We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property but it does have Issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Start with the Good Stuff, the landscaping is immaculate! Breathtaking senery, the beach is Amazing, you feel like your walking through a brochere. The swim-up pool is warm like a bath tub (good thing) and other main pool is freezing cold, and no one is at the adult-only pool. Probably because the bar is under construction but looks like it will be nice - but no swim-up bar. The chairs at the adult-only pool is the Only place you find comfortable chairs. The purchaser oviously never sat on the chairs at the main pool and beach. Because if you don't put a towel on your chair you slide forwand, and the chairs on the beach look great, But when you lay back it feels like a bar is jamming in your back (very un-comfortable). But the cocktails being delivered to you is the only saving grace. The Rooms Have Serious Issues. I had an Ocean View Room! - NO Terrible, the Glass needs to be REPLACED. Room 2727 you lay in bed and the glass is so foggy you can't see the ocean you have to go out on the balcony to see it. Plus the Glass that faced the hallway was really foggy too. Other rooms you couldn't even see into. The Balconies need to be repainted, plus is looked like someone dropped a bag a concrete and sprayed every balcony with dried chucks of concrete on my french style balcony. Only Junior Suites have full balconies. The Bathtub in the main bedroom (we had a family suite) is a death trap. Slippery, plus it was like a trampoline (bouncy) the shower head came up to my eyeball (I'm only 6'0), and you slide toward the showerhead. Hold on the the handle for dear life when you "try" to clean your arm pits. The Shower in the second bathroom was Amazing and Beautiful! P.S. the beds are Not Weston Beds - they feel like a Rock. Excellant employees Jose Luis Goon, Terrible employees Daniel the bartender (he Hates his job). The food is Only good at La Hacienda for lunch, the buffet restaurants had un-edible food. Especially when they give you Un-Opened Mussels (which could give you food poisoning if you eat them), which a child might try to eat when you parent goes back to the buffet, so be careful with kids. The French Restaurant is GROSS, and the Teppenaki is Great! (don't order chicken Dry) but Very Festive! My Biggest Issue is the Glass in the Room - Ocean View 7th Floor and you can't lay in bed and see the ocean, it doesn't even make sense to me.... :( The Spa looked nice but like all Spa's at hotels like these, it was Empty, everyone looked bored. To Pricey $25.00 Per Person Per DAY, so it was empty. The Kids Pool area looked like so much fun, Great for Kids!

Room Tip: Don't get room 2727 Foggy Glass for an Ocean View Room, or any of the rooms on that floor if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Creating memorable experiences to all our guests is our main goal.

We want to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced during your stay, the departments involved are aware of the points that you mentioned and the correct actions has been taken.

We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and the service that we provided you.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,718 - 3,724 of 4,284 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 5 days at Hyatt Ziva. Everyone working there was very friendly and helpful. We had a great time. They had a Thanksgiving special buffet on Thanksgiving day and the food was delicious. Japanese a la carte restaurant was very nice, too
We had a 2 year old with us, and traveling with a toddler can be stressful, but the employees working at the hotel made it easier for us.
Sandra gave us a great suggestion to try the submarine tour and it turned out to be the best experience for our 2 year old.
Thanks again, and we want to be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honour7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and your preference.

Our excursion desk is always giving to our guest the best option to enjoy our beautiful destination, we are happy that you enjoyed our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. We enjoy creating unique experiences.

We hope the opportunity to host you again.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at Barcelo in October BEFORE it transitioned to Hyatt, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stayed. We have been to Cabo many times and stayed at many resorts, and this was right up there with the best. For the price, and given that its further up the coast from Cabo San Lucas and Medano beach, we enjoyed the quiet and relaxation that such resorts offer - and we enjoy San Jose del Cabo (our second visit to this quaint Mexican town). The resort is bigger than many we've stayed at, but well laid out. Probably the largest pool we've ever experienced - never had a problem finding a chair. Stayed at the far (lobby end) of the pool - much quieter than near the beach and "activitades". Laid out at the "adults only" pool one day, but the main pool was equally quiet enough for us. The service at the pool was very good. We enjoyed all of the restaurants - the French and Italian were our favorites, quiet, romantic. The buffet breakfast was very good as well - not a lot of variety day-to-day (as others have noted) but that's ok. The room was very comfortable, clean and a great view from our veranda. One of the highlights of our trip was the nightly entertainment (cruise ship type shows). The dancers were top notch and really gave their all - although the cast was mostly the same each night, the show's theme changed every night. The 70's/80's show was fun (prob because we were familiar with the songs) and I thought the Michael Jackson impersonator did a great job (wish I knew which one he was). I hope Hyatt doesn't lose the nightly entertainment - truly a differentiator to other Cabo resorts. Viva Barcelo

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MPerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly value your comments and your preference.

In Cabo San Lucas and San Jose Del Cabo we enjoy making feel all our guest more than welcome in all the areas. It was our pleasure to host you at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos and learn that you had a wonderful time during your last visit.

The next time you visit us will be even better.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just spent a week in the Hyatt Ziva. We understand that the Hyatt just took over at the beginning of November. I have just finished reading some of the reviews when it was the Barcello and I must say that our experience was nothing like most of the reviews.
The resort was great! Yes the large pool is not heated but it is very nice to cool off in. The Swim up pool is great for the kids as it is literally like stepping into a bathtub. You cannot cool off in it but it is fun to play in.
The staff were most friendly and accommodating. Everyone of them greeted you as you passed. Our room was perfect overlooking the whole resort and we had our room cleaned everyday. Our bed was turned down each night and chocolates on the table.
The restaurants were fabulous. I do not know how you could say anything bad about them. You have a huge choice from French,Italian, Japanese, Steak house, Mexican,Great buffets. They also have a Seafood restaurant but it was not open when we were there. There was no lack of seafood in the other restaurants
The Coco Loco pool snack bar had good tacos, burgers etc. The servers were very attentive around the pool.
The evening entertainment was top notch and the costumes, unbelievable. Someone is doing a great job there.
My only comment for improvement would be to have the large pool heated a little bit. Not nearly as warm as the other but could be up a few notches
Thanks for a wonderful holiday!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us.

Our main goal is to create unique experiences and we keep training to offer all our guest the best quality and services. We enjoy making feel all our guest like home.

We cannot wait to see you.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a glorious time my husband and I spent at the new Hyatt Ziva! We visited the property in February when is was the Barcelo, and when we checked in November 18th the property, service and staff were at the top of their game. Starting with the General Manager, Mr. Hernan Vanegas, who took the time to allow me to let him know what an excellent time we were having. Then there's Ms. Claudia Rosas, Rooms Division Manager, who again as busy as she must be took time to listen to our comments regarding the property and the staff. Of course all comments were absolutely positive. From bellman, David and Roberto, to waiters Apolonio and Fabian, our room was kept in excellent condition by Eliazbeth. To all those at the Hyatt Ziva, THANK YOU!!!! We will most definitely see you all again soon!!!!

Room Tip: For couples, request Building 3, since it is near the Adult pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

There are no words to thank you for your kind comments and your preference. We are delighted to know that we create a great experience during your last visit.

Our commitment is to make feel all our guests like home. We appreciate the time you took to mention part of our staff they work hard to create unique experiences.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our wonderful stay here and have nothing but great things to say about Hyatt Ziva. The service, the cleanliness, the food! Everything was just perfect and just what we needed for our romantic getaway. The grounds were meticulously maintained, the rooms were spotless, beds were comfortable and the view from our ocean view room was just perfect. We also loved the smart room feature where you can control the turning on and off of lights, curtains, and ac right from the bed on the tv. The food in all the restaurants were great, but don't wait until our starving because you may have a 15-30 minute wait to get seated. To make this trip even more perfect, my fiancé proposed during our stay and we are planning to go back and honeymoon there. ;o)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

At Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos we always appreciate all your comments, it is pleasant to know that you had a wonderful time during your recent visit.

Our staff is committed to create memorable experiences to all our guests. Your honeymoon will be the perfect moment to enjoy once again of our gorgeous sceneries.

We will be waiting for you with open arms.

Best regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Upon first step into the expansive and wide-open modern yet invitingly warm lobby, your eye is automatically drawn outward to the magnificent configuration of the grounds, pools, fire pits, tented mattress sunning beds and the piece de resistance, the unobstructed stretch of stunning beach and the sound of the waves crashing. Ahh, relaxation is already working its way throughout my body. The staff in every department is delightful and very much attentive to your needs from the first hello. A special shout out to the front desk staff and especially Cesar Contreras Fajardo without whose astute perception to access a situation with the client's satisfaction in mind has made me now a return repeater to Cabo for what will be twice a year sojourn and we will only stay at the Hyatt Ziva. We loved it that much. A very well contained hotel if you choose to do nothing. All the restaurants we ate in were delicious. They are varied and many each with its own distinct charm. Little nooks and crannies around the property to disappear with a drink or just lounge. Board games, little shops, gym, spa, a theater that was so sweet.
Another shout out to my new friend Rudy at Mar Art Jewelry. I am constantly getting comments wherever I go on the ring :)) Enjoying it immensely...thanks again.
So all tolled, one of the best trips ever.
Well done guys...you made believers out of us :))
Just booked for February. Can't wait!!
Thanks for the memories...Lynne & Marty Rm 3631

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank awaywego2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattZivaCabos, Director General at Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

We agree with you, we live in the Paradise and we enjoy sharing these beautiful sceneries with all our guests.

We are delighted with your lovely comments, our main goal is to make feel all our guests like home keeping every detail and pamper them in all our spaces. Cesar will receive the recognition that he deserves and we will share your kind comments with all our staff, your comments are the best motivation.

We are looking forward to host you soon.

Best Regards

Francisco J. Silva

General Manager
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose del Cabo
0.6 mi away
Cabo Azul Resort
Cabo Azul Resort
#7 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,777 reviews
3.2 mi away
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & Spa Resort
Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf & ...
#12 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
2,391 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive Resort & Spa
Marquis Los Cabos All-Inclusive ...
#6 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Resort
Hilton Los Cabos Beach & Golf Re...
#4 of 43 in San Jose del Cabo
4,344 reviews
11.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
6.6 mi away
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos

Address: Paseo Malecon Sn Lote 5, Zona Hotelera, San Jose del Cabo 23405, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#9 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range: $311 - $1,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most majestic peninsulas in the world and offering spectacular views of the Sea of Cortes, Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a luxurious all inclusive oasis of sophistication and comfort. This magnificent beachfront resort is minutes from beautiful downtown San Jose del Cabo and features plush accommodations, impressive amenities, impeccable service and is just minutes from the international airport. Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos is a unique, all inclusive experience that offers a myriad of activities from fine dining options at six a la carte restaurants and two gourmet buffet restaurants, to unique spa treatments, children’s programming and nightly entertainment shows. Enjoy deep-water fishing, scuba diving, world-class golf and many more adventure activities nearby. Or, simply relax and soak up the sun in one of the resort’s five swimming pools and breathtaking beachfront. This luxury resort also features 35,000 square feet of meeting facilities and ideal locations combined with the special touch of event planners who will attend to every last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Los Cabos Palace Deluxe Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Barcelo Hotel Los Cabos
Barcelo Resort Los Cabos
The Grand Baja
Hyatt Ziva Los Cabos San Jose Del Cabo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing