy ramp the entire week. We caught the maid doing her make-up in our bathroom. Not sure if she was sampling from my make-up bag. Shower water was inconsistent from cold to hot. Pool and beach staff were very friendly and helpful. Note: guests intending on using kitchen. No paper towels or napkins in room. Inizio restaurant staff was neglectful. They failed to bring us water after being asked several times. And they did not bring us dessert menus after being asked twice (and this was on free dessert night). El Ciruelo at adjacent Westin was great. Staff accommodated us w/o reservations in lounge overlooking ocean. Great fitness center at Westin. Bring a water bottle to fill up. Little paper cone cups don't sit well in cardio equip. Resort had an overall great view of Sea of Cortez and steady stream of whales migrating through. Great sunrises but you can't see sunset. So prepare to wake early...which was fine by me. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Had no choice. All rooms seem to have a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoux1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose del Cabo hotels
0.2 mi away
Baja Point
Baja Point
#22 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Los Cabos
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton L...
#4 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabo Surf Hotel
Cabo Surf Hotel
#26 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
Casa Costa Azul Boutique Hotel
#25 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
129 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
Hyatt Place Los Cabos
#10 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
395 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 42 in San Jose del Cabo
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Regina Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Regina Los Cabos

Property: Club Regina Los Cabos
Address: Carretera Transpeninsular km 22.5, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Regina Los Cabos 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Regina Los Cabos’ is a beachside resort located just a short drive from San Jose del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos’ two main towns. The resort sits at the intersection of the Sea of Cortez and the Pacific Ocean, a major migratory site for whales and dolphins. In fact, it’s not unusual to see whales breaching in front of the resort from November to March. Club Regina Los Cabos’ gorgeous views and fantastic location makes it a great place to stay during your adventure in Baja California Sur. The resort’s orange adobe walls perfectly complement Los Cabos’ rugged desert terrain, and every room faces the sea, most offering fantastic views of the crystal clear waters of the Sea of Cortez. Each unit features flat-screen TVs and either jetted tubs or kitchenettes. Two on-site restaurants, a coffee shop & bar, and four swimming pools (two with their own bar) give guests plenty to enjoy during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Regina Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Regina Los Cabos Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Hotel Regina Los Cabos
Resort Regina Los Cabos
Club Regina Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing