We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Vacation for our Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Vacation for our Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently returned from a week stay at Hyatt and had a wonderful trip! We had traded our timeshare for the Hyatt. We are so glad we did. The resort was very clean and the restaurants were great. We really liked the variety of meal choices and did not have to wait at most of them. We are a family of six and each of us all have a very enjoyable experience. Our maid, Yolanda, did a wonderful job of keeping our room very clean. The pool bar was our favorite hangout and have to give shout outs to Alejandro and Marco! We also had very good service from Marco Villanvera. We would recommend this resort to anyone wishing to have a restful and relaxing trip. The weather was perfect the whole time :) Be sure to try the room service as well. We used it several times and everything was delivered hot and exactly as we ordered it. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf all the Hyatt Ziva associates we want to thank you for your kind comments and the time you took to write them.

All our facilities and services were created to fulfill all our guests requirements and make the feel like home, as a family resort we provide a wide variety of activities and areas for all ages. Thank you for mentioning all the staff members and their great performance, they will receive a mention in our monthly associates meeting.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,481
    455
    139
    55
    43
See reviews for
624
853
29
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was our first trip to Cabo, and we picked a great hotel. We are big fans of Hyatt and wanted to try an all-inclusive resort.
The hotel is beautiful, grounds are immaculate. The staff were very friendly and very attentive.
The pools were great, loved the swim-up bar. We favored the adults only pool since we did not have children, but it was a pretty quiet atmosphere. We do enjoy a bit more "life" so we ended up at the family pool area.
The food was excellent, the buffets were the best we have had at any resort. There was so many food choices, all kinds of ethic foods, something for everyone.
The beach is beautiful, however I had never seen a "black" flag on the beach indicating deadly swimming conditions. Glad to see the no one ventured into the water. Just pretty to look and walk along.
The only negative thing that I can say was that our room needed to be updated. I understand that the hotel is in a transition period. Our room had some cosmetic issues but nothing major and it did not in any way dampen our stay. It was clean, but had old furnishings and some broken marble in the bathroom. I hope that with time, the rooms will be more in line with the Hyatt standards that we have seen in their other resorts.
I would not hestitate to stay here again. Really loved our vacation to Cabo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandtraveler779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your comments and your preference to Hyatt Hotels.

It is pleasant to learn that you had a wonderful time with us, our main goal is to create memorable and unique moments and we strive every day to make feel all our guests like home.

We were blessed with beautiful sceneries and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our beaches and the variety of facilities and activities that we provide.

Many thanks for your feedback we will take the proper actions and we hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First time to los cabos and it was beautiful. Food was great we tried everything. Service was really good. Our favorite was coco loco and little bar and kitchen and great tacos and burgers. The evening show were pretty good and entertaining.The swimming pools were great and we love the swim up bar. We rented a car so the parking was free in the parking lot. Overall we spent a week there and everything was unlimited. It was very good.Just some interesting things there is no milk or ginger ale. The shuttle to and from the airport was pleasant just beware of time share people that suck you in.Signing out D from port coquitlam BC

Room Tip: Have a room with a view its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments, It was a pleasure to host you.

We enjoy reading about your recent stay and the wonderful time that you had. You can have unique and memorable moments walking through our grounds, swimming in our gorgeous pools or tasting the exquisite selection of plates in the Restaurants.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Moved over here after a couple of days at the Solmar beach club.

The minute we drove up I let out a big relieved sigh.

The place is amazing . We upgraded to a swim up room which was worth every penny. The room had a humongous king sized bed, table with chairs for eating or as a desk, the bathroom takes up about a third of the room which to me is a good thing. Toilet in a water closet ( weird glass walls though - not what I would have chosen), double sinks, rain head shower with jacuzzi tub and lots of nice toiletries ... Even toothbrushes .

Service was prompt although was faster with a nice tip at the beginning of the day.

We were able to use the spa facilities with that room type as well as use of a private lounge where we spent a few hours chatting with Luis and we were able to print our boarding passes.

Our only negative was we were unable to use any of the boutique restaurants because we did not pack long pants and closed shoes. I understand the need for some type of standard in these restaurants but I think a collared shirt and not cut off shorts would suffice. Either that or have some pants for sale on the property?

Anyway we really enjoyed the ham and cheese sandwiches from room service :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Creating memorable moments for all our guests is our main goal, thank you for taking a moment to share your comments.

The Swim Up Suites are the most preferred of our guest because you can walk from your terrace directly to the pool. It is truly pleasant to learn that you enjoyed all the facilities that were created for your comfort and we love to pamper our guests with the friendliest service.

We cannot wait to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was my first time in Los Cabos. The Resort was very extravagant and had a lot of activities to choose from. Maria, Bryan, and Gio (resort employees) did a very good job of planning fun activities through out the week like tequila volleyball (since people come to an all-inclusive to drink a great deal of alcohol). My favorite thing to do at the resort was to attend the the Las Vegas style shows that they hosted nightly. Some shows were more for adults while other shows would be great for kids to watch such as Fantasia. A great bar to go to during the day is the banana bar at the activity pool. It is a swim up bar with a fantastic view of the huge waves that break from the ocean. They also make some of the best smoothies/ margaritas! As for customer satisfaction, I thought the resort had fantastic service. Every employee tried really hard to please all of the guest during their stay with first class service. Also, The food is very good here. I would recommend trying the hibachi grill at the lotus restaurant (Japanese Restaurant) and Hacienda which is the steak house at the resort.
There are also numerous activities outside of the resort. If you're looking to go surfing for the first time, then there is this place at the end of beach from Hyatt Ziva called Zippers that give good surf lessons. Another place that was a really fun day trip was taking the lands end tour with a water taxi in Cabo San Lucas for $10 USD. A bus will take you to Cabo San Lucas for $3. A water taxi will drop you off at one of the beaches on lands end which is secluded from vendors and craziness. Divorce beach was fun to walk around on because there are 10-15ft waves breaking on the beach. The best swim beach near there was pelican beach. If you're into cliff diving, then there is Pelican rock which is about 60 meters away from the beach and it is really fun to jump off of this 30-35ft rock into the bay. You even maybe joined by lazy sea lions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff_Likes_Beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted with your kind comments, many thanks for share them.

Los Cabos is the perfect place to have a great time with your family and friends, you will find plenty activities and places for all ages, definitely you will never get bored in this paradise. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is committed to offer the best quality and services to all our guest, as you well describe we are full of entertainment because we enjoy to make you feel like home.

Thank you for mentioning Maria, Bryan and Gio, they strive every day to fulfill all our guest requirements. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Overall, we were pleased with the first 85% of the visit. Great customer service, grounds and property were very nice and spectacular in some areas. Staff was great! Leak and minor flood during our last night put a damper on the trip. Staff reacted quickly but were nonchalant about the disturbance and inconvenience it caused. Almost like since it was our last night, they didn't care.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the time you took to write your comments.

We are very sorry for the non intentional inconvenience that you experienced the last night, as soon as our Night Manager received the report from the suite below yours he went to your suite to explain you the situation, he offered immediately a room change to a superior category for the inconvenience, we tried to do everything as fast as we could to avoid cause you more inconveniences.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Spent a few days here and had a great time. It was pretty hot in July but the rooms were air conditioned and a nice breeze came up off the pools and beach. You can't swim in the ocean here since the water is too rough but you have access to nice sandy beach area. Special kudos to Jose Castellano, one of the managers, who greeted our kids by name every morning and really made us feel at home. The staff were incredibly friendly throughout, even with our 2.5y and 7 mos old. They pulled in an extra cot and crib and the room still felt spacious. All the plugs match American devices. Terrible wifi. Not sure why. Guess it's not so bad to unplug for a few days but would've been nice to have the option of internet access at a reasonable speed. We loved the poolside bar which made strawberry smoothies for our toddler - by the end of the trip he would even go up and order on his own! Definitely recommend this place. Note that we also took a day trip into cabo for a boat ride (a yellow boat that was half submarine so you could see the underwater fish) and the Hyatt helped us get there and back by shuttle and by taxi really easily. For transport from the airport to the Hyatt I highly recommend transcabo. They will steer you clear of the time share hordes attacking you as you exit the airport and are cheaper than the hotel shuttle. Everyone seemed to take American dollars.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyKotlarczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time with us, we appreciate the time you took to write your comments.

It is pleasant to learn that our guests had a wonderful time with us, our staff contemplates the service offer to our guests as our priority and we love to make feel them as home. We have the fortune to be located in the best place to have fun and enjoy from a variety of activities.

Carlos is a clearly example that we strive every day to exceed your expectations. We cannot wait to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
16.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#3 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#10 of 40 in San Jose del Cabo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
17.2 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing