We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overall Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overall Experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed there recently. We had a great time! Great food and very friendly staff. Especially Carla and Bryan from the kids club and entertainment, both of them were super friendly, very attentive and professional and were great with the kids. The amenities are great. I minor negative thing was that our room had a leak in the bathroom ceiling, but they fixed it almost immediately. Overall, it was a great experience. We highly recommend it, especially if you have young kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly value your comments and the time you took to write them.

Your perceptions with regards our services helps us to keep improving to provide the best services to all our guests, specially to the little ones we love to pamper them in our kids club, we also provide a wide variety of activities for all ages, Carla and Bryan definitely strive every day to creat memorable experiences.

We are looking forward to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,409
    685
    208
    84
    62
See reviews for
1,029
1,380
48
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Wi-Fi not working at all, even though I paid more than $400 per night.
I asked front desk where can I use computer to check my emails. They told me use inside gift shop computers, but they charged $3 for 30 min.
If you are heavy or average wi-fi user, do not go this hotel.
Room is very moisture and slippery.
I used this hotel from July 4th to July 7th 2011
Hotel ad say Wi-Fi free. But not working!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidsoon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking a moment to write about your recent visit, your comments and suggestions help us to continue improve our services.

Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We are in continue training to avoid the above points, we have a contract with a new internet supplier, we are sure this will improve for the next months.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We decided to stay at Hyatt Ziva for our One Year wedding Anniversary. We were very excited to stay at Hyatt Ziva as we always choose Hyatt everywhere we travel. Sadly to say, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabo’s completely did not live up to its Hyatt name. A month before our trip we even emailed Hyatt Ziva about our upcoming event to make sure we get a beautiful room with a view. The Social Media responded to us promptly and told us we have nothing to worry about. It all started when we called the front desk one day prior to our arrival to find out if we will be charged a late fee if we arrive a day later. The person answering the phone seemed really confused and didn’t speak very good English. So we decided to call our travel agent to help with this situation. After talking to our travel agent from Go-Go vacations, she said she will take care of the situation where we would arrive a day later and get an extra day for free instead of that first missed day. We were very relieved because the conversation on the phone with Hyatt Ziva was a stressful one. When we arrived to Hyatt Ziva, we found out that the front office assistant checked us in - even after our travel company communicated with them and made it clear to not check us in but push the check in date one day later and add a free night to make it all even. Because of the mistake that the front office assistant made, we had to pay extra $320 to not get kicked out on the last day. Our close friends, who were in the same situation and arrived with us, were not checked in a day early and were given the extra day. We never received an apology for their mistake, instead one of the managers Alejandro was very rude and disrespectful when we tried to explain the situation over the phone and get our refund. We were told the General Manager was supposed to get in touch with us and issue a refund, but he never did. Another issue that we had was the room. We chose Hyatt Ziva because the rooms at the Hyatt hotels are always gorgeous. We emailed in advance to make sure we have a modern room with a view, the manager replied that for sure, we will get a nice room with a view. When we arrived, we were shocked at how disgusting the room they gave us was - room was located between a kids’ pool and the main pool, on the third floor. It was so loud that I couldn’t even take a nap. The interior of the room was terrible to even look at. Awkward layout and everything was very out dated. We were told there are no rooms available in the whole hotel. They found one room for us that resembles the website pictures but were told it would be an extra $100 a night. After twenty minutes of going back and forth, we were given a room on the seventh floor with high ceilings and modern furniture, and a beautiful view, the downside two twin beds for our one year anniversary; needless to say my wife and I made it work. None of the managers at Hyatt Ziva are customer service oriented, the interactions that we had with all of them are not pleasant ones. Unfortunately, we cannot recommend Hyatt Ziva to anyone after our experience. The experiences that we had with the management are terrible and I hope no one would have to go through what we had to go through on what was supposed to be a relaxing vacation at a 4.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your perceptions with regards to our services help us to continue improving, many thanks for your comments.

We are very sorry to learn that the room that we assigned to you did not leave it up your expectations but finally you received an upgrade for your celebration, as soon as we received your phone call we made the changes on the reservation as you requested, reason why we had to make a new reservation for the last night.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you with the level of service that you expected from Hyatt Ziva.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a wonderful resort and we cannot wait to return!

The service was great. EVERY member of the staff we encountered was fantastic and truly seemed to care about our experience. Seriously, they were exceptional.

The food and drinks were terrific. We ate at all of the restaurants and buffets and enjoyed each of them tremendously. I would recommend trying every one of them, as they each offer something unique.

The amenities were top notch. Again, I can't emphasize how much we enjoyed this resort. The grounds were immaculate. There were numerous options for pools and lounging (each offering a unique vibe depending on your mood or the time of day).

Don't listen to the negative reviews. Those people must be miserable or have some type of agenda. This is an outstanding property. Do yourself a favor and book today!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 3 on the top floor. We had unbelievable views of the grounds, the beach, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAuntBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your comments and the time you took to write them.

All our associates strive every day to offer unique and memorable experiences to all our guests, we are delighted and very thankful with your kind comments, definitely the best motivation is to learn that you had a wonderful time with us.

Many thanks for your recommendations, all our facilities and services were created to make fell our visitor like home. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had stay several times when it was Barcelos and we loved it. The new management and service under Hyatt ownership is very poor, it sucked to be honest. It is clear that they are under staff and management needs a lot of training. The floors are dirty the food is not good; at the buffets there is no one there to direct you to a table and if you are having dinner no one picks up your plates or brings a drink. One night there were only two servers for over 100 people, the two servers were trying to keep up but dirty dishes were seating at tables for very long time. All staff looked very unhappy at all times.
BWY they stole an IPhone from one of our wedding guess. We were able with an APP locate the phone to a utility building in the resort, we contacted management and they told us that the only way they could retrieve the phone it was if we file a formal complaint and get the Mexican police involved.
Claudia the manager treated us like criminals and made a point o tell us that we Americas think we can do what we want but in Mexico they have laws. Claudia was very arrogant and condescending as we try to discuss issues.
Those that visit Cabo for the first time may think that this place is fine but trust me there are a lot better and cheaper just next door. Never again
We will NOT recommend this place nor we will ever go back. Worse experience ever in Cabo and we go every year.
P/S some of the employees Hugo pool manager, Carmen and few others were very pleasant and great to interact with.

Room Tip: Free Wifi was super very slow, useless. if you try to pay the $19 per day it does not work and manag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nestor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that your daughter’s wedding was overshadowed for different circumstances that were foreign to us as a Hotel and you and your guests were not able to enjoy your time as you were planned.

As a family Resort we have policies that help us to achieve the comfort and security of all our guests, it is not allowed in our Hotel the damage to our facilities, the consumption of illegal drugs, and disrespect between our guests.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We went to do nothing! Just relax! Great time. Food was good. Activities were a blast. Super Saul was really cool. Get to know him and he will lead you in the right direction. And Bryan kept us interested too. Beach volleyball was super fun with a bunch of people we didn't know. We didn't leave the place for 4 days straight and I would've stayed longer if I had time. Only thing I didn't like was that you can't go in the ocean at the hotel. Water is too violent. But the pool bar was enough.

Room Tip: we upgraded for $40 a night to a beach front room. it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpk1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments, our main goal is to create memorable moments for all our guest.

Hyatt Ziva offers the appropriate atmosphere and facilities to have all time full of fun, activities or tranquility and relaxation. We have areas for all ages everyone will have the best time during their stay.

I appreciate the time you took to mention Bryan and Saul, they trive every day to make feel all our guest like home.

We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the near future.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My sister treated me to this getaway as a graduation present/girls trip. First the PROS: We stayed at the hotel from July 4th until today July 8th. Our suite was amazing! It was clean,beautifully furnished and comfortable. The food on the resort was delicious. We ate at 3 of the 5 restaurants and the international buffet. The selection of the food was astonishing and everything I ate was yummy. The steak house on the beach was superb!!!' The Japanese restaurant had some of the best sushi I've ever eaten. The French restaurant had mussels in this wine sauce that was to die for and as if that wasn't enough the international buffet had "theme" nights of every food you can think of. Room service was delicious as well. The chicken wings after a night of drinking at the bar was a life saver. Usually at all inclusive resorts the liquor is cheap and makes you sick, but the bars here we're stocked with a mix of top and bottom shelf liquor. Whomever furnished and designed this resort thought about the comfort of their guests. There was numerous places to relax on the resort. The service was good and Eduardo Gonzalez at the international buffet was the BEST waiter. We sat in his section every morning because he was professional and attentive in his service. We're already planning to return with
our significant others next year.

The CONS: This IS a family resort, so if you don't want to be around a lot of children on your vacation this isn't the resort for you. The lack of pool service
at the adult pool was disappointing. The bar in that pool isn't a swim up bar so someone taking our drink orders would've been appreciated. The BIGGEST con is although the resort is on the beach, you can't swim in the water. The current will kill you, so swimming is prohibited as with all the resorts on that strip of beach. You have to take an excursion to some of the other beaches in downtown Los Cabos. The last con is there isn't a night club on the resort. The bar is open all night, but the entertainment and music is over at 11:00 pm. I don't like partying off the resort in a foreign country, so I was
bummed when the party ended at 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Our main goal is to exceed all our guest expectations, many thanks for sharing your comments.

All our areas were created to make feel our guest like home, we love to provide the best quality and services always with the best attitude and a sincere smile, Eduardo definitely is an example of our passion, we love to serve and pamper all our visitors.

Your comments are our best motivation and help us to improve what we are doing improperly and to offer a better experience.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,631 reviews
16.2 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#11 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
1,977 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 41 in San Jose del Cabo
3,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Property: Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing